Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Systems Biology

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Systems Biology von Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

4.3
Sterne
438 Bewertungen
94 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

Top-Bewertungen

SV
6. Feb. 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR
7. Aug. 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

Filtern nach:

76 - 92 von 92 Bewertungen für Introduction to Systems Biology

von Karl D

26. Juli 2017

Good overview of systems biology, but the graded tests are somewhat difficult to understand for someone without a biology background such as myself.

von Connie N

1. Okt. 2020

Really interesting content, but could use a rework on formatting, style, and clarity.

von Alan R d F K M

20. Jan. 2020

Could give more basic information about systems theory

von Milena J

12. Feb. 2016

The lectures were somehow chaotic.

von Mainak B

23. Feb. 2020

Tough and brain storming

von Soheyl M

27. Nov. 2020

The explanations in the course are extremely superficial and do not add anything to the PowerPoint presented in each course. In addition, most of the articles presented in the lectures are hardly discussed which makes it difficult to understand for a beginner in this field.

von Circe M

11. Aug. 2017

Course material was not presented in a matter that flowed naturally. Completing the course didn't lend greatly to my overall understanding in the area though I understand certain aspects very well.

von Carolina A

19. Apr. 2020

I found that the lectures didn't guide me enough. I download the articles and read extra material. I will look for another course to learn more of this part of the specialization.

von Alexandro G A S

9. Aug. 2016

It is a good introductory course, but it relies too much on networks and could be confusing and demoralizing if you intend to pursue a career in systems biology.

von D C

6. Nov. 2019

The course is too specific and advanced. It´s not an introduction.

von Sergey K

19. Dez. 2015

Boring voice. A lot of overcomplicated terms, where you can describe your idea in a much more simple way. In result i feel that lector read this material not to teach people, but just to read it. Disgusting.

von Donna P

12. März 2016

I could not understand instructor. Using subtitles didn't help either as many words came up unintelligible.

von Alexander

5. Okt. 2016

The material is very randomized, and the instructor presents it in an overly complex way.

von Richelle E

18. Okt. 2020

the course/ lecture session doesnt highlight half the stuff that pops up in the exams

von Ahmed N

6. Mai 2020

i want to cancel mt subscription in this course

von Ezequiel O G

2. Juli 2020

muy malo, no lo recomiendo, para nada

von YKALYAN K

6. Juni 2020

too boring