Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Systems Biology

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Systems Biology von Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

4.3
Sterne
524 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

Top-Bewertungen

SV

6. Feb. 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

7. Aug. 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 107 Bewertungen für Introduction to Systems Biology

von Domingo, J J S

27. Juni 2022

i dol love this course

von Aditya A D

10. Juni 2020

Good course content!

von changhao l

18. Mai 2016

It's very helpful!

von Udara R A

30. Apr. 2021

very informative

von keeran s

11. Juni 2019

NICE EXPERIENCE

von Danilo A H C

28. Juli 2020

good course

von SUCHISMITA M

30. Juli 2020

VERY GOOD

von Saad R U

28. Apr. 2019

excellent

von farzaneh d d

29. Juli 2016

very good

von MOHAMMED A B

30. März 2016

Excellent

von Shibsankar B

29. Nov. 2021

good

von Mahiban L N

6. Juni 2020

Good

von Jinwoo J

18. Aug. 2017

NICE

von saroj p

28. März 2016

nice

von ABHRAJIT D

19. Sep. 2020

.

von Adrián P F

18. Nov. 2018

This sort of course will be kind of useful for sort of improving your knowledge on a sort of concepts related to some kind of areas related to sort of Systems Biology. :) That´s just an innocent joke you will catch if you complete the course. Well, the course could be very useful if you are not especially familiar with Systems Biology, as it was my case. You won't learn how to develop a model from "zero" nor how to use Matlab, but it is a comprehensive compendium of theoretical concepts supported by several well-chosen published examples. It is not easy, but it is not extremely difficult (I completed the entire course in 5 days). Thanks to Dr Ravi Iyengar for the talks and his team for the course. However, the speech should have been more dynamic and fluent sometimes, and with less "sort of" repetitions.

von Miguel Á D C

6. Apr. 2020

The course is excellent at giving an introduction to systems biology as it offers the theorical bases to understand the topic. Although at first the classes and information can appear overwheling, with the time is easy to follow the specific terminology and explanation thanks to this. In some cases I think, however, that some equations or concepts should be explained more detailed, before the explanation with examples.

von EDUARDO A O D T

4. Sep. 2020

Es un buen curso que da una buena introducción a la biología de sistemas, mi único punto en contra es que las evaluaciones no son muy didácticas, a veces algunas respuestas son ambiguas y a veces varias opciones pueden ser correctas pero no tienen suficiente detalles lo que hace que el alumno se tenga que centrar en la redacción de las oraciones en lugar de pensar más en los conceptos subyacentes

von Mohamad K K

13. Feb. 2016

It's a great overview, but somehow i didn't feel like it stuck even though i did put in effort to read the articles assigned starting halfway through the course.

Maybe it's because there's so much material that will be covered in a hands on part in the 3rd and 4th parts of this specialization... Would definitely recommend it to everyone interested in biotechnology and systems biology.

von Mia T

10. Sep. 2017

The course has great content, truly a powerful introduction to many aspects and concepts of systems biology. Don't let the 'Introduction' part of the title fool you though; you will only be able to complete, enjoy and learn from this course if you have a strong knowledge base of human biology/physiology. For me it might have been a bit too tough. The instructor was wonderful!

von Kanuri B N

24. Sep. 2017

Indeed the course has provided me an introduction to different basic aspects of Systems Biology such as different experimental technologies and computational models. Being a pharmacologist, I was quite fascinated to go through materials dealing with its application to areas of medicine, pharmacology and therapeutics.

von Luis A M G

20. Juni 2019

Although this course is a introduction to systems biology, knowledges about calculus are highly recommendable to understand the topics. The content of the course is really good, but the exams can be difficult for beginners as me.

von Rosalia A S M

12. Juni 2017

It was a very good course. The classes are well prepared and explained. I didn't give it five stars just because the quality of the audio wasn't very good sometimes and it's hard to listen unless you use headphones.

von Maysaa D

10. Apr. 2022

I​ enjoyed the topics that were covered in the course. I removed one star because the quizes required deeper knowledge than what was covered during the lectures.

von Ewa B

7. Feb. 2016

Great course! The only change i would ask for: after the test, could you let us see the correct response to the questions we got wrong? Thanks!