Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Systems Biology

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Systems Biology von Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

4.3
Sterne
524 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

Top-Bewertungen

SV

6. Feb. 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

7. Aug. 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 107 Bewertungen für Introduction to Systems Biology

von Rafael S

15. Juli 2019

O curso é muito complicado para quem não conhecimento em modelos estáticos específicos.

Mas é muito interessante e muito abrangente.

von Akash R

12. Juni 2020

The content of this course is quiet good, but is little bit hard to digest. Overall, I gained a lot of things from this course.

von Lianne A

1. Sep. 2017

Excellent course, could be improved by explaining the more difficult concepts in greater depth, e.g. ODE and PDE math.

von Alejandro V

30. Mai 2017

Great new area to explore and study, however some subjects were not explained adequately.

von Md. M H

27. Feb. 2016

Very very informative course for the beginners like me!

von Jiho C

9. März 2017

Good lecture, but not systematic curriculum

von Mariya P

26. Nov. 2019

Instructor is very hard to engage with.

von Boudalia M E A

1. Jan. 2016

a bit to hard for an introduction cours

von Arpita R

2. Aug. 2022

Excellent course work!

von Kang c

14. Juni 2016

A very useful course!

von Chalasani S S N

10. Apr. 2019

useful

von Bruno P

20. Jan. 2016

With a biology background I had some difficulty following this course. That is understandable, as a lot of it relies in mathematical modelling and statistics. I still felt like some exam questions relied on material not yet lectured, which would sometimes leave me at a loss as to how I should have gotten to the right question in the first place. The lectures could have been structured differently, so as to facilitate engagement - I found myself easily losing focus and having to repeat the videos. Despite its shortcomings, the course is still a powerful introduction to Systems Biology.

von Hector F C M

2. Juli 2019

I have to thank for this virtual course, however although this course is '' introduction '' it supposes that the participants have advanced concepts that are not explained, in many moments the literature is inconclusive, there is no literature that allows a basic revision on the topics that we are learning; The evlauacion is not according to what has been learned and in many cases it is based more on the memory than on the analysis.

von Atanas P

19. März 2021

The lectures are somewhat incoherent. Many facts about the articles are not made clear or missed altogether, and I had to do a lot of extra reading in order to understand them.

von Karl D

26. Juli 2017

Good overview of systems biology, but the graded tests are somewhat difficult to understand for someone without a biology background such as myself.

von Connie N

1. Okt. 2020

Really interesting content, but could use a rework on formatting, style, and clarity.

von Alan R d F K M

20. Jan. 2020

Could give more basic information about systems theory

von Milena J

12. Feb. 2016

The lectures were somehow chaotic.

von Mainak B

23. Feb. 2020

Tough and brain storming

von Tim D

7. Mai 2021

While the course did present a few topics that may be of concern to a systems biologist, I'm very disappointed with the effort that went into presenting the material in a digestible, coherent way. After completing the course, rather than feeling like I just took an engaging course online, I feel a bit like someone had the radio tuned to a Systems Biology station in the other room while I did chores. The big issues are (1) The course is years old and hasn't been updated for this fast-moving field, (2) The lectures style is scattered, (3) The review material doesn't connect strongly to the lecture material, and (4) The video production is pretty low-effort.

von Soheyl M

27. Nov. 2020

The explanations in the course are extremely superficial and do not add anything to the PowerPoint presented in each course. In addition, most of the articles presented in the lectures are hardly discussed which makes it difficult to understand for a beginner in this field.

von Circe M

11. Aug. 2017

Course material was not presented in a matter that flowed naturally. Completing the course didn't lend greatly to my overall understanding in the area though I understand certain aspects very well.

von Carolina A

19. Apr. 2020

I found that the lectures didn't guide me enough. I download the articles and read extra material. I will look for another course to learn more of this part of the specialization.

von Alexandro G A S

9. Aug. 2016

It is a good introductory course, but it relies too much on networks and could be confusing and demoralizing if you intend to pursue a career in systems biology.

von diego

6. Nov. 2019

The course is too specific and advanced. It´s not an introduction.