Chevron Left
Zurück zu Advanced Instructional Strategies in the Virtual Classroom

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Advanced Instructional Strategies in the Virtual Classroom von University of California, Irvine

4.6
Sterne
455 Bewertungen
138 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to Advanced Instructional Strategies in the Virtual Classroom! This course will help you apply strategies to the critical areas of K-12 virtual instruction to significantly impact virtual education. We will examine the pitfalls beginning teachers run into and learn how to overcome them by focusing on the fundamentals that have the greatest impact on student learning in a blended or online environment. By the end of the course, you will be able to empower your students to be voracious learners who are ready to go out and make the world a better place to live. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: • Identify the role of direct instruction within a virtual course. • Establish direct communication and meaningful relationships with your students.  • Use instructional strategies that motivate and challenge your students to think more critically. • Define at-risk students and examine effective strategies for teaching this demographic. • Build an inclusive and thriving online community with students, parents, and other teaching professionals....

Top-Bewertungen

BD
12. Juli 2020

Excellent, Excellent course for teachers. Learned many things not only for the virtual classroom but also for classroom sessions. Video sessions by Mr.Chris Long are awesome with plenty of insights.

DA
23. Juni 2016

An outstanding course. Thoughtful with unique insights into some of the challenges of the virtual classroom with realistic suggestions on how to approach them.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 139 Bewertungen für Advanced Instructional Strategies in the Virtual Classroom

von Ioulia P

28. Apr. 2020

I don’t recommend this course. Most of the links recommended are broken. The speaker provides only few information. It offers you many videos and some articles with a lot of information. I have to admit it that I only benefit from the links that I managed to open. It was just ok. Nothing special compared to the others seminars of this course.

von Zakaria A

14. Apr. 2020

Need an update for materials, There is a problem in the assignment

von Deleted A

24. Juni 2016

An outstanding course. Thoughtful with unique insights into some of the challenges of the virtual classroom with realistic suggestions on how to approach them.

von Leslie K

29. Mai 2016

The BEST course in this series by far! This is a real model of what I hope to achieve with my own online courses. Finally!

von HANEESH K M

23. Apr. 2020

The course will be a good option for teachers who teach in schools, it describes the aspects of online teaching, how to get the attention of students, and how to ensure diversity in classes. The instructor was explaining things in a better and simpler way.

von Nicole L H

17. Okt. 2017

The videos were engaging and thought-provoking, but the information would have more credibility if more scholarly resources were listed to support it. Assessments did examine if students were paying attention, but they could have been improved by aligning with the assessment styles being taught in the course.

von Oula A

10. Juni 2020

The course was interesting but most of the electronic resources are not available anymore.

the course needs a thorough update

von Ing. J H B S

15. Feb. 2018

The contents were good, they motivate you to do different things in the virtual classroom and the resources were interesting to apply them for various subjects.

von Joris d J

18. Apr. 2018

Unfortunately not all features are still active.

von Renee A

26. März 2019

While the information is good the tone is very informal and feels very unprepared. Plus, there are no longer discussion boards.

von Janice M

9. Jan. 2020

The BIG problem is that no peers were available to review my assignment for a long time.

von YOGESH I

15. Mai 2020

Excellent course. learnt a lot to create better virtual learning experience for the students.Thank you so much.

von MAXIM B

23. Sep. 2020

Good course for those interested in improving interpersonal communication in class. However, some of the links do not work and it definitely needs an update of some sort. I would like to thank the entire team who worked on this MOOC. Thank you very much for your hard work!

von Antonios P

24. Jan. 2021

Valuable tips for teaching online regardless of your experiences in teaching. The course gives a mix of theory, open-air discussions and quizzes. I would like to see less repetitive material from online sites next time.

von Gretchen M

22. Okt. 2020

This was pretty good. I'd say the information given was basic but useful. The technique of recommending readings according to our perceived skill level and concerns was nice, although I ended up with a lot of material to read. Some of it repeated what was in other readings. I'd cull the readings some.

von Olesia Y

14. Sep. 2020

I found the videos boring, and these basketball'metaphors don´t work for me. The peer assignment options are not connected to the material covered in the lectures, the tests also contain unpredictable questions and answers ("to do everything possible ...." is called a strategy!!!). Lots of broken links, esp. in peer assignment tasks. Dissatisfied

von Regina J

24. Nov. 2019

This one was better. At least he was trying to be interesting. However, there is no one there to peer review your assignments, and you cannot peer review assignment. Boo to Orange County.

von chanen m

21. Nov. 2019

Too generic to be advanced course.

von Adrian H

25. Juni 2021

I really enjoyed the course. Having developed a lot of online courses it is nice to be able to step back and reflect best practice and alternative ideas. It really makes you think about not just your 'average' student but also students who don't neatly fall into the average category. I would also strongly encourage you to read the discussion items from other participants and especially to read the optional content, as most of these articles are really good and reinforce or expand your learning.

von Dr. P B J

1. Sep. 2020

It was a highly advanced course on virtual teaching strategies. Particularly, the peer assignment in the course allows the learner to orient towards advanced tools to be put forth in the classroom. Quizzes were adequately challenging and loved taking them. However, the only pointer that can be worked on is providing more web-based resources to read during the course and more number of questions in the quizzes. Overall, enjoyed learning and looking forward to putting them into practice.

von María D M L

10. Nov. 2016

I am so glad I took this course! I have learnt what I consider very important aspects of virtual teaching such as identifying at-rist students or building a community with the students that engages them in the learnig. I have also had to learn how to produce a video for the students which I will use for my online course and I have also become aware of the importance of the QFT for deepening the learning of my students. Thank you so much Chris!

von Ellen M

29. Sep. 2020

Chris Long has a fun and soothing teaching style.

I enjoyed the course, especially the use of his basketball analogies - as I did play

Women's Basketball in my High School Days.

P.S. I have yet to READ any of my PEER REVIEWS - in Module 1, Module 2, and Module 3.

I don't see where I can VIEW the comments or DOWNLOAD the comments for reflection.

Any help with this?

Thank you for a thoughtful course.

Ellen McCormick

von Philipp T

27. Juli 2020

It is quite obvious that the instructor has his experiences with teenagers. I like his idea to make the whole lesson allegorical by comparing it with being a basketball coach. So I honestly enjoyed it. Also it is evident that these strategies are not only for Americans. I would have only given 2 options as peer assignments and make the instructions clearer.

von Mary F

7. Juli 2020

I enjoyed the classes and learned a lot. Everything was practical and applicable.

One disappointing element was the unavailability of the exemplars cited by the lecturers. It would be great to see these - it makes the classes look very inferior to the first time around versions where lecturers shared their products and student examples as well.

von Catherine B

29. Juli 2019

This course was very helpful to me. I connected my thinking to some aspects of virtual learning that are not obvious to and my learning/teaching style. Creating a project allowed me to stretch myself. I realize I have more to do and learn. I had been apprehensive but the project really broke the ice for me.