Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Technology of Music Production

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Technology of Music Production von Berklee College of Music

4.8
Sterne
923 Bewertungen
294 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Top-Bewertungen

JJ

7. Feb. 2021

This course gave me a working knowledge of the many parameters of a DAW. I really have a base knowledge to continue my studies and not get frustrated with mental blocks in navigation of the software.

PV

25. Juni 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 301 Bewertungen für The Technology of Music Production

von Diego L d C

14. Juli 2020

The content is great! I had some trouble just memorizing all the info that was given a little too quickly by the instructor, but, in the end, it all worked out fine. Also the subtitles were out of sync in the majority of the videos.

von David J

23. Feb. 2022

Excellent course. The instructor was motivating and clearly an expert on the content. The only issue is that it took a long time to get peer reviewed, so the course dragged out for way longer than it needed to.

von John G

29. Okt. 2019

Very well taught. Some of the gear and software used in this class seamed a little out dated but it is hard to keep up with technology. Overall the material that was taught is still very relevant. Thank you!

von Nicky P

22. Aug. 2016

This is a great introduction to the fundamentals of music production, while you won't end up as a pro after completing this course, you'll have basic knowledge to work your way up!

von Hielmi A

6. Juni 2017

Overall I felt this to be an excellent course, covering many aspects of Music Technology, in sufficient detail for students to gain a basic all round understanding of the subject.

von Austin W

18. Dez. 2018

A well established & detailed class about music tech its very much opened my mind to the DAW and how it can apply for my own sound design. :^J

von Francis G

8. März 2018

Great foundational course. Lectures and content well curated and presented. Coursework is lacking imagination somewhat

von EMMANUEL O T

9. März 2021

Very great course , will recommend it to everybody who wants to learn more about music production tech.

von Gustavo D d A

17. Sep. 2020

An excellent course. Just need to talk a little bit about mastering to be absolutely perfect. Congrats

von Aditya R

18. Juli 2020

A great and detailed explanation of the basics of sound and instruments required for music production.

von Andrew D

5. Apr. 2022

W​hile the software used seemed a little dated, the fundementals were well taught and easy to grasp.

von Dhruv D

20. Mai 2017

Great stuff! But can go a bit more into depth about music production itself.

von Evgeny L

29. Apr. 2019

Presentations are annoying. Information is wonderful.

von Sebastián L

17. Okt. 2018

Good course. Lack of help in the discussion Forums.

von Deborah

4. Dez. 2016

i guess it was great - but so technical and hard!!!

von Daniel S

5. Dez. 2018

Definitely lots of helpful material!

von James c

24. Juli 2020

Highly Recommended

von christian s

9. Nov. 2020

very interesting,

von Wellington J

15. Jan. 2017

Vey informative

von Sarang A

12. Aug. 2020

Amazing course

von Jairo B

28. März 2017

good course!!!

von AKANKSHYA P

19. Mai 2021

It was a quite beautiful journey full of experiences for learning new things grasping the knowledge and concepts from the instructor and completing and submitting the assignments on time.

von Francisco T O C

21. Mai 2020

It is a great course, broad and practical at the same time. You might have some trouble getting the key concepts out form the instructor´s speech, but the overall course is great.

von Aleksandr B

20. Okt. 2020

Thought it would be deeper and more interesting things or hints, however it's just a technical course, to understand the basis of stuff i use everyday :)

von Sarah M

22. Feb. 2022

Not the most interesting way to teach this course. The info was great but the way it was laid out was boring and I did not like the assignments - give me something to work on hands on, don't have me re-teach your concepts like this is high school.