Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
2,217 Bewertungen
541 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 522 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Bogaerts G

Oct 10, 2017

oncise, to the point and up to date.

von Renan D d A

Nov 28, 2017

Curso incrível e material de estudo com valor inestimável. Recomendo a todos.

von Peter J

Jun 21, 2017

This well-organized course is presented in a series relatively short and focused video segments that are devoted to aspects of its half dozen or so major themes. Professor Bakker's lectures in each of those videos are clear, thorough and deceptively simple. One realizes in retrospect that Bakker has not only smoothly covered major theoretical issues about terrorism but he has also woven considerable historical detail as well as some academic controversy into the overall narrative. An important strength is that Dr. Bakker is careful to promote objectivity as he discusses point after point, but he is not shy about offering his opinion, particularly concerning the many controversial matters that come up. However, he is always entirely candid about his position when he does so, and that candor reinforces the scholarly tenor of the entire course. This is a valuable entry into a subject of great contemporary relevance, confusion, and need for sound policy-making; it will help to enhance one's ability to come to rational judgments about how terrorism can be understood and responded to.

von Alejandro E A

Jun 20, 2017

A well-rounded and properly structured course that serves as an ideal introduction, albeit with considerable depth, to terrorism and counter-terrorism studies.

von Christos S

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent course. You learn the basics about terrorism and counter terrorism.

von Eric H

Jun 16, 2018

This course is simply AMAZING! Wish they had more and that one could pursue a degree via distance learning.

von Ojima S

Aug 05, 2017

Excellent

von Diego A M F

Nov 27, 2015

Está muy bien explicado y aporta bibliografía recomendada. Impecable.

von Kerry W

Dec 30, 2015

Well worth the time spent!

von Josh G

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course, incredibly interesting and really a very useful insight particularly with the way our world is currently

von João M

Apr 21, 2016

In my opinion, this course is great. I'm doing my MSc in Forensic Psychology and I did this course to learn more about terrorism.

The professor does a very good job at keeping the audience interested and he speaks clearly and slowly enough for everybody to understand.

For a 7 week course, you get tons of information and, most importantly, it is well organized, going through modules in a systematic and thoughful way. Every week you have about 3 or 4 required readings, which will deepen your knowledge about the subjects addressed during the videos.

I would strongly recommend this course to anyone who wants to have someone very knowledgeable guide you through an interesting and current topic. Thumbs up to Coursera as well, everything went perfectly.

von fany t

Mar 27, 2017

Understand a little more about terrorism as the current conflict

von Halil A

Nov 14, 2016

It's good see an excellent teacher who shows us to look at the terrorism not via his perspective but wants us to use our own. Techniques he is using is also nice and not boring. As a student, i would take this course(and Edwin Bakker if could be possible) if this could be a lesson in my university. I have learned many things and he aroused my interest about the terrorism subject more than ever.

von Arbora A

Sep 28, 2017

More than interesting!

von Felix C M J

Nov 30, 2016

excelente curso, así como prestigiado instructor , explicación clara y detallada sobre la problemática internacional del terrorismo y del contraterrorismo, referencias muy explícitas y claras de autores de renombre internacional en la materia , asi como literatura fresca con los temas de actualidad y datos

von Anastasia S

Nov 06, 2016

The course is very comprehensive and enlightening. The professor explained all the major points concerning terrorism. I would definitely recommend this course to my colleagues majoring in international affairs because it helps to understand the current state of the world from a different perspective.

von Tomas P

Feb 11, 2016

Excelente curso, lo recomiendo

von Christoph J

May 05, 2016

Edwin Bakker did a great course. If you are interested in (Counter-)Terrorism Studies, enroll.

von Jorge D

Nov 01, 2017

V

von Laura E F

Jan 03, 2016

Great contents and better professor

von Nikolaos P

Jan 07, 2016

Very interesting course!

von mustafa k

Feb 12, 2017

it is a very useful course for the beginners. this course might be improved by adding one week for talking about the empirical literature on terrorism in political science field.

von Jose O

Aug 13, 2017

Excelente calidad y dedicacion de los instructores en el tema. Un curso de calidad y contenido que recomiendo a los interesados en el tema.

von Nacho A

Mar 23, 2016

Much better than expected. Thank you, professor Edwin Bakker.

von Edson A M

Feb 15, 2017

Best course you can have in the teme!