Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,681 Bewertungen
650 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 631 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Daniil B

7. Apr. 2020

Very interesting and deep course. It dramaticly changed my view on terrorism and the study of terrorism. Strongly recommend!

von Henrik O

21. Aug. 2018

Super introduction to modern terrorism, with explanations to how LE and other institutions perceive and mitigate terrorists.

von Josh G

16. Juni 2017

Excellent course, incredibly interesting and really a very useful insight particularly with the way our world is currently

von Marietjie J

23. Okt. 2015

A most interesting and insightful course. The quizzes challenge the student, and give opportunity for individual thinking.

von Judy R

21. Okt. 2020

The course is really difficult but I learned a lot. I hope to take more courses with such profound research. Thank you!

von Miriam E G

13. Feb. 2018

Muy buen curso. Aclara todos los preconceptos. Muy buen material y lecturas sugeridas para seguir aprendiendo. Gracias

von César L B d S

18. Dez. 2017

Muito bom. O Curso nos oferece uma oportunidade para conhecer o assunto e esclarecer muitos pontos obscuros do tema.

von Jeffrey W

27. März 2020

I learned a great deal during this course and really appreciate all the hard work/time that went into creating it.

von Josefina G

24. Nov. 2019

Excelente curso, lo recomiendo totalmente a aquellos que estudian ciencias políticas o relaciones internacionales.

von Alexandru M G

6. Dez. 2018

Very professionally taught, a great variety of topics, not easy to pass, lean for life ! I strongly recommend it !

von Lorenzo A

11. Feb. 2016

The lectures are very clear and the readings extremely interesting, including many articles written by top experts

von B B

18. Jan. 2021

Excellent course that opens your mind to the word of counterterrorism and the terrorist groups that are in play.

von Lucio A M

26. Sep. 2020

Excellent course! Professors Edwin Bakker and Jeanine de Roy van Zuijdewijn conducted the subject in superb way.

von Tulika K

7. Juli 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course and i learnt a lot of things. Im sure this is going to help me in the future.

von Rodolfo Q L

1. Sep. 2019

Fantastic course. I learned incredible concepts. Incredible content. Great instructor, extremely well qualified.

von ABHIJEET S

22. Juni 2020

THIS COURSE IS SO INFORMATIVE AND HELPS TO LEARN A LOT ABOUT THE BASICS OF THE TERRORISM AND COUNTER-TERRORISM.

von Jacob K

28. Dez. 2018

Great theoretical foundation for everyone interested in the field of terrorism and counterterrorism! Excellent.

von Amine D

18. Sep. 2017

Very interesting course, I have a new vision of terrorism and counter-terrorism after completing this course.

von Hareesh H

1. Juli 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. It gave me new insights into this domain which is comparatively new to me.

von Toni H

20. Nov. 2017

Curso muy interesante y completo, el único punto a mejorar son las traducciones al Español.

Recomendable 100%

von Sonia R G

5. Jan. 2021

I found the course very interesting and useful. I really recommend it to everyone interested in terrorism!

von Eric H

16. Juni 2018

This course is simply AMAZING! Wish they had more and that one could pursue a degree via distance learning.

von Niels G

6. Nov. 2015

Very interesting topic given by an excellent lecturer. Readings and course video's complement one another.

von Jovana B

21. Okt. 2015

My first course here on Coursera and I am completely satisfied with both the lectures and the professor.

von Tomek C

25. Feb. 2016

It's a good introduction. Being green in this subject, it really changes my understanding of terrorism.