Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,681 Bewertungen
650 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 631 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Meghan C

4. Juni 2020

Very good course. A lot of useful information and a great subject to take in todays globalized world.

von Tomasz M

1. Dez. 2018

Fantastic Fantastyczny kurs! Polecam kazdemu kto chce wiedziec wiecej na temat terroryzmu.

Regards

Tom

von Galen J R

7. März 2016

A very in-depth skim of the beginning of a new trend in study and how we view another uneasy subject.

von Maria A

22. Okt. 2017

Thank you for the course, it was very interesting! Where I can find my certification of this course?

von Romain H

9. Aug. 2015

Extremely clear and well presented course. Congratulations to the team who made such a good course.

von Lucia G

2. Juli 2020

I highly recommend this course if you are interested in the terrorism and counterterrorism topic.

von Wallace G

9. Mai 2019

An excellent course. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the counter - terrorism.

von Paul M

16. März 2019

The course is not only an eye opener, full of reflections and knowledge.I recommend this course.

von Kumar R

6. Juni 2020

very useful and well elaborated core for the individual who are interested in terrorism studies.

von Ivan M

16. Feb. 2019

Great and interesting course for learn more about terrorism, his history and the situation today

von Patrick P T

7. Sep. 2015

A great overview and introduction to the theory and practice of terrorism and counter-terrorism.

von Henk K

25. Mai 2020

A really well organised training which I really enjoyed! A big compliment for all contributors!

von Cassio F r

23. Feb. 2018

A very interesting course for anybody who wants to understand the reasons of terrorism nowadays

von Cathy G

1. Jan. 2016

This will answer many questions you have about what is going on these days regarding terrorism.

von JIM B

20. Nov. 2017

Excellent course, well presented somewhat challenging which is exactly what I was looking for.

von Carey J

31. Aug. 2017

Thought provoking and interesting course which was presented exceptionally well. Worth taking

von Christoph J

5. Mai 2016

Edwin Bakker did a great course. If you are interested in (Counter-)Terrorism Studies, enroll.

von PRAKASH P

2. Sep. 2015

Thank you! Prof. & TA's .. Awesome Course to give good Foundation to Understand the Concepts.

von Bonny O O

2. Juni 2020

Great course and the videos and materials were very helpful and will continue to be helpful.

von Nolen J

15. Mai 2017

Excellent course, especially for an introduction to scholarly research sources on the topic.

von Sridhar C

11. Okt. 2016

An excellent course on terrorism and counter terrorism. would like to recommend to friends.

von Bas A B

13. Sep. 2019

Very helpfull course. Give you a good base on the world of terrorism and counterterrorism.

von Georgios V

21. Aug. 2018

Overall a complete course on terrorism and counterterrorism, well organized and presented.

von Sohyeon P

9. Aug. 2017

It helps me a lot to understand why terrorism happens and how to deal with these problems.

von Kaixiang R

15. Mai 2017

Build up a comprehensive and rational understanding about terrorism and counter-terrorism.