Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
2,212 Bewertungen
540 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 521 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Diana K

Dec 27, 2018

I got a lot new information that's very useful for me. Thank you for this course!

von Jacob K

Dec 28, 2018

Great theoretical foundation for everyone interested in the field of terrorism and counterterrorism! Excellent.

von Alexandre K

Jul 13, 2018

A lot of knowledge and many assumptions are now twisted. Useful to understand terrorism especially in this era. Courses are clear well done, very professional, I highly recommend. That's my first online course, I'll take others when I'll have time so thank you. I bought the certificate, I see it like a donation for all this good work.

von Lee E

Oct 10, 2016

A good overview on Terrorism issue.

von William L

Nov 09, 2017

Exceptional. One of the best courses I have had on Coursera. The pace is good and the videos and readings are topical and approachable. Highly recommended!

von Miriam E G

Feb 14, 2018

Muy buen curso. Aclara todos los preconceptos. Muy buen material y lecturas sugeridas para seguir aprendiendo. Gracias

von Muriel M

Sep 11, 2015

Excellent course

von Deleted A

May 26, 2016

The best online course I have ever had. Lots of information on the subject,

engagin, very well presented.

Edwin, thank you, well done and I am looking forward for more from you.

von Clealdon A d A J

Sep 01, 2015

Awesome course.

von Stephen G

Jul 11, 2017

Very thorough, timely and relevant. Upon completion, periodic office chats are made available to maintain current understanding and updates to a very unpredictable and fluid topic. Excellent presentation.

von JANDER T D O

Aug 07, 2015

I have no words to say thanks

von Edgar R M R

Feb 11, 2016

Me gusta el curso

von Harshit

Mar 05, 2016

Excellent work by Prof Bekkar. The course is not an easy one, although Prof Bekkar has given a very systematic overview of the subject. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in National Security.

von Julia A B

Jul 02, 2017

Great course, I really recommend it! Excellent didactic and good materials.

von Miriam S

Apr 03, 2018

Easy to follow, very enlightening course. Highly recommended to get an academic understanding of terrorims and refrain from reiterating myths.

von Thomas C

Sep 13, 2015

Well done, well explained, and very interesting assignments

von Ahmer J K

Feb 02, 2017

Excellent course! Leiden University's courses are great as always!

von Micaela M D

Feb 10, 2017

As an International Relations student, I got asked so many times from friends and family to explain what was going on in Syria. It wasn't until this course that I realized I didn't know as much as I thought I did about terrorism. I recommend it to anyone who wants to understand our present day events.

von Lois S

Jul 04, 2017

I wanted to learn more about the ongoing terrorist threats and governmental replies. I learned that a so much more! The teach is deeply involved in research on the topics he teaches and i particularly enjoyed the monthly talks on new events discussed in the news. Wish this professor offered other classes so I could take those too!

von kaiser m i

Aug 30, 2015

This is one of the best course that showcase our most vital in a way most contemporary matters. Hopefully, the people who will take part in this course will have improved their level of humanity and their partial eyes through a inevitable process.

von Milton D N

Jan 08, 2017

Excellent course!

von Claire C

Apr 10, 2017

This course has been incredibly helpful in making sense of the news and the world today. I especially appreciate the continuing contact and "office chats" which help put current events in perspective. Thank you!

von Matthew F

Jan 24, 2018

Excellent.

von Carlos M F P

Jun 14, 2017

Excelente curso. Contiene los conceptos más actuales sobre el tema.