Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,632 Bewertungen
636 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

526 - 550 von 616 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Sally B

24. Aug. 2015

I found this course scholarly and informative. The presentation was clear and the arguments carefully researched and well balanced. It changed the way I think about terrorism - responding to anger with anger is counter-productive and doesn't really address the root causes. Thank you Prof. Bakkar for sharing your expertise and insights with a wide audience.

Some quotes from or interviews with former 'terrorists', or from members of marginalised groups within Western societies would have given us a perspective from the other side of the debate. Student colleagues may have been able to add this sort of thing.

von Matthew G

16. Okt. 2016

A pretty good course. The last week about foreign fighters didn't seem to flow as well as the other weeks (possibly because it was added later due to recent world developments).

The course referenced many scholarly articles and sources, sometimes including those of the professor of the course. There is no shortage of scholarly reading material.

However, some of the reading material came from websites that demanded registration after viewing the document the first time. This wasn't often, but there were a few (under 5 throughout the course) quiz questions that referenced these articles.

von Siddarth P

2. Apr. 2017

In my opinion, this course is so simple but yet an effective learning tool for those individuals who are a beginners in the field of terrorism and counterterrorism studies. Even though, if it is not your field of study, this course gives you a beginners look on how things actually role in this field and gives you a sense of satisfaction along with deep and clear understanding of this body of knowledge than what the mainstream media shows. This course have given me and think it will for others, an incentive to do something about these issues mentioned in the course.

von Alejandro A L G

27. Apr. 2016

Excellent course for understanding studies and policies about terrorism, its origins and the ways for understanding it.

Terrorism is not about killing people; it's about fearing people too.

Maybe, the course which based on the writes of Mr. Bakker and one of his books could think us a commercial or promotional purposses, but It's a great, really great, course and way for understanding actually world we're living, and an excellent way for naming many things which happen all of us.

Information is another fact power will release us from fear.

Thanks.

von Lauriane B

10. Okt. 2016

This was a great course! It's like a big summary of this discipline, because it would take a lot longer to study it in depth. The videos are interesting with some graphics to help us out. There is a transcript for every week and I used it every time. The only negative point would be the style of those transcripts; the way they are presented. The paragraphs are not in line and there's no real sections in the text. It makes it harder to read. Overall, I'm really glad with this couse and I must say the online community was definitely an asset.

von Benedict H

11. Mai 2020

This was a really useful and interesting course, introducing not only the theoretical side of Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies but also policy approaches and real-world experiences of countries around the world. I would have liked to have had more up-to-date content, given the dynamic and fast-changing nature of the phenomenon, but overall I would recommend this course to anyone interested in terrorism throughout history and in the world today.

von Yohana J

22. Nov. 2015

It was a good course, however, it seems that the recording was from the earlier course. Which I don't mind, however, some of the comment wasn't relevant, so it was a bit weird.

In terms of content and how the course run, it was beyond my expectation. The list of literature provided were quite extesive and strategicaly chosen.

I wish there's a whole syllabus that we can access in the beginning of the course to prepare for the assignment.

von C M

2. Feb. 2016

I would like to give 4.5 but it is not an option. Mainly because the course is good but sometimes Professor Bakker fails to hold my attention, due to lack of fire in his lecturing style. Whilst I know lectures cannot always be exciting , no matter how keen one is on the subject, I feel that some of the more tedious course material would be absorbed better if presented in a less monotone manner.

von Peter S

14. Mai 2016

Excellent content and nicely delivered. Would have liked some more variation in the delivery - show us videos, problems to solve, more details for example on Munich massacre - detailed deconstruction of the act of terror. Found it difficult with the tests that involved "check all that apply".

Recommended course.

von Bonnie G

12. Jan. 2016

I have just begun this course (completed week 1) and I have to say, I am impressed with the course and how well it is put together. I am a grad student in the states and have been through many classes that were not nearly this informative, up to date and intriguing right out of the gate. Impressive!

von Robert B

15. Juli 2016

Great course, very interesting material. I found that the course material did not match the quiz material, though I was not seriously bothered by it. I learnt a lot and will continue to follow the theory of terrorism and the practice of counterterrorism.

von Shawn J K

25. Okt. 2020

Professor Edwin Bakker of Leiden University is a stellar instructor. His credentials are very impressive and he is incredibly knowledgeable on the subject matter. Mr. Bakker was the perfect person to teach this course. Absolutely outstanding course!

von Philippe B

5. Sep. 2016

Very good courses for someone who want to understand the basics of

Terrorism and Counterterrorism. Only thing I would suggest to improve the course will be to be more up date with the latest event on terrorist attack in Europe.

von Daniel d M B

30. Okt. 2016

Muy buen curso para los que quieran conocer más y aprender a analizar correctamente el fenómeno del terrorismo. Mi única pega es que no haya un certificado de haber superado el curso gratuito, como otros cursos que sí lo tienen

von Kevin T

4. Apr. 2019

Excellent Very Focused on the academic research perspective and utilizes the most reading of any terrorism MOOC courses out there. Well worth the time especially for those who enjoy learning from a European perspective.

von Luis J S H

1. Okt. 2017

Muy interesante. Visión general sobre el estado del arte en investigación y práctica y revisión de las principales ideas preestablecidas por la sociedad. Aporta una visión rigurosa a la situación actual al respecto.

von Ludmila V d R

12. Sep. 2016

Due to the new wave of attacks in Europe, I believe the subject of this course is pretty important. Therefore, it would be great if Prof. Bakker could review some of the lessons given that are out of date.

von Diego A C v

12. Apr. 2017

es un curso excelente y muy entretenido para realizarse, el único inconveniente es que mejoren la cuestión de los subtítulos que acompañan los videos ya que no todos se encuentran disponibles en Español.

von Octavian C

8. Nov. 2015

The course is good and offers some interesting insights into the current state of things regarding terrorism, as well as a glimpse in the mindset of the terrorists and terrorist organizations.

von Kenzie C

19. Aug. 2015

A lot of reading is needed which, on one hand, is beneficial to the students but on the other can be exhausting as well. Anyway, I had a great time and gain a better perspective on terrorism.

von Nilesh W

4. Okt. 2016

Wonderful course especially for beginners. Very much informative easy to understand. Videos are very interactive and keeps one engaged. Would like to do further courses in this area.

von Alejandro L E

29. Sep. 2015

Very objective, theoretical and empirical point of view of terrorism. Very clear explanations and very interesting lectures added about the subject. Very recommendable

von Mohammed A T

20. Aug. 2015

Very interesting. May need permanent updates, for instance through short addition video lectures.

Course transcripts are really useful, in particular when translated!

von Jaures I W

30. Juni 2020

Great course material. It is comprehensive even to beginners such as me. the only problem is the dynamic nature of the subject that may render it obsolete.

von Jonathan T

25. Apr. 2020

Good course. But some of the reading material is not available online. Also, after 4 or 5 years, it probably needs an update to tackle more recent events.