Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,670 Bewertungen
648 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

551 - 575 von 628 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Ludmila V d R

12. Sep. 2016

Due to the new wave of attacks in Europe, I believe the subject of this course is pretty important. Therefore, it would be great if Prof. Bakker could review some of the lessons given that are out of date.

von Diego A C v

12. Apr. 2017

es un curso excelente y muy entretenido para realizarse, el único inconveniente es que mejoren la cuestión de los subtítulos que acompañan los videos ya que no todos se encuentran disponibles en Español.

von Octavian C

8. Nov. 2015

The course is good and offers some interesting insights into the current state of things regarding terrorism, as well as a glimpse in the mindset of the terrorists and terrorist organizations.

von Kenzie C

19. Aug. 2015

A lot of reading is needed which, on one hand, is beneficial to the students but on the other can be exhausting as well. Anyway, I had a great time and gain a better perspective on terrorism.

von Nilesh W

4. Okt. 2016

Wonderful course especially for beginners. Very much informative easy to understand. Videos are very interactive and keeps one engaged. Would like to do further courses in this area.

von Alejandro L E

29. Sep. 2015

Very objective, theoretical and empirical point of view of terrorism. Very clear explanations and very interesting lectures added about the subject. Very recommendable

von Mohammed A T

20. Aug. 2015

Very interesting. May need permanent updates, for instance through short addition video lectures.

Course transcripts are really useful, in particular when translated!

von Jaures I W

30. Juni 2020

Great course material. It is comprehensive even to beginners such as me. the only problem is the dynamic nature of the subject that may render it obsolete.

von Johann D

6. Dez. 2020

Quelques soucis de traduction , néanmoins la formation demande bcp de travail et donc n'est pas volé

réactualiser les liens des lectures serait intéressant

von Jonathan T

25. Apr. 2020

Good course. But some of the reading material is not available online. Also, after 4 or 5 years, it probably needs an update to tackle more recent events.

von Ngomo Y

24. Sep. 2016

Ce cours m'a permis d'avoir une meilleure perspective en ce qui concerne les concepts de terrorisme et de contre-terrorisme.

Je le recommande vivement!

von Sarah S

16. Juli 2016

A lot of information and very well presented. May need some updating to reflect the quickly changing landscape of terrorism. Thanks for a great course!

von Agnes L

31. Jan. 2018

Great course, really clear en interesting. Mostly research centered.

I liked the last added courses with examples and i would have like more of those.

von Wellington R

31. Okt. 2015

Excellent course, give us a great idea what is the studies about terrorism and show us how many we are far from a scholar research here in Brazil.

von Aren F

19. Juni 2017

Another excellent course. My hope in the future is a follow up be done with greater focus on counter terrorism training tactics and procedures

von Robson C S

21. Feb. 2019

The course is five star, but the fact that terrorism does not yet have a global definition make the chance to learn more about it very harder.

von Ray C

5. Okt. 2015

While making the case that theory and practice do not much up, more could be said about current practices, both effective, and non-effective.

von Sean W

22. März 2020

I never really thought about causes and reasons behind terrorism and these sorts of activities. Certainly gave me something to think about.

von Clara M V L

7. Okt. 2016

Excelente curso, con fundamento histórico. La única crítica es que deberían actualizar ciertos contenidos con la realidad mundial al 2016

von Merete H

14. Sep. 2015

Fantastic course. Though the message is clear, some statistic numbers are a lot of out date.

It's been an eyeopener for me in many ways.

von Shahjahan B

16. Sep. 2015

Thank you very much for awarding me with a verified certificate of accomplishment. Indeed the course was a wonderful experience.

von Elysia S

11. Dez. 2015

A highly informative module giving you an overview of the scientific methods used in studying terrorism and counterterrorism.

von Catarina N

19. Aug. 2018

This course was utterly informative and interesting — however, I recommend to review and update the module transcripts.

von Ferry V

8. Apr. 2016

This is an interesting and well structured course. In addition, the discussions between the students are stimulating.

von john f

5. Juli 2018

excellent content. teachers very good. course very well organized . readings excellent and accessible thank you .