Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,597 Bewertungen
626 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

576 - 600 von 608 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Ivar H

Dec 29, 2016

Well laid out and thought provoking content.

von Roboam r

Jun 26, 2020

excellent course to understand terrorism

von Jan S

Dec 28, 2017

great course I will recommend to others

von Petit I

Sep 12, 2016

It's a great course to go through

von Ojurabesa E O

Jan 25, 2016

Very Insightful and transforming

von John D

Aug 20, 2015

Informative and well presented.

von TOGBOSSI M K

May 30, 2017

Très bon cours bien documenté!

von Asif S B

Oct 05, 2015

Very informative and engaging!

von Mohammad A

Feb 04, 2017

Great, in-depth on topic.

von Reuben P

Apr 08, 2019

learn a lot of news things

von Javier G r

Sep 25, 2019

very interesting course.

von Alexandre G

Aug 29, 2020

Good course!

von Yin N C

Jun 08, 2019

Nice course!

von Mucahit F Y

Oct 31, 2016

fantastic

von Carolina R d C

Oct 03, 2016

So good!

von Robert P

Sep 20, 2016

A

von Matthias C

Feb 24, 2016

Average. Doesn't really like the Professor's style. He spends too many time trying to explain that he feels really concern about the victims etc. I feel that the content of the class could have been interesting but the organization was messy. Finally it gives the impression that academics know barely anything about the subject. I would have prefer a more historical approach. Overall i've watched all the content but in the future i won't spend much time checking for new Mooc from him. Thanks for the try though

von Walter C L J

Aug 24, 2015

It is a great theme, but at many points the course focuses on "who said what", regarding authors and papers, and emphasizes this type of question throughout all the tests. I think a longer course where these statements and papers could be properly discussed and explained would easily be a 5-star rating. The instructor clearly knows a lot on the subject and the material is top quality.

von Saim S

Apr 13, 2016

Theoretically the course is very lacking. There is little focus on the scholarly work in the field except perhaps the first few lectures. The content and scope of the course is too small. Overall however the content is good for a very basic introduction and

von Matthys J U

Sep 14, 2015

It was very good to learn terrorism from the theory angle and believe the two groups should work closer.

von ANDRES H C

Oct 18, 2020

Interesting. It is not my prefer topic, but it's worth to learn somthing on the subject

von Janet Q

Aug 01, 2019

Unfortunately, articles listed as optional reading end up on the quiz at week's end.

von Martin M

May 28, 2018

basic knowledge, nothing special.

von Christopher R

Jul 28, 2020

Very good

von Roberto G G

Jun 25, 2020

The Quizzes are more about the text that you will read, some of them wrote by the teacher, and inferred that the accessibility is by purchase some since links lead you to the sales page. Besides it, the mentioned quizzes are just word tricks. They do not intend to measure your general knowledge about the subject, but about details. I conclude it just because it is not my position to back down, and I was approved.

You can do better reading by yourself the recommended paper. Knowledged does not need someone to gratified it by contrivance.