Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,632 Bewertungen
636 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

601 - 616 von 616 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Walter C L J

24. Aug. 2015

It is a great theme, but at many points the course focuses on "who said what", regarding authors and papers, and emphasizes this type of question throughout all the tests. I think a longer course where these statements and papers could be properly discussed and explained would easily be a 5-star rating. The instructor clearly knows a lot on the subject and the material is top quality.

von Saim S

12. Apr. 2016

Theoretically the course is very lacking. There is little focus on the scholarly work in the field except perhaps the first few lectures. The content and scope of the course is too small. Overall however the content is good for a very basic introduction and

von Matthys J U

14. Sep. 2015

It was very good to learn terrorism from the theory angle and believe the two groups should work closer.

von ANDRES H C

18. Okt. 2020

Interesting. It is not my prefer topic, but it's worth to learn somthing on the subject

von Janet Q

1. Aug. 2019

Unfortunately, articles listed as optional reading end up on the quiz at week's end.

von Martin M

27. Mai 2018

basic knowledge, nothing special.

von Christopher R

28. Juli 2020

Very good

von Roberto G G

25. Juni 2020

The Quizzes are more about the text that you will read, some of them wrote by the teacher, and inferred that the accessibility is by purchase some since links lead you to the sales page. Besides it, the mentioned quizzes are just word tricks. They do not intend to measure your general knowledge about the subject, but about details. I conclude it just because it is not my position to back down, and I was approved.

You can do better reading by yourself the recommended paper. Knowledged does not need someone to gratified it by contrivance.

von laura

30. Nov. 2015

no se puede realizar el trabajo final en español, solamente en ingles, me parece mal, es un curso interesante y por supuesto enigmatico pero al no poderlo hacer en mi lengua me decepciona mucho

von jason m

29. Mai 2020

Instructor was engaging and informative. Course is dated with recent global events. Quizzes tested more of what student didn't know rather on what they were learning.

von Joel B

21. Aug. 2016

more about the study of terrorism than about terrorism

von Francisco E B A

26. Sep. 2015

Just for get our opinion.

von Genaro B

25. Juni 2016

Superficial

von Margot D

21. Okt. 2015

I've taken this course for a while but prefered to stop as I found it very not academic in terms of ethics and objectivity. It spreads anxiety and takes too much liberty with History.

von Meeran

22. Mai 2016

Can be better

von david c

18. Nov. 2015

it was halful