Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,632 Bewertungen
636 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 616 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Alan M D

23. Nov. 2020

Really enjoyed the course and the concepts covered. The amount of reading was daunting but very helpful overall to understand what was being taught. Professor Bakker was excellent and I enjoyed his insights along with Professor Schmid and all the other interviewees. Thank you for all the rok on the course/ The extra week on foreign fighters was a great call and very much needed. Perhaps some of the other earlier material can be updated more to 2020/21. Thank you and all the contributors again.

von Muhammad S

25. Feb. 2018

It is an excellent course which provides basic understanding about terrorism and counterterrorism studies. The teaching method of the teacher is also convincing and illuminate about many theories. if someone wants to understand the phenomenon of terrorism, he/she must take this course. This course has also removed my confusions about theories of terrorism and counterterrorism. I would like to request Dr Edwin Bakker and his team to introduce more advance level course on the issue.

Regards

von Dr. N F (

11. Feb. 2018

You MUST take this course, if:

If you want to know the Academic approach of the modern counterterrorism

If you need to have a concentrated knowledge about the historical facts

If you want to know about the best bibliography and know about modern scholars

if you are working in counterterrorism

etc.

or if you are curious to know what is terrorism according to scientists and experts.

I recommend this course.

My congratulations to Professor Edwin Bakker and to his team for this excellent work.

von vannie c

15. Okt. 2016

When i started this course i did not know what to expect but as i progress i became very impress with the materials provided and the dept of information available on the subject. Terrorism has now moved from an item on the news to me to an intimate subject worth exploring further. I became intimately connected with this subject and vowed to continue exploring the phenomenon deeper. Thank you very much for the wealth of knowledge presented.

Vannie Curwen

von Alessandra V

9. Okt. 2015

I really like the professor, all the material given, and of course the topic. It's a very interesting course and I love that the professor provides names of important authors in the field, books, films and also schools specialized in studies on terrorism and counterterrorism. I started considering counterterrorism as a career path after my Law degree, we will see how the course will go, but so far (week threem, about to start week four) so good!

von Carla P G A M S

7. Jan. 2017

I liked very much the course and I would like to get enrolled in others courses related. It helped me a lot to much better develop my work of inter-faith's dialogue and i think important my institution to include the theme of counterterrorism and foreign fighters at our magazine as prevention to avoid conflicts and wrong decision by youngers. As christian, to better understand the muslim and islam world to promote peace is fundamental.

von Mouktar B

16. Sep. 2016

J'ai vraiment adoré cette formation. Ce cours m'a permis d'apprendre beaucoup des choses et m'a permis de mieux comprendre les dessous des conflits et les motivations des Groupes terroristes dans le monde. Vraiment un magnifique contenu!!!!. je remercie beaucoup les responsables de ce cours bien élaboré. Et J'ai hâte de suivre une autre formation sur ce sujet si passionnant qu'est le terrorisme. Merci encore.

von Martinlevac@gmail.com

5. Jan. 2018

This was my first course on Coursera. After completing the START course from the University of Maryland, I can say with confidence that this course is a much deeper look at the concepts of terrorism and counter-terrorism (vs analysis of data and statics from the GTD). The exams were harder but the level of understanding is also deeper than the START course. Also, Dr. Bakker is very engaging and interesting.

von José A B C

21. Nov. 2018

Very good Introductory course to get familiar with the academic research and main authors towards Terrorism and Counterterrorism. The course is well organized and the content is very punctual and was well selected and prepared. I recommend it for students of International Relations, Political Science, Public Policy and Governance, Law and most related in Social Sciences but not limited only to them.

von Rodrigo S M M

17. Jan. 2020

This course was perfect; I took so long to finish it, because as it happens with a good book, I feared turning the last page and never seeing it again. This course has been as close as I have been to coming into contact with the incredibly enticing and perennial issue of international security and I cannot thank Coursera and the University of Leiden enough for this wonderful opportunity.

Thank you.

von Francisco J G M

26. Feb. 2017

An extraordinary course !! with key foundations, historical and current information on the subject, masterfully explained by Mr. Edwin Bakker.

A course full of relevant and valuable information to understand the phenomena and changes that are occurring in our world.

A course that we should all take to know the role we play in this world so changing and so scourged by wars and misunderstandings.

von Halil A

14. Nov. 2016

It's good see an excellent teacher who shows us to look at the terrorism not via his perspective but wants us to use our own. Techniques he is using is also nice and not boring. As a student, i would take this course(and Edwin Bakker if could be possible) if this could be a lesson in my university. I have learned many things and he aroused my interest about the terrorism subject more than ever.

von Paulo J R V

22. Feb. 2017

Fantastic MOOC! This course is great for the ones who want to learn more about Terrorism studies and Terrorism History. It's not a easy one, if you are commited to read all the sugested readings, However it does give you a solid backgorund in this area of study, and it's a nice beggining for the ones, like me, that intend to continue to study Terrorism & Counterterrorism at a University level.

von Robert M

7. Sep. 2015

The quality and quantity of the material provided are simply outstanding. “Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice” is first and foremost a well-structured course built upon solid academic standards. I would recommend it even to those who already have knowledge in this field because most certainly there will be something that you did not know.

Excellent course!

von Nikki S

12. Sep. 2017

I did this course as an introduction to something I was becoming increasingly interested in. With a background in law and neuropsychology, I was able to wear either or both hats at various points throughout the course. It really made me think and has served me in good stead for further more advanced study in the same field. The presentation is clear and well-referenced.

von jamie b

31. Aug. 2018

Its been a great journey learning with experts and interacting with fellow peers. Those who want to deepen their knowledge in Terrorism and counter terrorism must take this course, you wont regret it. All of the faculty members are experts in their respective field. Thanks coursera and thanks Leiden University. And thanks to every one involved in creating this course.

von Nidal Z

5. Sep. 2017

Very high standard and very well prepared course. It incorporates uptodate topics as in week 6 and also is refreshingly academically focused rather than having a political approach. The analysis behind the myths is outstanding and the data-driven analysis by the lecturers is more effective than so much fud that you see in the media. The professor is a great educator.

von Enrico P

4. Okt. 2016

All in all, a very interesting and comprehensive course on terrorism and counterterrorism history, theory, state-of-the-art knowledge and evolution. Please allow me to recommend two publications on ISIS and why it was born: "Black Flags - The Rise of ISIS" by Joby Warrick, and "The Rise of Islamic State" by Patrick Cockburn". With kind regards, Enrico Pinna

von Shahbaz A K

26. Dez. 2019

An excellent course led by Dr Bakker and team. I learned a lot about this very important topic and how the instructor was quite frank and honest about many things. I would like to see more things covered in the future though such as cultural/social/state terrorism and how to deal with it. This is probably the best MOOC on the internet for this topic.

von Sarthak G

24. Sep. 2016

Really enjoyed the material. The videos were simple, especially for a beginner. This is the first course I completed online and the experience was really good. Prof. Bakker is an able instructor and the concepts were well explained. The tests were simple though. Most of them took only one or two attempts to pass. That counts as a positive by the way.

von Olaniran O J

14. Feb. 2019

I have plans of becoming a scholar in the field of terrorism and counter-terrorism, but I didn't know how to go about it. This course has really helped me; it made me know key authors, centers, and scholars in the field, popular journals, the current state of the field, grey areas, and many more. I am really happy I enrolled for this course.

von Kyle C

9. Juni 2017

This was an excellent exploration into the current state-of-the-art of Terrorism and Counterterrorism. There was an exploration into several popular misnomers that politicians attribute to terrorists. Having a body of academic literature to support or debunk these theories was excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the readings and the lectures.

von Jonathan R

20. Nov. 2017

This was a great course. I'm very happy with all I learned throughout it. Prof. Baker lectures are great, very dynamic and understandable. Selected topics on this course are meaningful in that they provide a very good insight of the phenomenon of terrorism. I recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about counter-terrorism

von Alexandre K

12. Juli 2018

A lot of knowledge and many assumptions are now twisted. Useful to understand terrorism especially in this era. Courses are clear well done, very professional, I highly recommend. That's my first online course, I'll take others when I'll have time so thank you. I bought the certificate, I see it like a donation for all this good work.