Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,634 Bewertungen
637 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 617 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Lois S

3. Juli 2017

I wanted to learn more about the ongoing terrorist threats and governmental replies. I learned that a so much more! The teach is deeply involved in research on the topics he teaches and i particularly enjoyed the monthly talks on new events discussed in the news. Wish this professor offered other classes so I could take those too!

von Narges M

4. Juni 2017

Easy to follow, great video's by Prof. Bakker. It really challenges me to think further than what i can see on the news or read in the general news papers. This course makes me understand where terrorism is coming from and why people are doing it. Absolutely great. I wish other universities would do the same for their courses.

von Tan J F

17. Sep. 2018

After doing this course, it made me realize the importance of the security of my own country. I thank you the instructors who made this course available, accessible and possible for people like me who are now inspired to join the Armed Forces in efforts to counter-terrorism. This is truly a wonderful and insightful course!

von elohim

12. Okt. 2017

Just to express my gratitude for the time and attention that I received during this course, I also want to take the opportunity to be considered in an upcoming course in this subject, since the knowledge that took me I am sure will be very useful , and will help me greatly in my professional life.

Again, sincere thanks.

von Anastasiya O

8. Mai 2017

It was great to refresh my knowledge on the theory of terrorism but what is more valuable of this course is a new information, the incredible list of additional literature and super interesting and understandable lectures of Profesor Bakker. Special thanks for Coursera for opportunity to study when it is convenient.

von Sara C

27. Sep. 2018

I liked it a lot because it uses a lot of statistical support, essays, publications and it is explained in an understandable language without technicalities. I congratulate the University of Leiden and Professor Bakker for allowing us to learn this subject that should be treated more seriously by our governments.

von Alban B

10. Feb. 2020

I would strongly suggest this course to all the students who seek knowledge in global affairs, this course is taught by an excellent professor and everyone with interest in learning online ,should take a chance to enroll, especially when we are all affected by such a phenomenon that is elaborated in this course.

von Catherine P

30. Nov. 2020

A very progressive dive into theories and practice, with excellent reading material, a great teacher Prof. Edwin Bakker, different angles and different perspectives from guest speakers. This allowed me to create another perspective, the academics', to a subject I deal with from a police side only. Thank you!

von Felix C M J

30. Nov. 2016

excelente curso, así como prestigiado instructor , explicación clara y detallada sobre la problemática internacional del terrorismo y del contraterrorismo, referencias muy explícitas y claras de autores de renombre internacional en la materia , asi como literatura fresca con los temas de actualidad y datos

von Vaughn R N

5. Juni 2018

This is a very educational and helpful course. If you are looking to service your country an Immigration Officer and or related filed, this is good course to take. I would really love to a course in Homeland Security because I want to change job, hence the reason I took this course. VERY VERY HELPFUL.

von Micaela M D

10. Feb. 2017

As an International Relations student, I got asked so many times from friends and family to explain what was going on in Syria. It wasn't until this course that I realized I didn't know as much as I thought I did about terrorism. I recommend it to anyone who wants to understand our present day events.

von Gabriel S L

19. Aug. 2020

This course covers several interesting topics that let us have a general vision of terrorism concept, research, assumptions, foreign fighters, etc.

Readings and optional readings are very good quality materials, and some of them are examples of quantitative research which is refreshing in this field.

von Anastasia S

6. Nov. 2016

The course is very comprehensive and enlightening. The professor explained all the major points concerning terrorism. I would definitely recommend this course to my colleagues majoring in international affairs because it helps to understand the current state of the world from a different perspective.

von Andrew J P

2. Sep. 2015

Excellent tutor - leading speakers from the field with a good slant on all angles that we are covering out there today. I really enjoyed the course despite not being from this background though have an interest… well worth looking at if you are wanting to gain a greater understanding in the field.

von Nehad E G

1. Sep. 2017

Great course and professor. I have gained a lot of information in a very short time. The course has opened my eyes to new research topics that I am very much interested in. Thank you so much Professor Edwin Bakker for presenting the subject in a very easy way to comprehend. I am so grateful.

von Leonie V

19. Apr. 2020

As a practitioner in the field, I was interested in reviewing some of the core concepts and hoped to stumble upon relevant material that I had not read. Although it can be difficult to keep someone familiar with the material engaged with the course, this course did a great job. Loved it.

von maria m

10. Sep. 2016

Hi!

I have done this course because I really wanted to get into the topic of terrorism and the history of terrorism. This course has given me great insight and Prof Bakker is excellent at presenting the material and explaining the complex concepts.

Thank you for this great course!

von Kyle L

14. Jan. 2017

With a Security and Law Enforcement background, I found this course to be very rewarding. Theories, ideas and trends discussed within the course highlight the issues regarding Terrorism, Counter terrorism and provide further understanding for me in my professional capacities.

von Gonzalo P

18. Juni 2020

I think it is quite interesting as an introduction to the phenomenon. the main problema is tha terrorism itself is a living creature and studies on terrorism need to be constantly updated. So there is a need to regularly update de videos and the reading material.

von Olga M M G

16. Apr. 2020

Women have lived in the midst of armed conflict in different parts of the world, but each context we have our own truth. This course allows me as leader of women find a clear path to our own resilience.

thanks prof. dr. Edwin Bakker, thanks University of Leiden.

von Marc G

6. Juni 2017

Super! Incredibly informative and easy to follow. It gives a great foundation to students with no prior knowledge in the subject, while offering immense opportunities to those with some level of proficiency to continue feeding what they know. 100% recommended!

von Sohail N K

10. März 2017

An excellent endeavour to highlight how we understand and counter terrorism today. It reinforces Jenkin's perspective that "Unless we think like a terrorist we are liable to miss the point". My congratulation to Dr Bakker , his team,and the university. BRAVO..

von rupert s

11. Okt. 2016

A really good introduction to the course, well explained, good videos, I only wish I could have read the extra materials too. Only one complaint (very minor) - I live in Colombia and found a couple of references to Columbia in the materials. But overall super.

von Diego G G

7. Sep. 2015

I have learned a lot since the very beginning of this course, i found very accurate the content in each module, and i should mention that profesor Bakker is very objective at explaining, and when it comes to sharing his opinions he gives reasonable arguments.

von Jose M C

2. Juni 2017

It is an excellent course in acquiring theoretical and practical knowledge of the subject, I am very pleased to participate, demonstrating my taste in talking about these subjects, I would like to continue learning about the material. Thank you very much