Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,529 Bewertungen
607 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 588 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Felix C M J

Nov 30, 2016

excelente curso, así como prestigiado instructor , explicación clara y detallada sobre la problemática internacional del terrorismo y del contraterrorismo, referencias muy explícitas y claras de autores de renombre internacional en la materia , asi como literatura fresca con los temas de actualidad y datos

von Vaughn R N

Jun 05, 2018

This is a very educational and helpful course. If you are looking to service your country an Immigration Officer and or related filed, this is good course to take. I would really love to a course in Homeland Security because I want to change job, hence the reason I took this course. VERY VERY HELPFUL.

von Micaela M D

Feb 10, 2017

As an International Relations student, I got asked so many times from friends and family to explain what was going on in Syria. It wasn't until this course that I realized I didn't know as much as I thought I did about terrorism. I recommend it to anyone who wants to understand our present day events.

von Anastasia S

Nov 06, 2016

The course is very comprehensive and enlightening. The professor explained all the major points concerning terrorism. I would definitely recommend this course to my colleagues majoring in international affairs because it helps to understand the current state of the world from a different perspective.

von Andrew J P

Sep 02, 2015

Excellent tutor - leading speakers from the field with a good slant on all angles that we are covering out there today. I really enjoyed the course despite not being from this background though have an interest… well worth looking at if you are wanting to gain a greater understanding in the field.

von Nehad E G

Sep 01, 2017

Great course and professor. I have gained a lot of information in a very short time. The course has opened my eyes to new research topics that I am very much interested in. Thank you so much Professor Edwin Bakker for presenting the subject in a very easy way to comprehend. I am so grateful.

von Leonie V

Apr 19, 2020

As a practitioner in the field, I was interested in reviewing some of the core concepts and hoped to stumble upon relevant material that I had not read. Although it can be difficult to keep someone familiar with the material engaged with the course, this course did a great job. Loved it.

von maria m

Sep 10, 2016

Hi!

I have done this course because I really wanted to get into the topic of terrorism and the history of terrorism. This course has given me great insight and Prof Bakker is excellent at presenting the material and explaining the complex concepts.

Thank you for this great course!

von Kyle L

Jan 14, 2017

With a Security and Law Enforcement background, I found this course to be very rewarding. Theories, ideas and trends discussed within the course highlight the issues regarding Terrorism, Counter terrorism and provide further understanding for me in my professional capacities.

von Gonzalo P

Jun 18, 2020

I think it is quite interesting as an introduction to the phenomenon. the main problema is tha terrorism itself is a living creature and studies on terrorism need to be constantly updated. So there is a need to regularly update de videos and the reading material.

von Olga M M G

Apr 16, 2020

Women have lived in the midst of armed conflict in different parts of the world, but each context we have our own truth. This course allows me as leader of women find a clear path to our own resilience.

thanks prof. dr. Edwin Bakker, thanks University of Leiden.

von Marc G

Jun 06, 2017

Super! Incredibly informative and easy to follow. It gives a great foundation to students with no prior knowledge in the subject, while offering immense opportunities to those with some level of proficiency to continue feeding what they know. 100% recommended!

von Sohail N K

Mar 10, 2017

An excellent endeavour to highlight how we understand and counter terrorism today. It reinforces Jenkin's perspective that "Unless we think like a terrorist we are liable to miss the point". My congratulation to Dr Bakker , his team,and the university. BRAVO..

von rupert s

Oct 11, 2016

A really good introduction to the course, well explained, good videos, I only wish I could have read the extra materials too. Only one complaint (very minor) - I live in Colombia and found a couple of references to Columbia in the materials. But overall super.

von Diego G G

Sep 07, 2015

I have learned a lot since the very beginning of this course, i found very accurate the content in each module, and i should mention that profesor Bakker is very objective at explaining, and when it comes to sharing his opinions he gives reasonable arguments.

von Jose M C

Jun 03, 2017

It is an excellent course in acquiring theoretical and practical knowledge of the subject, I am very pleased to participate, demonstrating my taste in talking about these subjects, I would like to continue learning about the material. Thank you very much

von Hellen

Jan 25, 2016

Very well covered intro into the study of terrorism and counterterrorism. Gives the learner new perspectives and a challenge to research further into the subject. This is a course that should be taken by everyone in a security or governance related field

von BILU K

Sep 27, 2016

Really impressed and motivated to learn different types of Terrorist Names and organization. It gives me an idea to start think critically and develop mechanism to stop Terrorist in the country. I really appreciate it. Thanks

Bilu Kasanda

Papua New Guinea

von Mike S

Apr 28, 2016

Very compelling arguments and facts. I was looking for something to do and always enjoy broadening knowledge.

The content was heavy enough to be meaningful, but light enough to be enjoyable. I enjoyed the discussion forums. I will be continuing the series.

von Karen B

Sep 04, 2017

I have a degree and mastery, and I have taken many courses, but this one stands out for the quality of the speakers, the information and the pedagogy, I really congratulate you, especially to Professor Edwin Bakker, many congratulations and admiration.

von Eriberto T

Aug 07, 2017

Very relevant course. When I took it, I just appreciated its theoretical value. Now that we have our nearby city attacked by terrorists and held on for more than two months, the course has become one of the most relevant courses in our society today.

von Ivan J

Oct 25, 2017

A very good course diving into the foundations of analysing terrorism and counter-terrorism. It is scholar oriented but considers as well data collected from global terrorism databases. It was pivotal to train and exercise further academic thinking.

von Sudhanshu J

May 10, 2020

I am student of CAREER POINT UNIVERSITY and completed this course and learn many things like history,how terrorism works in world and learn lot of things but I not able to get course certificate after completion of course,so please can you help me

von kaiser m i

Aug 30, 2015

This is one of the best course that showcase our most vital in a way most contemporary matters. Hopefully, the people who will take part in this course will have improved their level of humanity and their partial eyes through a inevitable process.

von Cao Y

Aug 26, 2015

Very helpful for a basic understanding of terrorism and counterterrorism, and a knowledge with the current reseach in this field. A very pleasent experience studying with Prof. Bakker, and looking forward to the next course with Leiden University.