Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
2,214 Bewertungen
540 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 522 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Armando G

Jun 09, 2018

Great course.

von Karen B

Sep 04, 2017

I have a degree and mastery, and I have taken many courses, but this one stands out for the quality of the speakers, the information and the pedagogy, I really congratulate you, especially to Professor Edwin Bakker, many congratulations and admiration.

von Josycler A A S

Oct 24, 2017

O curso foi essencial para que eu tivesse contato com autores consagrados e pudesse refletir sobre aspectos do combate ao terrorismo que eu ainda não conhecia.

von Fabrizzio D Q d F

Oct 08, 2017

This course is one of the best, the fact of being in netherlands is a "extra" (I've precupation about the north american courses about this). The professor has an universitary abordage, without rage or bias.

Thak you a lot, Leiden!

von Rebecca T V

Jan 08, 2018

great course, very informative and fantastic teach

von Muhammad S

Feb 26, 2018

It is an excellent course which provides basic understanding about terrorism and counterterrorism studies. The teaching method of the teacher is also convincing and illuminate about many theories. if someone wants to understand the phenomenon of terrorism, he/she must take this course. This course has also removed my confusions about theories of terrorism and counterterrorism. I would like to request Dr Edwin Bakker and his team to introduce more advance level course on the issue.

Regards

von Belem E M

Apr 14, 2018

Im a Criminologist graduate and I really learn lots of interesting things about terrorism and counterterrorism that make me growth as a professional.

von Maira R

Jun 18, 2018

amazing

von Francisco R L L

Oct 29, 2017

very good

von dimitrakou a

Mar 25, 2018

Excellent course, with very good extra material. The lectures were easy to follow and comprehendable even for someone with absolutely no background in the topic. Thank you very much.

von Annabelle M

Apr 13, 2018

Very useful course !

von Felipe C L

Sep 21, 2017

Very interesting course!

von Emilio J M V

Jul 02, 2017

muy bueno

von Bogaerts G

Oct 10, 2017

oncise, to the point and up to date.

von Renan D d A

Nov 28, 2017

Curso incrível e material de estudo com valor inestimável. Recomendo a todos.

von Peter J

Jun 21, 2017

This well-organized course is presented in a series relatively short and focused video segments that are devoted to aspects of its half dozen or so major themes. Professor Bakker's lectures in each of those videos are clear, thorough and deceptively simple. One realizes in retrospect that Bakker has not only smoothly covered major theoretical issues about terrorism but he has also woven considerable historical detail as well as some academic controversy into the overall narrative. An important strength is that Dr. Bakker is careful to promote objectivity as he discusses point after point, but he is not shy about offering his opinion, particularly concerning the many controversial matters that come up. However, he is always entirely candid about his position when he does so, and that candor reinforces the scholarly tenor of the entire course. This is a valuable entry into a subject of great contemporary relevance, confusion, and need for sound policy-making; it will help to enhance one's ability to come to rational judgments about how terrorism can be understood and responded to.

von Alejandro E A

Jun 20, 2017

A well-rounded and properly structured course that serves as an ideal introduction, albeit with considerable depth, to terrorism and counter-terrorism studies.

von Christos S

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent course. You learn the basics about terrorism and counter terrorism.

von Ivan P

Oct 28, 2017

Great course! You'll learn a lot!

von Sergio G C

Jun 08, 2018

Absolutely accurate and a well-done introductory course. Great Job!

von Eric H

Jun 16, 2018

This course is simply AMAZING! Wish they had more and that one could pursue a degree via distance learning.

von Ojima S

Aug 05, 2017

Excellent

von maria m

Sep 10, 2016

Hi!

I have done this course because I really wanted to get into the topic of terrorism and the history of terrorism. This course has given me great insight and Prof Bakker is excellent at presenting the material and explaining the complex concepts.

Thank you for this great course!

von Giuseppe

Sep 30, 2017

Very very interesting!!!!

von Alex L

Feb 18, 2016

Really great overview and introduction to a tricky and ever changing subject!