Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,502 Bewertungen
600 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 582 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Zdenek V

Apr 16, 2017

A very good insight in the field of terrorism, its deffinition, impact, counter measures, history and future, from the academical point of view. The course is very well organized and I would recommend it to anyone with interest in the field.

von sanatan k

Feb 12, 2019

Excellent course , it provides much required insight in to Terrorism and Counter Terrorism. I have gained enormously and have furthered my knowledge in this field which would not have been possible without undertaking this holistic course.

von Ephraim

Nov 20, 2018

It's been really interesting

It has helped supported me with a lot of needed resourses and infor for my dissertation

The used language is easy and understandable.

There is a big amount of information and statistics

The course is well organized

von Kevin A H

Sep 13, 2015

This course, which delves into the minds of the experts, can expand your knowledge into what's really happening, not just the opinions of the media. Further, it goes deep into the 'why' in a world only interested in the 'who' and 'where'.

von Krzysztof K

Jun 01, 2020

I was working through the course it as I am interested in the field and one day would love to work for an expert organization in this matter.

I must say, I really enjoyed it. It's very well produced and everything is properly explained.

von Bárbara B

Dec 03, 2015

The course brings up subjects about terrorism that are very interesting, such as the history of terrorism. I liked it very much and I highly recommend it for anyone interested in political science, terrorism and international relations.

von Kate G

May 12, 2017

Interesting, Encouraging and Fun to do! Each week gave a better insight into different areas and provide a wide and good understanding of Terrorism and Counter Terrorism Concepts. Amazing reading list and access to papers. It was a ple

von Arnaud S

Mar 21, 2018

A very insightful course, providing an academic approach to historical and current events. The course addresses a wide range of topics , it questions assumptions, and it provides new perspectives on terrorism. I highly recommend it!

von Fabrizzio D Q d F

Oct 08, 2017

This course is one of the best, the fact of being in netherlands is a "extra" (I've precupation about the north american courses about this). The professor has an universitary abordage, without rage or bias.

Thak you a lot, Leiden!

von Milko G

May 03, 2019

A very interesting course! I learned a lot about the history and development of terrorism till actual terrorism today. Just what I searched for. Some readings could probably need to be updated, but nevertheless very interesting.

von Zhou H

Dec 18, 2015

这门课两年间选课的学生超过了十万之多,一方面课程的内容针对恐怖主义和反恐,从历史、理论到实践、未来进行了详细阐述,课程亦提供大量参考阅读材料,可对这个领域的知识有一个整体概括的掌握;另一方面,近年来恐怖主义的活动日益频繁,伊斯兰国、外国战士、欧洲难民等,也成为大家关注的热点。遗憾的是,课程中一再提及的欧洲相对安全的情况,在今年11月13日巴黎恐怖袭击之后,一去不返。课程的论坛仍然活跃,从中可以继续与来自世界各地的学生一同探讨反恐相关的问题。

von Conrado T D J

Sep 28, 2016

This Course is totally illuminating! Great backgrounder for a knowledge seeker about terrorism like me. It became more significant & engaging because of the great materials & great Facilitator & Professor, Edwin Bakker!

von Георгий Ф

Jan 07, 2016

Sometimes i am absolutely disagree with some of conclusions but its a normal process of exploring the truth is in an academic way of reasoned debate, dialogue filled with respectful atmosphere.

Thank you for this course.

von Yausheva A

Nov 26, 2015

I certainly enjoyed taking this course. Professor Bakker couldn`t be nicer and overall amazing, I understood and memorized every single bit of the studies. The reading was very useful as well. Thank you very much!

von Boris R

Nov 05, 2019

This is a great course on Terrorism and Counterterrorism, with very interesting lectures. The course will need to have a deep involvement in readings, taking notes and researches. I totally recommend this course!

von Sonny M L

Jun 03, 2017

Thank you Prof. Edwin Bakker.... it was very informative and comprehensive, yet open up our eyes that all of us can contribute to a better and safer society. So grateful for having the opportunity to participate.

von Claire C

Apr 10, 2017

This course has been incredibly helpful in making sense of the news and the world today. I especially appreciate the continuing contact and "office chats" which help put current events in perspective. Thank you!

von Harshit

Mar 05, 2016

Excellent work by Prof Bekkar. The course is not an easy one, although Prof Bekkar has given a very systematic overview of the subject. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in National Security.

von Huascar A

Nov 01, 2016

I really want to recommend this course. It is presented in a clear and didactive way. Encouraging us to open our mind to many aspects of what terrorism is and how todeal with it. I enjoyed every minute of it.

von shota s

Jan 16, 2018

first off all i want to say thanks to all members of coursera online course and to university of leiden for this great experence and challange wich gives us (all students) another level of study best wishes

von Stephen G

Jul 11, 2017

Very thorough, timely and relevant. Upon completion, periodic office chats are made available to maintain current understanding and updates to a very unpredictable and fluid topic. Excellent presentation.

von Geoffrey S

Dec 10, 2016

A very interesting well presented course, that provides a good all rounded insight into terrorism and counter terrorism. which is easy to follow and provides you with a good understanding of todays issues.

von Jasper v K

Nov 01, 2015

Very well organized and very informative course, thoroughly introducing students to the topic, using the latest in academia on terrorism. Recommended for everyone seeking to understand the topic better.

von Johan L

Dec 02, 2015

Excellent course. A thorough MOOC that gives more insight in the practice of terrorism and counterterrorism; what works and what doesn't, dividing myth from truth in a political sensitive subject.

von Terese M B

Jul 05, 2020

I loved this course! It's so interesting and really well organized and structured. The videos and readings are really interesting and understandable. Prof. Bakker explains everything perfectly!