Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,272 Bewertungen
553 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 534 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Dean S W

Sep 18, 2015

This course is by far the most professional, extensive online MOOC course I have ever had the pleasure to take. I look forward to continuing my studies in Terrorism and CT.

von Dennis V

Mar 17, 2019

An excellent course and the lecturer is outstanding! The course gave me the opportunity to better understand the horrors of terrorism and the possibilities against terror.

von Jen

Nov 16, 2016

This class was very informative and gave balance to the sensationalistic reporting of the media. I think the world would be a better place if more people took this course.

von Mohamed S

Sep 11, 2016

Loved the time I spent studying this course, if I was going to evaluate it on terms of the title sayings "it's all and more"

How is it more? I am already hungry for more :D

von Jesus R

Nov 25, 2015

Really deep, complete. The efforts of the creators can be seen at first view. Congratulations to Dr. Bakker for the clases and the lectures. The best course I've ever had!

von Rodrigo L F S

Sep 22, 2018

Excelente curso, permite adquirir nuevos conocimientos, sobre todo para Autoridades de Estado, como para funcionarios publicos encargados de la Seguridad Publica Nacional

von mehdi m

Sep 27, 2016

it's very wonderful to share this great mooc with academic people like you really i learned more ideas and it gives me a big power to continue this studies thank you .

von Yannick M

Oct 04, 2016

Thank you for this extensive and very accessible overview of the field of terrorism studies. I particularly appreciated the variety of recommended articles and sources.

von Iryna R

Aug 09, 2016

The Course is really good. The presentation is intense and clearly structured. I would specifically emphasize the quality of the required and recommended reading lists.

von Irina K

Jul 06, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! Great material and excellent lectures, would highly recommend for anyone interested in the topics of terrorism and counter-terrorism.

von Josh S

Feb 18, 2016

This course was very informative and helped to solidify the knowledge that I had coming into the course. I would recommend this course to anyone from novice to expert.

von Erin K C

Feb 05, 2017

This is a truly amazing course! It's hard to believe that I learned more in this free course than my terrorism course for mu undergraduate degree in criminal justice.

von Edgar J O d l R

Sep 21, 2015

I enjoyed a lot this curse, I learn many things I didn't know before I take it, I bought the book, and really it was helped me a lot. Congratulations for a great job.

von Agnes F

Sep 02, 2019

Thank you for this course. It was very interesting and informative. As a second-year student in college, I seriously started thinking about going into this field.

von Nancy J C

Feb 09, 2016

Insightful, well delivered, excellent resources and recommended readings - very professional and thorough. In particular the lectures are meticulously structured.

von Cristina M

Nov 14, 2017

Very well structured.

Information-wise very wide and interesting, very recommendable if you come from political science, war studies or international relations.

von Moses K B B

Nov 22, 2015

Superb! After six weeks, I've survived and of course enjoyed the readings and lectures. I've learned a lot in this course. Thank you Professor Bakker and team.

von Natália N d O

Mar 06, 2019

O curso em si é bem interessante, todo o material disponível e artigos são muito legais de se ler. Recomendo tanto para fins acadêmicos quanto por curiosidade.

von Josycler A A S

Oct 24, 2017

O curso foi essencial para que eu tivesse contato com autores consagrados e pudesse refletir sobre aspectos do combate ao terrorismo que eu ainda não conhecia.

von Alejandro E A

Jun 20, 2017

A well-rounded and properly structured course that serves as an ideal introduction, albeit with considerable depth, to terrorism and counter-terrorism studies.

von Joel O M

Aug 27, 2017

excelente curso, gran profesionalismo,estructura,facil entendimiento,lo recomiendo mucho,felicidades a la universidad de Leiden y a sus notables integrantes.

von Felipe J J D C

May 14, 2017

Provides sufficient academic research material and coherent classes sticking strictly to the theme and even venturing to tips about further academic research

von Carlos D S A

Jan 09, 2016

This course will provide me with an excelent opportunity to learn about a phenomenon that is so influential in our everyday lives. Thank you for this chance!

von Ijaz R

Aug 23, 2017

Great experience and very informative course. now i know something about terrorism and its main factors. thanks to professor for clear and concise teaching.

von William L

Nov 09, 2017

Exceptional. One of the best courses I have had on Coursera. The pace is good and the videos and readings are topical and approachable. Highly recommended!