Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
2,217 Bewertungen
541 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 522 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von G.J.Jiménez

Nov 24, 2015

¡Excelente! Ayuda a entender mejor el complejo tema del terrorismo.

von mansurni a

Sep 14, 2015

awesome course

von JULIO F B

Feb 14, 2016

EXCELENTE

von Yausheva A

Nov 26, 2015

I certainly enjoyed taking this course. Professor Bakker couldn`t be nicer and overall amazing, I understood and memorized every single bit of the studies. The reading was very useful as well. Thank you very much!

von Martha S

Nov 11, 2015

Great course. I really learned a lot!

von Scott56

Feb 26, 2016

Excellent course, somewhat ruined by discussion forum inappropriateness.

von Zhou H

Dec 18, 2015

这门课两年间选课的学生超过了十万之多,一方面课程的内容针对恐怖主义和反恐,从历史、理论到实践、未来进行了详细阐述,课程亦提供大量参考阅读材料,可对这个领域的知识有一个整体概括的掌握;另一方面,近年来恐怖主义的活动日益频繁,伊斯兰国、外国战士、欧洲难民等,也成为大家关注的热点。遗憾的是,课程中一再提及的欧洲相对安全的情况,在今年11月13日巴黎恐怖袭击之后,一去不返。课程的论坛仍然活跃,从中可以继续与来自世界各地的学生一同探讨反恐相关的问题。

von Héctor G O U

Nov 04, 2015

Excelente curso. El material es bastante didáctico y bueno, así como la metodología utilizada. Además las exposiciones del profesor Bakker son muy claras y fáciles de entender.

von Niels G

Nov 06, 2015

Very interesting topic given by an excellent lecturer. Readings and course video's complement one another.

von Brent A

Aug 11, 2015

Great course, very interesting, I recommend it.

von Galen J R

Mar 07, 2016

A very in-depth skim of the beginning of a new trend in study and how we view another uneasy subject.

von LUÍS M F F G

Aug 07, 2017

Very good teacher and Theme discussion

von Elvis R C

Oct 14, 2015

Is perfect curse.

von Amherd D

Aug 22, 2015

Very interesting course

von Darien S

Aug 25, 2015

Very informative. Great Instructor.

von María M B A

Oct 24, 2015

My opinion about the course is without doubt positive. It is geared to both college-educated people and for those people without previous knowledge course. The course allows different levels of depth; both can be used to acquire general knowledge about terrorism and counterterrorism, to elaborate on specific aspects, because it offers the student a varied and useful bibliography and recommended readings.

As far as the platform is concerned, it is very intuitive and easy to handle, even an online course.

My feeling has been to meet not only the vastness of the subject, the platform can be part of the course and the ability to communicate through forums with students sharing concerns and seek solutions.

It's an easy course to follow although it online because it is well structured and has a good organization.

This does not mean that the course is exceeded without hard work, as the estimated 5/6 hours a week of dedication is pretty accurate.It is not the typical course online almost testimonial. You have to work hard if you want to get a good result.

So maybe it's the most rewarding thing I have done. From what I have learned and by the possibilities I see this field.

It has also been rewarding by Professor Dr. Edwin Baker and his team for their skill and dedication, they have been tremendously didactic. If it were not for them, I would not have been able to finish. And fellow students from all countries, from forums and debates that have exposed enriching opinions. Thanks to all.

von Kris K D A

Sep 05, 2016

Este Curso es una introducción ordenada al tema. Con perspectivas interdisciplinarias. Y otorga a quién lo estudia la posibilidad de profundizar posteriormente de forma individual, el aspecto que más le interese.

Además el profesor Edwin Bakker está interesado por las diversas perspectivas según especialidades de los estudiantes. Lo cual además de interesante para una cuestión tan difícil de definir como es el Terrorismo. Es por mi parte una postura necesaria para entender mejor este fenómeno tan presente meditaticamente para la mayoría y presencial lamentablemente, para otros. Pero que ya se ha convertido en un tema de interés general.

Por mi parte no me quedas más que agradecer a la Universidad de Leiden y al Profesor Bakker por hacer accesible al público en general, un estudio tan importante como este.

von Mauricio A T L

Nov 16, 2015

El curso es excelente, sin embargo la calificación es desastrosa. Coursera debería crear un sistema distinto de calificaciones para no depender el "buen ánimo" de nuestros compañeros de clase. Tuve inconvenientes con la presentación de mi trabajo escrito dado que no hablo inglés y tuve que recurrir a traductores y a mi poco conocimiento en la escritura del idioma para finalizar mi ensayo. El resultado fue que muchas personas no entendieron bien mi trabajo y me han calificado con la nota más baja. Eso hace que el esfuerzo y el intelecto de personas que no escriben en inglés (pero que si pueden entenderlo), se vea afectado y no sea reconocido. Espero que puedan idear otra forma de evaluación más pertinente y acorde con las necesidades de los estudiantes.

von Chi L

Oct 20, 2016

Highly informative and engaging course!

von Horacio L

Nov 28, 2015

Well shaped course. I can follow along without getting bored easily. Very useful and insightful into today's issues with terrorism.

von Yannick G

Mar 16, 2016

Interesting, well thought, broad and deep, a must for anyone interested in the topic.

von Renato F d R

Jul 01, 2017

Very interesting. Excelent teachers.

von Kevin A H

Sep 13, 2015

This course, which delves into the minds of the experts, can expand your knowledge into what's really happening, not just the opinions of the media. Further, it goes deep into the 'why' in a world only interested in the 'who' and 'where'.

von Rajema G M V

Oct 18, 2016

Very informative. Highly recommended to everyone! Can`t wait for the updates.

von Roberto D S

Aug 26, 2015

Very interesting