Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,252 Bewertungen
547 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 529 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Kevin D C G

Aug 24, 2015

i think that topics like these are really interesting and for me is important that people know and understand what and why is happening this in the world

von Nathalie F S

May 31, 2018

This course was extremely challenging, but it definitely opened my eyes up to the world of terrorism, and I definitely recommend this course to anybody.

von Colleen N

Dec 16, 2015

An excellent course that gave me some great ideas for my dissertation on A Comparison of Public Support for Moderate and Extreme Terrorism. Thank you.

von Benjamin E

Aug 12, 2015

I really like the professor, i like the course and i like how he presents it - one of the best online courses i've joined so far! Thank you very much!

von Belem E M

Apr 14, 2018

Im a Criminologist graduate and I really learn lots of interesting things about terrorism and counterterrorism that make me growth as a professional.

von Emma B

Oct 03, 2015

Excellent course with absolutely no political bias whatsoever. Very well planned and delivered with excellent insights and well-rounded viewpoints.

von Ignasi I

Oct 21, 2016

Excellent introduction & exploration in the analysis of terrorism & counterterrorism. The course also provides interesting readings. Recommended!

von Miriam S

Apr 03, 2018

Easy to follow, very enlightening course. Highly recommended to get an academic understanding of terrorims and refrain from reiterating myths.

von Mamane H

Aug 01, 2017

it is the most valuable course in my view. it is so practical in its approach towards terrorism and counterterrorism. very much Prof Edwin Ba

von Miriam A C d l C

Jun 09, 2017

Excellent Course! you can understand the conflicts and the highlights on the press, thanks to the theory about terrorism and counterterorrism

von Ajay P

Aug 14, 2015

An excellent course with rich pedagogy and informed insight into terrorism and counter-terrorism. Easily one of the best courses on Coursera.

von Marcus B

Aug 30, 2017

Extensive and deep course with great discussion from a non-military viewpoint - very well presented and managed to build strong engagement.

von Jose O

Aug 13, 2017

Excelente calidad y dedicacion de los instructores en el tema. Un curso de calidad y contenido que recomiendo a los interesados en el tema.

von LUIS F E I

Aug 19, 2019

Me Pareció muy importante este curso, ya que brinda grandes herramientas para entender el estudio del terrorismo de una manera mas Global.

von William G P

Mar 09, 2016

Great course, really helps get a firm grasp on the concept of defining terrorism in context to regional conflict and sociological climate.

von Iris S

Aug 15, 2015

For those of you who want to have a better insight about terrorism and counter-terrorism..Already welcome to all the new fellow students..

von JAVIER P L

Aug 27, 2016

Excelente mooc. Se mantienen actualizado. Permite formarse una idea más clara respecto de lo que es el terrorismo y el contra-terrorismo.

von Petrus J M C

Oct 09, 2018

Very interesting! I would suggest to non-native speakers, take into account a bit more time then the recommended time for the readings.

von Jeffrey N

Nov 07, 2016

This was a very well put together class! It had so much to offer and really brought a major slew of terrorism studies to the forefront.

von Titos D

Nov 01, 2016

I took this course when ISIS was starting to better understand the current world issues, I ended up learning much more than I expected.

von Vitor S L

Feb 20, 2019

As an introductory course, the lessons were an enriching experience. I hope there will be subsequent courses at a more advanced level!

von eman m b

Jul 11, 2017

Thank you. The course was very useful and contemporary in the information it provided about current events in the international arena.

von Susana T S

Aug 15, 2015

Love this couse, love how explain things.

The best is that is open all the time and i can go to school, work and then take this course.

von Annesha K G

Aug 18, 2015

Very useful course. Instructor is very good. They way instructor taught is simple & very helpful. Thank you for this friendly course.

von Ernesto L G G

Dec 10, 2019

Es un Excelente curso que atiende problemas actuales con información veraz y con alto sentido reflexivo que promueve el aprendizaje