Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,632 Bewertungen
636 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 616 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Vojtěch K

31. Aug. 2018

Quality course for those who want to know and understand the basics about terrorism, counter-terrorism, pros and cons of studying these phenomena, and foreign fighters as well.

von Maria K

5. Sep. 2015

One of the best courses ever. Enjoyed the Structural Architecture of each module, term analysis, supplementary reading material, polls, even transcripts.

Thank You very much!

von GENESSI S J

4. Juni 2019

Great! It was one of the best distance learning courses I ever did. The working platform, with interactive videos and memorizing exercises, was very good.

Congratulations!

von Dean S W

18. Sep. 2015

This course is by far the most professional, extensive online MOOC course I have ever had the pleasure to take. I look forward to continuing my studies in Terrorism and CT.

von Dennis V

17. März 2019

An excellent course and the lecturer is outstanding! The course gave me the opportunity to better understand the horrors of terrorism and the possibilities against terror.

von Jen

16. Nov. 2016

This class was very informative and gave balance to the sensationalistic reporting of the media. I think the world would be a better place if more people took this course.

von Mohamed S

10. Sep. 2016

Loved the time I spent studying this course, if I was going to evaluate it on terms of the title sayings "it's all and more"

How is it more? I am already hungry for more :D

von Jesus R

25. Nov. 2015

Really deep, complete. The efforts of the creators can be seen at first view. Congratulations to Dr. Bakker for the clases and the lectures. The best course I've ever had!

von Rodrigo L F S

22. Sep. 2018

Excelente curso, permite adquirir nuevos conocimientos, sobre todo para Autoridades de Estado, como para funcionarios publicos encargados de la Seguridad Publica Nacional

von mehdi m

27. Sep. 2016

it's very wonderful to share this great mooc with academic people like you really i learned more ideas and it gives me a big power to continue this studies thank you .

von Yannick M

4. Okt. 2016

Thank you for this extensive and very accessible overview of the field of terrorism studies. I particularly appreciated the variety of recommended articles and sources.

von Iryna R

9. Aug. 2016

The Course is really good. The presentation is intense and clearly structured. I would specifically emphasize the quality of the required and recommended reading lists.

von Irina K

6. Juli 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! Great material and excellent lectures, would highly recommend for anyone interested in the topics of terrorism and counter-terrorism.

von Josh S

18. Feb. 2016

This course was very informative and helped to solidify the knowledge that I had coming into the course. I would recommend this course to anyone from novice to expert.

von Erin K C

5. Feb. 2017

This is a truly amazing course! It's hard to believe that I learned more in this free course than my terrorism course for mu undergraduate degree in criminal justice.

von Edgar J O d l R

21. Sep. 2015

I enjoyed a lot this curse, I learn many things I didn't know before I take it, I bought the book, and really it was helped me a lot. Congratulations for a great job.

von Margaret M

22. Nov. 2020

This course was extremely helpful in allowing me to learn important critical thinking skills, history, and policy analysis. All of the course material was engaging

von Agnes F

2. Sep. 2019

Thank you for this course. It was very interesting and informative. As a second-year student in college, I seriously started thinking about going into this field.

von Nancy J C

9. Feb. 2016

Insightful, well delivered, excellent resources and recommended readings - very professional and thorough. In particular the lectures are meticulously structured.

von Arjun S

27. Sep. 2020

An excellent course with great insight into the field. It is well-suited not only to experts, students and policymakers; but, most of all, to the active citizen.

von Mohamed B

19. März 2020

Lovely course for both beginners and experienced students and practitioners of terrorism and counter-terrorism studies. Would definitely recommend this course!

von Cristina M

14. Nov. 2017

Very well structured.

Information-wise very wide and interesting, very recommendable if you come from political science, war studies or international relations.

von Moses K B B

22. Nov. 2015

Superb! After six weeks, I've survived and of course enjoyed the readings and lectures. I've learned a lot in this course. Thank you Professor Bakker and team.

von Samuel O S

3. Aug. 2020

Excellent course. Rich content, great lecturer, good mix of video, reading, interaction, quizzes and assignments. I can't wait to move onto Cybersecurity next!

von William W

27. Juni 2020

An interesting and in-depth course that covers a good range of material, with a wealth of interesting and informative readings to support the lecture material.