Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,493 Bewertungen
599 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 581 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Miriam S

Apr 03, 2018

Easy to follow, very enlightening course. Highly recommended to get an academic understanding of terrorims and refrain from reiterating myths.

von Mamane H

Aug 01, 2017

it is the most valuable course in my view. it is so practical in its approach towards terrorism and counterterrorism. very much Prof Edwin Ba

von Miriam A C d l C

Jun 09, 2017

Excellent Course! you can understand the conflicts and the highlights on the press, thanks to the theory about terrorism and counterterorrism

von Ajay P

Aug 14, 2015

An excellent course with rich pedagogy and informed insight into terrorism and counter-terrorism. Easily one of the best courses on Coursera.

von Marcus B

Aug 30, 2017

Extensive and deep course with great discussion from a non-military viewpoint - very well presented and managed to build strong engagement.

von Jose O

Aug 13, 2017

Excelente calidad y dedicacion de los instructores en el tema. Un curso de calidad y contenido que recomiendo a los interesados en el tema.

von LUIS F E I

Aug 19, 2019

Me Pareció muy importante este curso, ya que brinda grandes herramientas para entender el estudio del terrorismo de una manera mas Global.

von William G P

Mar 09, 2016

Great course, really helps get a firm grasp on the concept of defining terrorism in context to regional conflict and sociological climate.

von Iris S

Aug 15, 2015

For those of you who want to have a better insight about terrorism and counter-terrorism..Already welcome to all the new fellow students..

von JAVIER P L

Aug 27, 2016

Excelente mooc. Se mantienen actualizado. Permite formarse una idea más clara respecto de lo que es el terrorismo y el contra-terrorismo.

von Petrus J M C

Oct 09, 2018

Very interesting! I would suggest to non-native speakers, take into account a bit more time then the recommended time for the readings.

von Jeffrey N

Nov 07, 2016

This was a very well put together class! It had so much to offer and really brought a major slew of terrorism studies to the forefront.

von Titos D

Nov 01, 2016

I took this course when ISIS was starting to better understand the current world issues, I ended up learning much more than I expected.

von Fernando H L N

Jun 10, 2020

Excelente curso! Impecable análisis académico de la historia, actualidad y futuro del Terrorismo y Contraterrorismo. Muy recomendable!

von Vitor S L

Feb 20, 2019

As an introductory course, the lessons were an enriching experience. I hope there will be subsequent courses at a more advanced level!

von eman m b

Jul 11, 2017

Thank you. The course was very useful and contemporary in the information it provided about current events in the international arena.

von Susana T S

Aug 15, 2015

Love this couse, love how explain things.

The best is that is open all the time and i can go to school, work and then take this course.

von Annesha K G

Aug 18, 2015

Very useful course. Instructor is very good. They way instructor taught is simple & very helpful. Thank you for this friendly course.

von Ignacio V F

Jul 01, 2020

Excelente curso. Muy bien estructurado y permite acercarse a los estudios de Violencia Política desde la mirada de los terrorismos.

von Ernesto L G G

Dec 10, 2019

Es un Excelente curso que atiende problemas actuales con información veraz y con alto sentido reflexivo que promueve el aprendizaje

von Horacio L

Nov 28, 2015

Well shaped course. I can follow along without getting bored easily. Very useful and insightful into today's issues with terrorism.

von Fernando M

Dec 03, 2015

Great! Openminded and a place where you can learn things from different areas, such a geography, history o sociology... Weel done!

von Valentina P S C

Oct 03, 2017

Excelente curso, te da las nociones basicas que se deben tener sobre el terrorismo tanto en la actualidad como en su historia.

von Diean I D R

Aug 12, 2016

This is a wonderful course. I obtained all the knowledge necessary to start working in this field of International Relations.

von Daniil B

Apr 07, 2020

Very interesting and deep course. It dramaticly changed my view on terrorism and the study of terrorism. Strongly recommend!