Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
2,213 Bewertungen
540 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 522 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Maira R

Jun 18, 2018

amazing

von Francisco R L L

Oct 29, 2017

very good

von dimitrakou a

Mar 25, 2018

Excellent course, with very good extra material. The lectures were easy to follow and comprehendable even for someone with absolutely no background in the topic. Thank you very much.

von Arnaud S

Mar 21, 2018

A very insightful course, providing an academic approach to historical and current events. The course addresses a wide range of topics , it questions assumptions, and it provides new perspectives on terrorism. I highly recommend it!

von Anna M S

Apr 11, 2018

Excellent course and highly recommended to all!

von Annabelle M

Apr 13, 2018

Very useful course !

von Katharina G

May 12, 2017

Interesting, Encouraging and Fun to do! Each week gave a better insight into different areas and provide a wide and good understanding of Terrorism and Counter Terrorism Concepts. Amazing reading list and access to papers. It was a ple

von Peter J

Jun 21, 2017

This well-organized course is presented in a series relatively short and focused video segments that are devoted to aspects of its half dozen or so major themes. Professor Bakker's lectures in each of those videos are clear, thorough and deceptively simple. One realizes in retrospect that Bakker has not only smoothly covered major theoretical issues about terrorism but he has also woven considerable historical detail as well as some academic controversy into the overall narrative. An important strength is that Dr. Bakker is careful to promote objectivity as he discusses point after point, but he is not shy about offering his opinion, particularly concerning the many controversial matters that come up. However, he is always entirely candid about his position when he does so, and that candor reinforces the scholarly tenor of the entire course. This is a valuable entry into a subject of great contemporary relevance, confusion, and need for sound policy-making; it will help to enhance one's ability to come to rational judgments about how terrorism can be understood and responded to.

von Sohyeon P

Aug 09, 2017

It helps me a lot to understand why terrorism happens and how to deal with these problems.

von Narges M

Jun 04, 2017

Easy to follow, great video's by Prof. Bakker. It really challenges me to think further than what i can see on the news or read in the general news papers. This course makes me understand where terrorism is coming from and why people are doing it. Absolutely great. I wish other universities would do the same for their courses.

von Alejandro E A

Jun 20, 2017

A well-rounded and properly structured course that serves as an ideal introduction, albeit with considerable depth, to terrorism and counter-terrorism studies.

von Christos S

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent course. You learn the basics about terrorism and counter terrorism.

von Ivan P

Oct 28, 2017

Great course! You'll learn a lot!

von Sergio G C

Jun 08, 2018

Absolutely accurate and a well-done introductory course. Great Job!

von Eric H

Jun 16, 2018

This course is simply AMAZING! Wish they had more and that one could pursue a degree via distance learning.

von Anatolii S

May 14, 2017

Dear sirs and madams! Thank you very much for this interesting and useful course. It contains a lot of information and reading materials which help to get deeper understanding of phenomenon of terrorism. It helps to aproach to different acts of violence from different perspectives. Also for for those course participant whoes country is ivolved in some armed conflict it helps to get deeper and more attantive aproach to classification of people being involved in conflict and deal respectively with them.

von Rubí C

Jul 18, 2017

Muy bien explicado, facil de entender. Excelente curso para entender el terrorismo!

von James L

Oct 23, 2017

great course and has helped me learn answers to questions i

von Trenton S

Dec 31, 2017

Excellent course

von Claire D

Jun 11, 2017

Questions during the video lectures make it very interactive!

von ann d

Jun 29, 2017

excellent i am now better informed and feel able toaplly my learning to practice.

von Raul R M

May 31, 2017

I´d really prefer videos than readings.

von JIM B

Nov 21, 2017

Excellent course, well presented somewhat challenging which is exactly what I was looking for.

von Maria A

Oct 22, 2017

Thank you for the course, it was very interesting! Where I can find my certification of this course?

von Ioana M

Jan 01, 2018

Excellent course. I have just finished week 1 and started week 2. It's very well structured and I'm looking forward to learning new things in this field.