Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
2,213 Bewertungen
540 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 521 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Mayte V

Apr 27, 2017

Good teacher, objective approach, interesting, informative and enough material.

von Ricardo P A

Dec 22, 2015

Bom Dia

sou jornalista do terceiro site mais acessado do Brasil nas redes sócias na categoria geopolítica, o nome do meu site e Assuntos Militares ( www.assuntosmilitares.jor.br ) e minha 6 tentativa de finalizar esse curso, que seria de extrema importância a no meu currículo, mais infelizmente não estou conseguindo, gostaria de deixa registrado

Ricardo Pereira Azevedo

Journalist and Photographer

Site Assuntos Militares (Military Affairs)

Find us on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/assuntosmilitaresbr.

For additional information, visit our website at: www.assuntosmilitares.jor.br

Add our Twitter: https://twitter.com/AssuntoMilitar

Thank you for visiting our website, have a great day!

von margaret p

Sep 19, 2016

Excellent, timely information from a five star instructor.

von Felipe J J D C

May 14, 2017

Provides sufficient academic research material and coherent classes sticking strictly to the theme and even venturing to tips about further academic research

von Emma B

Oct 03, 2015

Excellent course with absolutely no political bias whatsoever. Very well planned and delivered with excellent insights and well-rounded viewpoints.

von Guy G

Feb 18, 2017

Love the class. Very informative. I just wish there were easier ways to prevent terrorism.

von choi h

Aug 13, 2016

Interesting course

von Miriam A C d l C

Jun 09, 2017

Excellent Course! you can understand the conflicts and the highlights on the press, thanks to the theory about terrorism and counterterorrism

von Pedro A B R

Jul 09, 2016

Excelente curso! Muy buen enfoque y contenido!

von Sarthak G

Sep 24, 2016

Really enjoyed the material. The videos were simple, especially for a beginner. This is the first course I completed online and the experience was really good. Prof. Bakker is an able instructor and the concepts were well explained. The tests were simple though. Most of them took only one or two attempts to pass. That counts as a positive by the way.

von Sohail N K

Mar 10, 2017

An excellent endeavour to highlight how we understand and counter terrorism today. It reinforces Jenkin's perspective that "Unless we think like a terrorist we are liable to miss the point". My congratulation to Dr Bakker , his team,and the university. BRAVO..

von Naveeda S

Nov 11, 2015

This course is very assertive, imparting a great amount of knowledge and very useful.

von Yannick M

Oct 04, 2016

Thank you for this extensive and very accessible overview of the field of terrorism studies. I particularly appreciated the variety of recommended articles and sources.

von German B

Nov 05, 2015

Solid foundational course!

von stefano c

Oct 05, 2015

Very interesting course. I found the reading material sources particularly relevant without exceeding unnecessary in quantity and issues. Professor Edwin Bakker didactic approach is especially suitable to my ideal concept of how a teacher should communicate with his/her audience. Together with Moral Foundations of Politics held by Professor Ian Shapiro, I would rate these two the most attractive and expectations matching courses I've ever come across online.

Thanks to Coursera, Leiden University and all the people who makes this miracle of quality online teaching for free ever possible.

Stefano

von Iryna R

Aug 09, 2016

The Course is really good. The presentation is intense and clearly structured. I would specifically emphasize the quality of the required and recommended reading lists.

von Mohamed S

Sep 11, 2016

Loved the time I spent studying this course, if I was going to evaluate it on terms of the title sayings "it's all and more"

How is it more? I am already hungry for more :D

von Adail n d s

Sep 17, 2015

Excellent course. Organized and with teaching materials of good quality.

von Edwin L M

Aug 24, 2017

EXCELENTE MATERIAL, MUY DIDÁCTICO CONTENIDO

von Richard K

Apr 05, 2017

Interesting compilation

von Sagnik G

Sep 08, 2015

An extremely informative and well designed course, I had a wonderful experience learning from Prof. dr. Bakker, his team and colleagues and all the guest scholars who gave their valuable time to this course. I think this curse is a shining example of the wonderful novelty of coursera in providing quality education to people literally across the globe!

It's been a pleasure doing this course and I recommend it to all my friends interested in this field and look forward to working on many other courses in the future!

von Martinlevac@gmail.com

Jan 05, 2018

This was my first course on Coursera. After completing the START course from the University of Maryland, I can say with confidence that this course is a much deeper look at the concepts of terrorism and counter-terrorism (vs analysis of data and statics from the GTD). The exams were harder but the level of understanding is also deeper than the START course. Also, Dr. Bakker is very engaging and interesting.

von Jason L

Jul 17, 2016

Professor Bakker knows his stuff when it comes to terrorism.

von ALEJANDRO M T

Oct 11, 2015

Es muy interesante, con bibliografía de alta calidad.

La calidad del curso es muy buena.

von Yann E

Aug 11, 2016

A course that challenges your vision about terrorism and the approaches to counter it