Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,632 Bewertungen
636 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ
20. Sep. 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 616 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Jose O

13. Aug. 2017

Excelente calidad y dedicacion de los instructores en el tema. Un curso de calidad y contenido que recomiendo a los interesados en el tema.

von Iris S

29. Sep. 2020

For those of you who want to have a better insight about terrorism and counter-terrorism..Already welcome to all the new fellow students..

von LUIS F E I

19. Aug. 2019

Me Pareció muy importante este curso, ya que brinda grandes herramientas para entender el estudio del terrorismo de una manera mas Global.

von William G P

8. März 2016

Great course, really helps get a firm grasp on the concept of defining terrorism in context to regional conflict and sociological climate.

von JAVIER P L

27. Aug. 2016

Excelente mooc. Se mantienen actualizado. Permite formarse una idea más clara respecto de lo que es el terrorismo y el contra-terrorismo.

von Petrus J M C

9. Okt. 2018

Very interesting! I would suggest to non-native speakers, take into account a bit more time then the recommended time for the readings.

von Jeffrey N

6. Nov. 2016

This was a very well put together class! It had so much to offer and really brought a major slew of terrorism studies to the forefront.

von Titos D

31. Okt. 2016

I took this course when ISIS was starting to better understand the current world issues, I ended up learning much more than I expected.

von Fernando H L N

10. Juni 2020

Excelente curso! Impecable análisis académico de la historia, actualidad y futuro del Terrorismo y Contraterrorismo. Muy recomendable!

von Vitor S L

20. Feb. 2019

As an introductory course, the lessons were an enriching experience. I hope there will be subsequent courses at a more advanced level!

von eman m b

11. Juli 2017

Thank you. The course was very useful and contemporary in the information it provided about current events in the international arena.

von Susana T S

15. Aug. 2015

Love this couse, love how explain things.

The best is that is open all the time and i can go to school, work and then take this course.

von Annesha K G

18. Aug. 2015

Very useful course. Instructor is very good. They way instructor taught is simple & very helpful. Thank you for this friendly course.

von Ignacio V F

1. Juli 2020

Excelente curso. Muy bien estructurado y permite acercarse a los estudios de Violencia Política desde la mirada de los terrorismos.

von Ernesto L G G

9. Dez. 2019

Es un Excelente curso que atiende problemas actuales con información veraz y con alto sentido reflexivo que promueve el aprendizaje

von Horacio L

28. Nov. 2015

Well shaped course. I can follow along without getting bored easily. Very useful and insightful into today's issues with terrorism.

von Fernando M

3. Dez. 2015

Great! Openminded and a place where you can learn things from different areas, such a geography, history o sociology... Weel done!

von Valentina P S C

3. Okt. 2017

Excelente curso, te da las nociones basicas que se deben tener sobre el terrorismo tanto en la actualidad como en su historia.

von Stanica E

8. Nov. 2020

It sets a solid ground for further research and motivates practicians to come closer and better communicate with researchers.

von Diean I D R

12. Aug. 2016

This is a wonderful course. I obtained all the knowledge necessary to start working in this field of International Relations.

von Derek T

15. Sep. 2020

A good introductory course for beginners, and a refresher and knowledge enhancement course for experienced CT practitioners.

von Daniil B

7. Apr. 2020

Very interesting and deep course. It dramaticly changed my view on terrorism and the study of terrorism. Strongly recommend!

von Henrik O

21. Aug. 2018

Super introduction to modern terrorism, with explanations to how LE and other institutions perceive and mitigate terrorists.

von Josh G

16. Juni 2017

Excellent course, incredibly interesting and really a very useful insight particularly with the way our world is currently

von Marietjie J

23. Okt. 2015

A most interesting and insightful course. The quizzes challenge the student, and give opportunity for individual thinking.