Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Music of the Beatles

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Music of the Beatles von University of Rochester

4.8
Sterne
691 Bewertungen
260 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Music of the Beatles will track the musical development of the band, starting from the earliest days in Liverpool and Hamburg, moving through the excitement of Beatlemania, the rush of psychedelia, and the maturity of Abbey Road. While the focus will be on the music, we will also consider how recording techniques, the music business, the music of other artists, and the culture of the 1960s affected John, Paul, George, and Ringo as they created the Beatles repertory. There is probably no band or artist that has had more written about their music than the Beatles. There are many good books on the band's biography, several insider accounts offering glimpses behind the scenes, books that interpret the meaning of the songs, and even books that catalog dates and people regarding the band. This course will try to synthesize much of that information into an account of the Beatles' development as musicians and songwriters....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

12. Juni 2020

Great class. For someone who grew up listening to the Beatles (thank you, Mom!), I learned things I did not know and will listen to the songs with a different appreciation and approach. Thank you!!!!

JC

13. Aug. 2020

I really enjoyed the course, including the side stories. I only wish that there was no problem with copyright infringement and all so one can listen to the songs as they are being discussed.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 258 Bewertungen für The Music of the Beatles

von Helen T

20. Nov. 2017

I enjoyed the course although the lack of being able to listen to the actual songs because of copyright was a bit disappointing. I did find the transcripts contained many spelling errors - Beetles, The Monkeys (Monkees), ten pan alley (Tin Pan Alley etc). Overall though a very enjoyable discussion on the music of the Beatles and side notes on the roles of Brian Epstein, George Martin etc.

von mike

29. Okt. 2017

The pacing of the course is uneven. It is quite light in the beginning to get you going and then get much heavier near the end. The quizzes are simple and very difficult to fail. As long as you keep notes that you can review you'll be fine. I do have a better understanding of Beatles music after taking this course. It would be nice to have media included but I understand why it isn't.

von Fernando C S

12. Juli 2020

I didn't think that a course whitout any music could be insteresting and actually the main reason to continue was "The Beatles". How wrong I was.

Mr. Covach let me say congratulations it's a beatiful course. You're very sensible about all "The Beatles" atmosphere. Thank you so much.

I'm recommend this course for anyone who wants to get deep in The Beatles Music and life.

von Amin

11. Sep. 2020

Always a pleasure learning with Professor Covach. I learned a lot and I'm even hungry to learn more with this awesome instructor! The sound quality was a bit rusty in some sessions and Professor Covach was a bit concerned about the copy right issues more than usual. But in the end I don't regret a second spending on this course and learning.

von Joe R G

19. Nov. 2016

An excellent overview of the Fab Four's career, with a focus on the songwriting. It would be better if the real music and lyrics could be used and if there were more video and anecdotes incorporated into the storytelling (even if it wasn't the Beatles themselves, but other voices lending their thoughts).

von Diego T

31. März 2017

Un curso sobre la música de THE BEATLES sin apartes musicales o de video se torna aburrido en algunas lecciones ya que tiene el estudiante que cambiar de página web (sea you tube, spotify etc.) para escuchar las canciones y entender las explicaciones que el profesor detallaba.

En contenido excelente.

von Julia M T

22. Sep. 2017

I would have loved to see pictures or accompanying video (but I understand there are copyright laws as discussed in the beginning... It is a shame that it couldn't be used for educational purposes though hehe. Good thing I have all the Beatles music at hand anyways.)

von Jim R

16. Apr. 2018

Muy buen curso, aprendí bastante y logré dimensionar el avance la música a través de la experiencia de los Beatles. Me hubiese gustado oír un poco más en cuanto al trabajo de George Martin o Geoff Emerick, pero en general el curso está genial!

von Mark B

18. Feb. 2022

I'm an amateur Beatles scholar and history buff. This course was a nice review of the history of the Beatles. Some of the information was erroneous or outdated, but all in all I found the course quite enjoyable.

von Dave U

5. März 2021

The course is definitely impacted negatively by the complete absence of Beatles music and by the inability of the instructor to state any of the lyrics. But the instructor is very good.

von Dwight H

15. Feb. 2021

Very good history of the Beatles and their style of music.

A little more about the Beatles lives and their travel dates over the years would have been added interest.

von Jaime R

1. Nov. 2019

Excellent course, maybe it should go deeper in composition, beside the analysis of form. Harmony for instance. Thanks a lot, it was a thrill.

von Ewan K

29. Juli 2017

Had lots of fun, great course. Good insight into the history of the Beatles, now I can enjoy the albums in a new light, Thank you Professor.

von Kay F

13. Mai 2021

Some information does get complicated. While I understand about copyright laws, it's a shame we couldn't listen to examples. Thank you.

von Fok s k

1. Nov. 2016

The course is great and it helps me in understanding and appreciating their music.

von Evelyn G

10. Feb. 2018

Muy interesante, en especial para quienes amamos la música de los Beatles.

von Heather M

30. Apr. 2018

Very interesting course, especially if you are interested in the Beatles.

von Felipe R

17. Apr. 2016

Buen curso, bien detallado y organizado. Muy bueno.

von Laura A A T

9. Sep. 2020

Hace falta escuchar fragmentos de la música

von Luc L

21. Dez. 2016

Really enjoyed learning about The Beatles

von Antonio R M

16. Apr. 2017

Muy interesante

von Sokrates V

26. Aug. 2015

That was great!

von Jose C P

24. Mai 2017

muy bueno

von Todd S V

5. Sep. 2018

The course was ok. For a free (or $50) course that is based on True False and Multiple Guess questions drawn from the instructor's videos, it isn't bad. Regrettably, with all the music, reference materials, etc. out there, the course could be so much better! No true, required discussion forums, no research, no papers, no essay questions. The recommended reading materials are an excellent foundation. Too bad they aren't needed for the course (as everything is predicated on the videos). Perhaps University of Rochester (or some other Coursera community center of learning) could offer something a bit more thought provoking and educationally stimulating for "advanced" Beatles Fans? Peace and Love.

von Chingiz S

14. Juni 2016

Apparently, the instructor is well-informed in the history of the band.

Nevertheless, information is delivered in a huge portions, sometimes cluttered and it s easy to lost in the narrative.

Sound quality is bad (the volume is jumping sometimes and there is a lot of noise)

May I suggest that you provide a short arts of songs you are talking about?

I understand, there are copyright issues, but still, something should be done about it.

All in all, I wish to enroll in the second, improved release of this course