Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Music of the Beatles

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Music of the Beatles von University of Rochester

4.8
Sterne
691 Bewertungen
260 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Music of the Beatles will track the musical development of the band, starting from the earliest days in Liverpool and Hamburg, moving through the excitement of Beatlemania, the rush of psychedelia, and the maturity of Abbey Road. While the focus will be on the music, we will also consider how recording techniques, the music business, the music of other artists, and the culture of the 1960s affected John, Paul, George, and Ringo as they created the Beatles repertory. There is probably no band or artist that has had more written about their music than the Beatles. There are many good books on the band's biography, several insider accounts offering glimpses behind the scenes, books that interpret the meaning of the songs, and even books that catalog dates and people regarding the band. This course will try to synthesize much of that information into an account of the Beatles' development as musicians and songwriters....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

12. Juni 2020

Great class. For someone who grew up listening to the Beatles (thank you, Mom!), I learned things I did not know and will listen to the songs with a different appreciation and approach. Thank you!!!!

JC

13. Aug. 2020

I really enjoyed the course, including the side stories. I only wish that there was no problem with copyright infringement and all so one can listen to the songs as they are being discussed.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 258 Bewertungen für The Music of the Beatles

von gouvakov

27. März 2022

Highly recommended!

von Luis C P D l R

26. Sep. 2015

Incredible course!

von Margie E

17. Sep. 2020

Fantastic course!

von Stefan O

30. Nov. 2015

Very interesting!

von Olga

29. Sep. 2015

Very intersing!!

von Eduardo R D C

6. Feb. 2016

Great Course!!!

von Roberto A G S

20. Apr. 2020

Excelente.....

von Sergio

9. Aug. 2016

Great teacher!

von Hortensia J D

28. Mai 2017

Great course!

von t.s.hamilton@outlook.com

26. Mai 2017

Great course!

von Anatolii B

1. Dez. 2016

Great course!

von José L S

25. März 2021

gorgeous !!!

von Ronald S

5. Sep. 2016

Great Course

von Jean-Pierre G

13. Nov. 2021

good course

von Daniel A A V

7. Jan. 2017

Excellent!

von Solange G B

30. Nov. 2016

I love It.

von Barbara K A

4. Sep. 2017

Excellent

von Chris N T

5. Apr. 2021

Amazing!

von Marieht J

12. Dez. 2020

Very fun

von Hai y

8. Juni 2018

TQ

von Jose J D

29. Dez. 2016

U

von Sandra G

27. Nov. 2015

E

von Bill M

5. Nov. 2019

I was 17 in 1963 and had just started playing guitar in a band with friends in Glasgow, Scotland, UK. Before the release of Love Me Do we pretty much copied Cliff Richard and the Shadows who were the big thing in the UK at that time. Love Me Do smouldered in the charts but Please Please Me led to an explosion. We were in the 2nd front row of the stalls at the Glasgow Odeon for the Beatles 1964 winter tour which consisted of a number of acts culminating with the Beatles who were on for about 20 minutes. I've never experienced anything like it -- pure hysteria and that was just the men!! We couldn't hear a thing above the screaming -- they could have been singing anything.I enjoyed this course having lived through the times myself. I enjoyed John's style and found him to be thoughtful, informative and pretty accurate for an American who presumably only became aware of the Beatles after the Ed Sullivan Show. The only real weakness is no music and no lyrics. Now Beatles music is freely available on iTunes surely Universities can negotiate the ability to include this in their courses.

Best wishes from Bill Murray

von Alejandro R T

5. März 2021

Hi, first of all thanks to Prof. Covach for your actions towards spreading knowledge about The Beatles and his contribution to human culure. As a mexican that always lived in Mexico , i grew up listening to then and, such as Prof. KOvach said, when someone ask me how or where i learnt english my answer always is " John Paul, George and Ringo". I know some maybe dissapointed about a lack of a deeper analysis on the music but for me, as a begginer musician with basic knowledge it was great, opened my eyes and expanded my ears to understand how songs and album are constructed. Wonderful experience

von Susan E B

21. Nov. 2017

The instructor was clearly enthusiastic, but was sometimes difficult to follow; so, I usually read the transcriptions as he spoke. I found him to be jumping from one topic to another often enough that I found it distracting and disruptive to the flow of the lesson (i.e., saying, something such as "but I'll come back to that later" and so on). Despite this, I found this to be a really interesting course and enjoyed learning things I did not know, and being reminded of those things and the songs, that I did know. Thanks!