Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
Sterne
137 Bewertungen
42 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry is an adaptation of an on-campus course that has been co-taught by Murray Baumgarten, Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature (Literature Department), and Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus (History Department), for over 20 years at UC Santa Cruz. In this course, you will explore the Holocaust from the overlapping perspectives of literature and history—through memoirs, historical documents, poetry, documentary footage, filmic representations, and novels. You will expand your knowledge of the literature of the Holocaust, Eastern and Western European Jewish communities, the origins and development of antisemitism, the establishment of labor and extermination camps, resistance movements, and the Holocaust as a problem for world history. There is more than one way to take this course: You can complete all of the activities (and earn a Verified Certificate) or only the activities that are most interesting to you. Whatever you choose to do, we encourage you to find a havruta (a study partner) in your community or in the Coursera community so that you can experience the course in a more interactive and meaningful way....

Top-Bewertungen

SB

Aug 28, 2019

Lots of work, only 3 short papers, but lots of reading. Very interesting and enjoyable. Really went into depth with lots of history and literature discussed. Informative lectures.

RK

Nov 09, 2015

I want to say how much I especially enjoyed Dr Kenez and his very clear and concise lectures on the historical aspects of the subject matter. Thank you very much. Richard Kilgore

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 42 Bewertungen für The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry

von Miroslaw C

Sep 21, 2015

Course lacks wider and real socio-political context of the XIX and XX century Central and Eastern Europe. Additionally, it is full of statements that are not supported by the historical facts.

von Jasskirat S

Jul 23, 2017

No guidance terrible course, not user-friendly wouldn't recommend this to anyone such a waste of time and money

von David H

Nov 29, 2017

I found this course very informative and followed a logical pattern. I knew a lot of the history of the Holocaust but never really thought of it the way the Professors present it and get us to explore the whys and hows. All the true facts are there and can't be denied even though there are those who live with the denial. To explore the Holocaust through witnesses, survivors, etc puts a whole new perspective on things. To understand Nazi Ideology and all it's lunacy was a true eye opener as I've dealt with more of the battles and always thought of the Holocaust as it happened and that was that. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and hope to find more or similar ones in the near future.

Just as a note, recently found out my ancestry probably goes back to the Ukraine, Jewish and family name of Lipsitz as in the lesson. Raised Roman Catholic but the family knew there were secrets which our father for some reason never divulged before his death in 1990, nor did our mother say anything even up to her demise in 2014. Interesting and now my personal investigation continues for the truth and the whys and hows also.

Thanks for an enjoyable time and take care.

von William C

Feb 13, 2016

This course is extraordinary. The 2 professors who present the material are both experts in their respective areas: Holocaust history and Comparative Literature. They present the material not only from a profound academic understanding, they are both children of the Holocaust. And so they convey the material in a deeply personal and human way as well. Using the Holocaust as a momentous backdrop, the professors challenge the students to examine important philosophical questions throughout the course. The books and movies discussed are absolutely wonderful. Finally, the relationship between Murray and Peter, that of deep trust and respect, contrast so powerfully with the inhumanity of the topic they present. This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken in my life, including my time during college.

von Clive C W

Oct 07, 2016

Sensitive and erudite double-handed presentation by the two profs. Informative - it is of course meant to be educational.

From separate perspectives of literature and history they maintain an engaging tension that avoids personalisation whilst being clear that personal it really is.

I really could do with them supervising me as Phd student (an elderly on). I would sit happily at their feet.

von S. J W

Oct 28, 2015

The historical lectures were marvelous; the literature lectures only a little less so. But the most enjoyable was both extremely knowledgable professors.

If you want to truly understand the myriad background, the Nazi psychology and insanity, the witness of those who suffered the most, and the in-depth story of the Holocaust, this is an outstanding academic experience.

von Diane N

Sep 02, 2015

So far this course is fantastic. I have taken classes on this subject before however, the personal touches and the passion of both professors is contagious !! I recommend that all high school and secondary students should take this course, lest we forget and repeat these atrocities. Thank you both for a fascinating look at a terrible time in history!!

von JOHN Q

Sep 09, 2015

Great course divided by two gentlemen professors who lived through the era with personal experience. I loved the division of literature sources and historical events which knitted together harmoniously, and I liked also the lectures tremendously. Thanks. Dr John Quincy, BS, MBA, MLA, DDS, (+104 Coursera Courses and counting).

von María T M

Jan 28, 2020

This Course makes me feels responsible of my position to stand up for my Jewish friends, Jewish brothers, Jewish ancestors and also for victims now and around the world. I feel compromised to stop any form of injustice or antisemitism and spread the voice. THANKS FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE SUCH A WONDERFUL LEARNING MATERIAL

von Jorge E M A

Feb 28, 2016

One of the greatest experiences of my life in knowledge, is a course of self-improvement, faith, clinching my admiration for the Jews. If the intention of the perpetrators of the Holocaust is to deny the Shoah with terrifying acts that can not be talked, this course detracts the intention very high.

von Barbara J T

Oct 31, 2015

Even though I didn't write the papers for a certificate, this course was interesting and valuable. I have taken two other Holocaust courses, one historical and one film and literature; this course was the best of both and more.

Thank you to Peter and Murray for all of their insight and knowledge.

von Derik B

Nov 26, 2015

This is a very great course that the global community must have access too and study the

political and historic reasons that led to the horrors of the Holocaust.

Please keep this course available for study permanently on Coursera.

Thank you.

von Colleen P

Jan 25, 2016

It was very interesting learning about the holocaust from two different perspectives. I also thought the selection of books, movies and other learning devices were very important in learning about the holocaust.

von Sherrye B

Aug 28, 2019

Lots of work, only 3 short papers, but lots of reading. Very interesting and enjoyable. Really went into depth with lots of history and literature discussed. Informative lectures.

von Richard K

Nov 09, 2015

I want to say how much I especially enjoyed Dr Kenez and his very clear and concise lectures on the historical aspects of the subject matter. Thank you very much. Richard Kilgore

von Esther C S

Sep 29, 2015

i have took before courses about the holocaut but this was remarkably different and so very interesting!

professors are both incredible and i loved how they expose the subject

von Bikram B

Nov 06, 2015

The presentations raise vital questions , dis-aggregates historical experience and has generated interest in me to study the issues further . Many thanks to the Professors.

von Julia B

Mar 05, 2017

Took this course for job purposes. It is great for everyone, although I believe that people with some background in comparative literature will benefit from it the most,

von Kim N

Jun 20, 2016

Dark and disturbing though the course material is, this course is an absolute must for all who are interested in the Shoah and the depths of mans' inhumanity.

von Lisa L R

Jul 20, 2017

Absolutely adored this class and the instructors!! So much valuable information and first-hand experience, delightfully delivered in these special lectures.

von Sarah M

Nov 26, 2015

This was very interesting, I had to keep listening, it made it so personal. (I had relatives who perished in Minsk) Excellent course and fascinating tutors.

von Laura D G

Oct 16, 2015

Thank you! Wonderful course, marvellous teachers. Everybody should study european history has much as we did during these lectures. I'll miss it.

von Rochelle K

Sep 23, 2015

This was an excellent historical account of the Holocaust. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and personal accounts of this event.

von Gemma W

Oct 28, 2015

I found this course extremely informative. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a detailed history on the Holocaust.

von Jesús M G F

Oct 12, 2015

Great course. I have learn a lot. Thank you a lot to Professors Kenez and Baumgarten and all the staff from Coursera