Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Science of Well-Being

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Science of Well-Being von Yale University

4.9
Sterne
18,640 Bewertungen
7,065 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Top-Bewertungen

JH

Jun 06, 2020

I couldn't have asked for a better class to be offered during this time. Got to learn a lot about myself and why I think or do certain things without even thinking about it. Thank you for this course!

GK

Jun 03, 2019

I have taken a dozen courses online. This is the most challenging and fulfilling course I have taken so far. And I believe that the course shall be beneficial to all people in different walks of life.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 7,116 Bewertungen für The Science of Well-Being

von Roberta R

Jun 10, 2020

I found this course well organised and well presented. I loved how the instructor relates to the students and the public at large. I enjoyed listening to her and actually would have loved even a bit more lecturing time from Lori who I found extremely relatable and unassuming yet so knowledgeable.

The one minor thing I would improve on is the use of "like' in the conversation, mostly from the students but also from Lori. I find that a bit distracting...and I am also aware that it is probably a sign of my being older...in any case, I thought I would point it out as constructive feedback.

Well done Lori and I look forward to you running more courses as I think you are a spectacular teacher.

Thanks very much for giving me the opportunity to participate! R

von Connie S H

May 09, 2020

Wow. Just wow. This course changed my life.

In February 2020, I quit smoking after 26 years (it is a very depressing process). Three weeks later, I got fired from my Executive-level job. Two weeks after that, I was home-bound by the pandemic. I was having panic attacks pretty much 24/7.

I started the class with little hope--not that I had hope in anything. But, I have a Master of Arts degree in Counseling Psychology, so obviously I believe in mental health.

The change wasn't immediate, but once I started the rewirement process, it all took hold. I read three of the books that were referenced in the course-FLOW, Stumbling upon Happiness, and Mindset. These also helped solidify the information in my mind.

Thank you. I plan to work on getting happier and happier!

von christina d

Jun 08, 2020

Extremely glad to have found & enrolled on this course, It has been amazing learning , reinforcing & practicing various habits , specifically the rewirements. The possibilities & the things that we can do to mindfully look after our wellbeing & happiness. The practice of gratitude, kindness,savoring, social connections, sleep, meditation & discovering our signature strengths. Most importantly, measuring our happiness before & after the course, & the evaluation of the actual wellbeing have answered why this course is called the Science of Well-Being. Thank you, Coursera, Professor Santos, all the resource persons who have been valuable in the contents & make up of the course, I pledge to contimue to apply to my daily life what I have learned.

von Stephen P

Jun 08, 2020

This course is an excellent, 10-week road to a better understanding of the many actions we can take to make ourselves happier. It is taught in a straighforward, honest language with a nurturing tone that is relatable and doesn't talk down to the students. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in exploring their own happiness and how it fits into the society in which we live today. I have always (naively) thought that in a life where you put happiness as your top priority, you will find the most fulfillment. It turns out, I wasn't wrong, I just wasn't able to fully see my happiness as it fits into a bigger picture when it comes to socialization, relationships, wellness, mindset, time management, and my own selfish needs and wants.

von David L G

Jun 14, 2018

I really enjoyed this course! I had quite a few ah-ha moments. I would recommend this course to anyone that has been "chasing" happiness and wellness and is looking for research proven strategies to finally achieve some form of wellness in their life. Surprisingly, I was already on track with many of the strategies the course recommended but did learn some new things, which I have begun incorporating in my life. I also can't tell you how terrific it is to have access to all of the books, Ted Talks, and research articles that support the videos and other instructions, along with the surveys you can take for free to gain a little insight into who you are, how happy you are currently, and what your strengths are. This was just a terrific course!

von Zahid B

May 14, 2020

To summarize this course: The most impactful lessons in life are often the most simplest!

The content in this course has been thought provoking and life changing. I wish this course could reach the younger generation, as they can develop these productive and positive habits before they enter further education and the world of work! The leaders in our society/media organisations have a duty to showcase a purposeful and productive life, whilst promoting positive well-being in work places if they want to see a happier society. Courses like this are a priceless way of helping people to find solutions to their low mood, negative health habits and ungratefulness. Dr Laurie Santos is a remarkable and inspiring woman who is a role model for many!

von Maria O

Jul 16, 2020

Really great course, thank you. It was delivered very well and I learned so much on how I can make small changes to improve my happiness. The last 4 weeks of rewirement was great too, it was tough and not as successful as I was hoping but I have continued to try and implement some of the teachings in my life. Two big successes for me were meditating and gratitude.. When I feel like I may not be as happy or tired or stressed, I stop and take a few breaths and think about what I am grateful for, this has truly made the biggest difference in my life.....

Thanks so much!! Also, the professor was amazing... Very knowledgeable, realistic and practicing what she teaches in her own life. I really liked how she shared her successes and set backs..

von Angela C

Jul 07, 2020

I would recommend The Science of Well-Being course to anyone who seeks to challenge their own belief systems, mindsets, and patterns of thinking that create inhibition to their personal growth. You are provided with weekly rewirement challenges that help the student attain a higher level of thinking and ultimately a more functional state of 'being.' I've read and partaken in self-development courses and all are valuable when incorporated, and each serves to justify the principles shared in the previous courses. Even if you enroll in this course as a singular methodology or to supplement other training and personal development courses, you will find your thinking challenged and your behaviors modified for your own betterment in society.

von Leighann B

Jul 11, 2020

I loved this course and genuinely wanted to share it with everyone I know. One study I found particularly relevant in today's political climate was the one which demonstrated that people would rather take a pay cut in order to have a greater lead against their peers instead of raising everyone's pay and having a higher overall salary but be more equitable (have a smaller lead) against their peers.

My only technical feedback is that I found the peer-review form a little confusing: you should be able to post comments after submitting the grade (since grade submit button is higher on the page) OR you should put the comment section above the submit button so that people know to post their comments first before submitting the evaluation.

von Nakshatra S

May 04, 2020

This course is the best thing that has happened to me in a long time. I want to talk about the course in detail. The course is detailed and I am sure you will almost double your happiness levels once you finish this course. Laurie is so good at teaching that it feels like you are physically there in the class attending the lecture. All the extra material that is provided with the course just widens your perspective towards various things. It doesn't matter for whatever reason you are thinking to take this course, once you finish it you will have much more than that. Thank you so much Laurie for this, I can't wait to meet you some day. But Thanks for creating this I feel happy, excited & motivated to do things even while writing this.

von Dana S

Aug 03, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. I stuck with it even after she debunked something I have been using for 30 years in her first video. I used to use the idea that "knowing is half the battle" from GI Joe with people and I applied it to myself with being a mental health professional. I have since stopped doing that especially since I had a rough bout of anxiety in June, which reinforced it not working. I have also referred strangers and friends to this program and use all but one of the rewirement strategies regularly. It was very helpful to have these put in a practical context and explained how they help with joy/happiness/contentment. Make the time for it, you have nothing to lose but old strategies that do not work.

von Adriana A

Jun 06, 2020

Oh no it's over! :( I feel so lucky and grateful to have been able to access this course for free, especially during this time of quarantine and CO-VID 19. It was the perfect structured disciplined activity I needed to keep me going and feel productive and healthy. I loved having goals to complete each week be it: reading, writing/commenting, reflecting, and daily tracking my own progress. I highly recommend this course and that you share your insights with others. You will not be disappointed... well actually maybe a little once you find out the research but you'll quickly bounce back and truly implement what is needed that will actually bring your joy and happiness. It takes time so be patient with yourself. Peace and love!

von Sharon M

Jul 08, 2020

Excellent, science-based content. Laurie is an engaging professor who brought in live audiences to interact with so that the class felt more real, personal, and engaging than other online classes. I loved that she listed additional resources to read so that I could dig a little deeper. I liked that forms and apps were available, although I did not need them. Finally, Laurie measured the outcome of the class through pre and post surveys. For the first time, I could actually see the impact from taking a class, not just on learning but on my own well being. You will not only learn a lot from this class, but you will also feel happier after taking it. I promise, and I have the scores to prove it -- a 50% increase in well-being.

von Diane M B

Jul 09, 2020

Laurie Santo's is a very engaging instructor. I loved her motivation. Everything seemed interesting to her, which made it interesting to me. Wonderful voice to listen too and I could tell she really cares about the students. Always putting a positive spin on things. Really made me want to keep coming to class. When I signed up for the class I didn't know what to expect. Laurie has helped me in many ways. I will continue to use her rewirements and use her positive methods of thinking. Regardless of how high school teaching will be in this COVID times I will be better prepared emotionally. Relieved stress, found ways to step back from issue and became more positive. Thank you so much for the enjoyable and knowledgeable class.

von Amlesh R

Apr 30, 2020

So very grateful to Prof. Laurie for navigating such a meaningful and life-enhancing course in such a lucid and convincing way. Her candid confessions of her own deficiencies in some aspects of happiness, was so disarming. I have learned so much about the fundamentals of well being and happiness and how and why our mind is often the biggest hurdle in our quest for happiness. Be it knowing, what really makes us happy and understanding why we keep making wrong choices for our happiness, in every aspect, this course is spot on. Not a surprise that The Science of Well-being course by Prof Laurie is the best ever at Yale. Hope, this course is done by many. many more across the world in every age group. I am ensuring that my wife

von Homa F

Jun 08, 2018

This was my first course on coursera and I enjoyed every bit of it. I have learnt so much by putting the knowledge into practice, with positive results. I didn't expect the course to take as much time as it did, but that could be due to my time schedule and not how much the course demanded. I paid for the course so I would take it seriously which helped me in being more disciplined and of course to also get a certificate. I would recommend this course if you are trying to lear how to rewire your mind and having a better understanding of 'Misconceptions about Happiness' - 'Why our expectations are so bad' -'What stuff really increases happiness' - 'Strategies to reset you expectations' and 'Putting strategies into practice'.

von Heather P

Jun 10, 2020

After completing this course, I am equipped with new skills to continue living a fuller, happier life. I appreciate the studies Dr. Santos shared with us throughout the course to support various theories, such as Miswanting, Flow, and Hedonistic Adaptation.

The weekly challenges helped me tune into myself further. The challenges helped guide my focus for what elements I wanted to truly implement for the Rewirement Challenge.

Because of my experience, I not only incorporated new healthy habits into my daily life, but their culmination helped me with a major life decision. I feel great about my decision and am grateful for this course and the guidance of Dr. Santos.

I wish success to all as we continue our Rewirement journeys.

von Amanda M

May 17, 2020

Dr. Santos does an excellent job to teach us the science behind well-being and seeking happiness. The timing of the class was fantastic as I needed the refocus on happiness and gratitude during the Covid-19 quarantine. Dr. Santos was intelligent and easy to understand. Her examples and lectures were interesting and helpful. I am very grateful that I took this online class as I was able to choose a rewirement that has made me more happy and is helping my well being. The videos and transcriptions were excellent to use on a laptop. The online class was not as user friendly on a cell phone. The quizzes were easy if you paid attention. The peer reviews and forums were amazing to learn from people from all over the world!

von Michael D

Aug 28, 2019

I have been lucky enough to have a couple of months of downtime as I consider a significant transition in my life. Serendipitously, I stumbled upon this course and engaged out of curiosity. It was the right medicine at the right time. I learnt a lot and was given the language and logic to articulate several matters of personal significance . Before the course, I was feeling relatively content. Upon completion of the course, I am in a very good place. I found the content well presented, engaging and fascinating. I enjoyed the intellectual stimulation of reading around the topic but I particularly enjoyed the experiential nature of the course. Undertaking this course has been time very well spent on a number of levels.

von Romona J W

Jul 10, 2019

The instructor for the course was exceptional. She made taking the course delightful. Her approach to teaching put me at ease and caused me to be open to learning things from a different perspective. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to help other's by being an example themselves and that doesn't mean that they should be perfect, but conscious enough that they soon can recover from any setback or mistake and move forward. We need more models such as this. Models that lead through relations with holding themselves accountable too. The instructor, presented herself as authentic and shared with us some of her vulnerabilities too. I am now developing new skills and I am the wiser. Thank you, Coursera.

von Heather R

Jul 22, 2020

Love this course. So much excellent, evidence-based content. Packed with specific examples that one can choose to incorporate in their own life toward positive change and a fuller, happier life. After the first lesson in the course, I told both of my grown children that if they finish the course, I will pay for their certificate. This is how important I believe the happiness mindset is in life. My life motto has always been love God, love people, and use stuff. I think when people are not happy with themselves, they flip it and tend to use people and love stuff. That is not a road that will lead to happiness. This course uses science to back up the idea that stuff (beyond basic needs) doesn't lead to happiness.

von Linda M

Jul 18, 2020

There is nothing better than having legitimate, tried and true strategies to add to our bag of tricks, so to speak to get through what life throws in our path. This course has been an enlightenment to what I'm sure we all suspected about how qualified we are to know the games our, hearts, mind, and brain plays in our happiness on a minute to minute bases. We are all better equipped to take on the challenges of, the mis-wanting , the rethinking we must do, being aware of annoying features, thwarting Hedonic adaptions and becoming more aware of the many character strengths that we all have to learn to develop in order to find that ever elusive thing called HAPPINESS we seek. I except your help with gratitude.

von Andrea L H

Jul 09, 2020

Great information and then practical ways to start implementing tools to increase your happiness and well-being in my own life. I especially appreciate how honest and transparent the professor was while explaining the "why" and "how" and then how even she fails and is human. So many good pieces. Not a lot of new information (although there was research and data to back up what I already "knew" and "felt" to be true. More than just a class...it is a jump-start to creating a better, happier life! I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in improving their lives. I especially appreciate that it is offered for free! Especially during this pandemic (I've been unemployed for almost 4 months now!)!

von Sandra G

May 27, 2020

The course gave me a broader perspective of how to gain happiness. Extremely helpful and I'm really happy I took it. I now find myself thinking of many of the lessons daily. And it can help my mood or my approach to something I’m dealing with. Being aware of how the rewirements also help you physically is a good motivator. It’s difficult at times to not revert back to certain negative feelings, but now I have a way to deal with those times, or a way to replace them with helpful thoughts and behaviors. This is an excellent course…very enlightening, interesting, and informative. Also, very helpful. Actually, I think it would be great if all Americans would take this course. The whole world, actually.