Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Science of Well-Being

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Science of Well-Being von Yale University

4.9
Sterne
21,733 Bewertungen
8,132 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Top-Bewertungen

PS

Aug 20, 2020

This is an outstanding course! I was able to change into a more positive and productive mindset as taught in this course. I highly recommend it to everyone regardless of your profession or background.

EN

May 31, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed and learned a lot about happiness from this course. I will definitely recommend it to my peers, as it gets me to the core from my misconceptions to developing the right practices.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 8,142 Bewertungen für The Science of Well-Being

von DiAnne P

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent class. I believe I have a much better understanding of well-being as a result of taking this class. I really appreciated the manner in which concepts were introduced and supported by relevant research. As a result of taking this course, I have (a) learned a number of strategies to enhance inner peace and well-being, (b) gained an awareness of many myths regarding what brings happiness, and (c) developed a deep appreciation for the importance of approaching life with a growth mindset. My greatest take away from the course is that when I live in a manner that is consistent with my character strengths, I feel that I am "in the flow," living joyfully, and my sense of well-being is at its best!

von Pamela C P

Jun 02, 2020

The course was divided into short segments that made it easy to complete amidst a busy schedule and provided time to ‘digest’ the information.

The lectures were entertaining and easy to follow. Links to articles, TED talks and books relevant to the course material were very valuable. I used many of them to expand my studies in particular areas of interest.

The course content was enlightening and the focus on helping students actually implement changes to improve their happiness was invaluable.

I have a bachelors degree, two masters degrees and a medical degree. Out of all of my classes in all of those years of school, this has been by far one of the most enjoyable! I give it my highest recommendation!

von Denise B

Jul 19, 2020

I have learned that a good deal more of `my happiness `is under `my own direct control` than I had previously thought. This course has provided me with research data on `What makes humans happy` and has taught me specific strategies to create new habits in my life which in turn increase my happiness levels . I am now using a growth mindset in place of my long held `fixed mindset` . I am delighted to be exploring the new theory that Happiness grows with focus and willingness to practice new habits . I love the experiential aspect of this course where I actually experienced the results of my own practice for 4 weeks and proved the theories for myself. Thank you for this wonderful course.

von Khalisah S

Jun 28, 2020

I love the casual and personal vibe Dr. Laurie Santos created around this learning experience. This is a really helpful course, especially when you're in quarantine and struggling to feel happy with your circumstances. This course set me on a path of gratitude and self-awareness. I thought I knew most of the concepts this course covered, but the way it's structured made it more compelling, and I did end up learning and practicing a lot of new things too. A bit of a slow burn if you're used to mindlessly scrolling through Social Media as a habit to numb your sadness, but if you put those collective social media hours into this course, you'll have completed it in no time and come out a lot happier!

von Jeanine P

Sep 17, 2020

I loved the flexibility of this online course. I ended up taking a break midway thru due to work obligations and I appreciated the email follow up on my status. That email prompted me to jump back in! Laurie's presentations were easy to listen to and I liked the occasional pop up questions. The resources provided enabled me to dig deeper into topics that I wanted to explore more on. The final rewirement was easy to commit to and easy to assess. I must admit I was afraid the requirement would be to write an essay or "term" paper! The prompts were great and I enjoyed doing the peer reviews as well. My overall happiness scores went up and I find I use some of the strategies in my personal and work

von Kay B

Jun 02, 2020

Dr. Santos is a wonderful instructor. She is intelligent, calm and honest. She expresses how some of these things are hard to incorporate into her life, too, even though she knows and teaches the science. Her manner is welcoming and nonjudgmental. She introduced many knowledgeable lecturers, who added dimension to the course. I enjoyed this course. There are many different items/theories to learn. She presented in a thoughtful and logical manner. She is engaging and empathetic

Sometimes, it was a bit difficult to navigate the technology of the course. It took a while to understand how to respond to the final project and other items. Clearer instructions and navigation would be helpful

von Fabiola R

Jun 10, 2020

Realmente este curso me ha ayudado a ver las cosas desde otra perspectiva. Al comienzo de este, me sentía un poco deprimida, perdida y aunque hay mucho camino por recorrer aun debo admitir que mi estado de ánimo y autoestima han mejorado significativamente. Cree un plan e implemente la mayoría de los temas discutidos en clase y debo admitir que hubo gran cambio. Exhorto a que todos tengan la oportunidad de inscribirse en este curso para que abran nuevos caminos de conocimientos que realmente van a poder aplicar en su vida cotidiana. Este curso fue de mucha ayuda, además, ya que en la situación mundial que enfrentamos del coronavirus me hizo olvidar todos esos problemas por un rato. Excelente.

von Joe M

May 31, 2020

This class was extremely hard not so much the learning aspect but the work you need to put in. To find out in oneself that you are ungrateful was a big reality check for me,yes it hurt but truth does. Finding kindness for me mended,fixed,and rewired my heart which made me a better person. I enjoyed all the classmates, their real input made it much easier to go through a struggle or obstacle you can't seem to get the answer for yourself. Professor Santos was amazing and brilliant, she always came from a different side of things making you use your creative mindset. I never had Teacher/Professor so unique. Great course, mindful thinking has greatly improved my well being. Thank You to everyone.

von Stephanie R

Jun 04, 2020

This course was AMAZING!! So accessible, so full of resources that you could pick and choose from. In addition to the informative lectures, there were interviews, TED talks, articles and scientific studies provided for students to peruse at their own pace. I loved the design of the course, setting up the ways in which our minds hijack us and then slowly digging into how we can rewire.

The course does a great job of combining helpful tips and tricks to change practice--I'm looking at you, WOOP method--as well as the science behind the impact and benefit from those practices.

This course--and of definitely, Dr. Santos--were the perfect balm in the time of corona confinement.

von Dawn S

Jun 13, 2020

I truly enjoyed this course I would take it again if I could. Professor Santos was a great professor. Several of terms that I have learned from class have stayed with me. The rewirements have especially stayed with me and I plan to work on implementing daily exercise for the next four weeks because of the health benefits and I want to see if I can use what learned from this class to help me stick with this rewirement. I know there will be challenges but I also know that there will be a great success as well and I believe that I can do it not for the surface reasons that I have learned from this class that are not truly important but for myself and for my growth as a person.

von Binh L

Apr 29, 2020

The course is well established and very engaging thanks to Prof. Laurie's friendliness and good sense of humour. The scientific contents are just of the right levels, without being too technical; informative, and very interesting as some research findings are completely opposite to what we normally perceive. The rewirements accompanying the lectures are a plus as they can be put into practice directly. In other words, positive effects on well-being can be seen as you are learning. I would highly recommend this course to anyone regardless of how one thinks about their state of well-being. This course could, in any way, bring about improvements to your health and happiness.

von Kerstin

Aug 05, 2018

This is by far the best and most helpful course I've ever completed online, probably even in person. Laurie Santos is an absolute pleasure to watch on camera, something where many other courses, despite being informative, really fall behind. The material is presented in a really interesting and informative way and it set me up with the necessary tools to fall out of a deep hole I wasn't able to get out of. I didn't know why I was unhappy but this course helped me to realise that I was chasing the wrong things, how to find out what I really wanted and reminded me of some tools I can use now and in the future to prevent this from happening. I haven't been happier since.

von Hilla B

Jul 09, 2020

My overall experience of the course is excellent. I have greatly improved my positive psychology knowledge. During this time many people talks about happiness, resilience and positive psychology. Since I learned this course, I’m so passionate to discuss with others & I really proud and happy with my level of knowledge I gained throughout the course. In addition, although we are in a very challenging period, thanks to the knowledge and my practice, my happiness score improved. I had a very important improvement in understanding my purpose and meaning in life. That gives me great strength to overcome this challenging time. Big thanks to all behind this amazing course!!

von Corinne S

May 30, 2020

Incredible to do this class during COVID-19. It was a helpful tool in dealing with so much uncertainty during this time. This class helped me understand my own triggers for happiness, and they weren't necessarily the things I thought they were. After understanding the science of what makes us TRULY happy, I feel I'm in a surer place to choose what I absolutely know DOES contribute to my wellness and positive state of mind - even under incredibly challenging circumstances. The additional resources (books, readings and Tedtalks) were exceptionally helpful and fascinating. Lori is a great guide in sharing and presenting information. So grateful I discovered this class!!

von Kyriaki S

Apr 19, 2020

Dr. Santos, I am a SEN teacher, speciality in autism. This course has been extraordinarily helpful because I have my health, my family and its very nature a time of life that can be difficult. I am fortunate to be an active yoga devotee. I was prompted to take this course by the difficult mental health stress that I have passed earlier.

I wanted to pass on to you that this course has helped me recenter and to feel that there are things that I can do to enjoy living without perseverating about the negatives. I have read Thanks and Mindfulness for Beginners. And I have become an advocate of the course, sharing details with friends I hope will take it.

Thank you,

Kyriaki

von Yolande M

Jun 08, 2020

The course was structured very well, and I really loved the videos. Laurie presented very warmly and engaging. The resources are great, and I read/ listened to most of it. The course confirmed the elements of well-being which I always suspected to be true of well-being, so I was happy that this is an overal truth in life, even at Yale. I am confident now that I am on the right path, and feel much happier that my gut feelings can be trusted and that I can follow my heart. I can pursue the other things that don't produce well-being necessarily as well, but with a well-being perspective at least. It also made me aware of how to better treat my family and friends.

von Racquel S

Aug 21, 2020

This course has been a life-changer. It helped me understand my self even better and motivated me to reach to form my habits and reach my goals.

Everyone, no matter what career or status they are in their life should consider taking this course.

Professor Laurie Santos is very engaging and clear in her communication, so it's easy to digest and understand the somestimes complex knowledge she's sharing.

I truly believe that I am leading towards that good life and all thanks to this course, for arming me with the knowledge and strategies to keep going and never give up!

Thank you Coursera. Thank you Yale. Thank you Dr. Laurie Santos. So grateful for this free knowledge!

von MARA L S P

Sep 06, 2020

Hola Laurie! Ha sido gratificante encontrar que detrás de lo que creemos son acciones de sentido común, hay estudios e investigaciones que las respaldan.

Por estar ocupados "viviendo" nuestro día a día, olvidamos objetivos y metas que nos pueden hacer más feliz nuestra existencia y la de los demás.

Para mí ha sido una confrontación y me ha ayudado a parar (ayudada por la cuarentena) y reevaluar mis metas, objetivos y lo que quiero para mí.

Además, lo aprendido me ha ayudado en mi trabajo a impulsar a otras personas, por lo que me siento doblemente agradecida.

Es bueno dedicar tiempo a pensar en lo importante y este curso me ha hablado de ello.

De nuevo, gracias.

von Amy

Jun 27, 2020

I went into this course not expecting anything and hoping to learn something I could make use of. Last night I completed this course and realised just how much I have learned. This is more than a course for well-being. It is a course that I strongly believe every person should complete. It is informative, clever, witty, enjoyable and lifechanging. Laurie Santos creates the space for her students to think critically, analyse their own existence and understand why we make the decisions we make. I have thoroughly loved every aspect of this course and I will carry my learnings and certificate with me through all the chapters of my life. Best decision I ever made!

von Christi L E

May 20, 2018

Highly recommend this course IF you are willing to dedicate your time to not just learning the material, but to the actual application of it to your own life on a daily basis. In order to achieve the maximum benefit and return for putting forth the effort to obtain a life of happiness . The educational material provided does not just start and end with the course, but will continue for a life time.This is an amazing course and I am so glad I found it extremely engaging, challenging and participated with my entire heart and mind to soak up as much as possible. I am planning on continuing my path of self learning and advancement for the betterment of myself.

von Aida L F

Aug 16, 2020

I SO enjoyed taking this course. I learned so much about how to be happy, the things it takes to intentionally be happy, and the Rewirement challenges are things I will carry over into my life overall.

I was never able to stick to challenges, but this course taught me discipline and determination in sticking with them and from here on out. I am extremely grateful for Professor Laurie Santos, and everyone who made this course possible.

I'm really hoping for a Part 2 of this course, I will definitely recommend this course to family and friends, and good luck to all the students taking this course, it was well worth it and I'll miss it and everyone involved.

von Emesh F

Apr 29, 2020

Absolutely awesome course. Well designed, and well put together to keep us engaged and motivated. I always wanted to attend an IVY league institution, but of course financially, and academically I was not up to par with those dreams even if I was an honors student. Being able to attend "virtually" and complete this course, as well as receiving a certificate of completion at the end, is pretty solid. I learned a great deal and promoted this to many military members I know as well as Friends and Family as I believe they can benefit immensely from this course. Thank you Prof Santos and YALE for allowing us the opportunity to attend and complete this course.

von Taoufiq J

Apr 19, 2019

What I learned from this course that we could live all our life without knowing the real meaning of happiness, simply because we haven't the right information.

However now I could say that all my exeptations (Grades, Job, Money, Material things, Love, ...) in life had another impact on my daily life

In Addition, I learnt how to react when I have annonyings futures and replace it with new habits as Gratitude, Support situation, Savoring, Exercice, Social support, bref I have a new Happiness Mindset

Finaly I could say thank you to the teacher Laurie Santos and Yale University, because of you, Now I see life from another perspective

Thank you :)

Taoufiq Janati

von Cíntia V

Jul 22, 2020

Finally, I would like to thanks to Yale University and Professor Laurie Santos for been offering this wonderful Course. I am very grateful for all that this Course have done for me! Furthermore, I am Brazilian and I am not fluent in English Language, so it was a great challenger for me to do a course of well-being in English. I am very thankful to achieve this final moment of the course!

And a last point but not least, I would like to thanks to my colleague who read my responses. I consider English language one of the most beautiful and I am really glad to be able to write in it, despite of the mistakes I may have done in my writting. Please forgive me!