Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community von Yale University

4.7
Sterne
120 Bewertungen
32 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Thomas Berry (1914-2009) was a historian of world religions and an early voice awakening moral sensibilities to the environmental crisis. He is known for articulating a “new story” of the universe that explores the implications of the evolutionary sciences and cultural traditions for creating a flourishing future. This course investigates Berry’s life and thought in relation to the Journey of the Universe project. It draws on his books, articles, and recorded lectures to examine such ideas as: the New Story, the Great Work, and the emerging Ecozoic era. The course explores Berry’s insights into cosmology as a context for locating the human in a dynamic unfolding universe and thus participating in the creative work of our times. In particular, we will examine Berry’s reflections on renewal and reform in the areas of ecology, economics, education, spirituality, and the arts. Course Rationale: Thomas Berry was an original, creative, and comprehensive thinker, especially regarding the critical nature of our global environmental crisis. His intellectual importance resides in his response to the ecological crisis by bringing together the humanities and science in an evolutionary narrative. In addition, he articulated the need for the moral participation of the world religions in addressing environmental issues. He came to this realization largely through his study of cosmologies embedded within religious traditions. Sensing the significance of these stories as “functional cosmologies” he explored the widespread influence that these stories transmitted through a tradition, for example, in rituals, ethics, and subsistence practices....

Top-Bewertungen

M
6. Dez. 2019

I have just completed the 3-course specialization that included this course. All excellent, inspirational, and hopeful. This content is essential for emergence into the Ecozoic Era.

US
22. Juni 2019

I love Thomas Berry and they way he is able to tell us the story of the universe. This is an amazing course, an eye opener and a spiritual journey overall.\n\nThank You.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 32 Bewertungen für The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community

von Tun L A

29. Sep. 2017

This course will give new insight, grand thought concerning everything, the all things exist in the universe, to you. I want you to have these things as I have.

von Juliet B

20. März 2017

A fantastic course that deepened my understanding of the brilliant thought of Thomas Berry, bringing to life his personal story and the stories he told.

von Colleen S

8. Juni 2017

This course has so inspired me to learn more and to motivate others to celebrate our Earth Community by learning how to better care for the planet.

von Silvia D B

30. Aug. 2017

This was an eye opener and an amazing and inspiring experience for me. I couldn't wait to watch the videos and read the portions of the books, downloaded all the transcripts to read later again! I didn't know anything about Thomas Berry and had a sort of skepticism towards a catholic priest approach to environmentalism. But I was blown away by his amazing vision and open mind. I loved that the course is respectful of religious (and non religious) views. Thomas Berry simple but transformational experience in the meadow and his love and understanding of nature and nature's rights completely transformed my own thinking and approach to the Great Work ahead for each one of us. Just before completing the course I attended an Art of Mentoring experience and between these two, they sealed my commitment to the Great Work. Thank you!

von Annabella R

20. Nov. 2018

Love love this work. I am just getting to know the work of Thomas Berry and how edgy these thoughts were some 20 years ago. thank you for introducing this seminal work and allowing for an understanding of context . i also appreicate learning about how we are more the same , than different, across our different "spiritualities" Thank you.

von Teresa N Y S

2. März 2017

Amazing! Awe-inspiring! I have found great energy, wisdom, and respite from this series of courses, as I work everyday to maintain environmental policies and laws. I loved the organization, and will continue to write on these subjects. I appreciate all your extraordinary effort in putting these courses together.

von Michelle S

27. März 2017

Thomas Berry was a visionary, illuminating our context and leading the way forward to give hope to our generation and those to come. This is a call to action from the future. The vision of a flourishing Earth community, where humans enhance and nurture, brings me great hope and purpose. What a gift.

von Jafed E G

6. Juli 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

von Fogan A

19. Jan. 2019

Great worldview teaching, if even i don't agree with everything... But sure you are right on many pints about accepting eac other and living together the future out our world and how to care bout the environment...

von Tom

18. Aug. 2021

I had high expectations for this course since I had already read JOTU five or six times. However, this wonderful presentation exceeded all that I was hoping for. My horizons were broadened tremendously!

von Mary L L

7. Dez. 2019

I have just completed the 3-course specialization that included this course. All excellent, inspirational, and hopeful. This content is essential for emergence into the Ecozoic Era.

von Hyunsook K

27. Nov. 2016

It's beautiful! I've never described any coursera courses this way. This lecture guides us widen and enhanced world around us. I believe it make us becoming better beings. Thank you!

von Ujjawal S

23. Juni 2019

I love Thomas Berry and they way he is able to tell us the story of the universe. This is an amazing course, an eye opener and a spiritual journey overall.

Thank You.

von Cornelia S L

3. Feb. 2017

I had never read Thomas Berry and with this course I just couldn't stop reading his books and the vision he had about the earth and his view of Teilhard de Chardin.

von Shinichi T

10. Apr. 2020

Thank you for offering a wonderful learning experience to create a flourishing future.

This course gave me the base for the journey of my life.

von Richard J

9. Juli 2020

Father Thomas was the great thinker of our lifetime, an honor to have learned again from him.

von Karim F

11. Apr. 2017

This course should be made mandatory is all schools and work places around the world NOW !!!

von JP P

6. Juli 2017

Loved learning about Thomas Berry's amazing writing and the 'Great Work'.

von Deleted A

2. Dez. 2019

This should be a required course in every discipline!

von Великодный А И

21. Mai 2018

It is one of the best courses I have ever studied!

von Fernando B

19. März 2018

A transformational course, a spiritual journey. -

von Devin O

13. Aug. 2019

Top tier education and eye opening experience.

von louis f d m p s

25. Feb. 2017

Nice; contemplate this wonderful jorney

von Deleted A

26. Sep. 2017

What a great person Thomas Berry was!

von CHANTE C C

3. Nov. 2020

Wonderful course! Kudos to the team!