Chevron Left
Zurück zu Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
305 Bewertungen
102 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 100 Bewertungen für Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

von Maria G H

Aug 15, 2017

Loved this course! I learned the basics of everything I wanted to learn and I really enjoyed it!

von Anne-Marie G

Jan 23, 2017

Loved this course. Allows you to go into more detail if you wish. Friendly lecturer. Facinating subject.

von Maria N A

Nov 06, 2016

A truly stellar experience. The course structure is very well thought off and the information given just about right for a short seminar. I would love a sequel with the topics that we did not cover. Thank you very much for this educational experience.

von Derek N

Nov 07, 2016

This is an excellently well presented course that is informative, interesting and challenging. Well worth engaging with.

von Hasan m

Jun 23, 2018

good

von Marloes T

Apr 23, 2017

AMAZING course!!!!! Lectures are well presented, I liked the extra tutorials and the assignment are really fun to do. If you have only a slight interest in skeletons, archeology or maybe even forensics, I would definitely recommend

von Savitha

Aug 14, 2017

It's an amazing course.. I LOVED IT!!

von Paul R

Mar 07, 2018

Excellent

von Brandon E K

Dec 07, 2016

Absolutely a fantastic and brilliant experience, one in which I would recommend to anyone choosing a history, archaeology, anthropology or anatomy related career path. I learned so much and gained both a new insight in studying the human anatomy and a new interest in what I would like to study further for my career.

von Alfredo J A G

Aug 18, 2017

dis les bendiga

von Vladislav K

Oct 16, 2017

The course is just awesome! This is an excellent course, best of what I have learned on the web. Thank you, professors, creators and technical team!

von Emilio J M V

Jul 19, 2017

muy bueno me cuesta pero muy bueno solo que al habla hispano sin bases buenas en ingles se le complica pero excelente curso

von Patrizia B

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

von Joy S

Jan 16, 2017

Good info

von Mark E v A

Mar 01, 2017

Very enjoyable. Cool information and the assignments really force you to think critically about your reasoning.

von Roger F

Mar 27, 2018

Into the third week and it is very interesting. The 1st MOOC that I have done where there is a weekly assignment to submit!

von Angelina W

Dec 26, 2016

Assignments are extremely helpful in fully understanding the topic. Lectures help in completing assignments, especially with the optional videos that explain in greater detail how to examine specific bones and interpret certain patterns.

von Andrei d S S

Jul 09, 2017

Awesome!

von barbara

Jan 14, 2017

I really recomend this course, It provides good examples, information and practice test. I think it is necessary for any archaeologist or person realated to this field

von Sarah S

Apr 25, 2017

Such a fun and interesting course!

von Melissa v R

May 21, 2018

I learned a lot, the assignments are very nice in my opinion! Very engaging.

von Marie S

Mar 26, 2017

Excellent introduction to topic, well presented and very interactive. Quite in-depthAssignments were meaningful and directly related to materials presented. Looking forward to doing more study in this area!

von Colin A

Jul 11, 2017

A great course very well presented. Really enjoyed it.

von Alisse S

Mar 27, 2017

Incredibly informative, builds upon itself, and gives ample opportunity for application in case study assignments.

von Kathlyn T

May 06, 2017

Fantastic, informational, and very fun. I truly enjoyed this course from Universiteit Leiden.