Chevron Left
Zurück zu Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
Sterne
356 Bewertungen
120 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Filtern nach:

101 - 118 von 118 Bewertungen für Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

von Gary J

Dec 02, 2016

This is a very good course, I have really enjoyed taking this course, and I learned a lot. I have already put to use what I have learned in this course, into another course I am taking. The only criticism I have of this course is the grading system. The peer review grading of the papers lacks a lot to be desired. People give you arbitrary grades without giving any feed back. You can submit a graduate level paper, and be graded off by someone with a high school education. I feel this problem needs to be corrected before I take another course from Leiden University.

von Lee H

Jan 15, 2017

Please we need pdf printable "booklets” of slides (no headshots “and use PALE backgrounds) under downloads below the video screen. I love MOOCs that do this for us to help integrate knowledge. Thanks so much. The course content is very good - I have taken bricks and mortar forensic classes as well as a Forensics MOOC out of China and yours is comparable. But please the downloadable slides? Thanks so much

com/",[g,=�o��

von Brian T

Nov 07, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this class! I've completed about 6 courses so far and while I've found all of them very informative this is the first one that I was sorry to see the end. Maybe Professor Waters-Rist and her team could conduct another Osteoarchaeology class introducing techniques not covered in this course. Regardless, great job and thank you so much for allowing me to learn more about this fascinating field!

von Sheila H

Oct 26, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, and learned a lot, though there were some technology 'glitches' to overcome.

I would recommend that the administrators, for future courses, ask students to upload their assignments as PDFs, as this would enable non-Microsoft/Open Office etc. users to review the assignments directly in their browser, rather than having to download the files, convert them, then dispose of them :)

von Jacquelene B

May 13, 2019

Very interesting subject matter. Lecture content is well presented and just challenging enough to make you think a little when you're completing the course assignments. It would be nice if the work was a little more detailed (purely because my interest has now been peaked) and if the assignments were a little more spaced out (I found one a week was a bit of a push for me)

von Samantha L

Sep 10, 2017

This is a great course, very interesting with real case studies and plenty of references for further academic reading. Some minor technical issues with peer reviews of assignments, but overall I liked the combination of written assignments and quizzes, and the (ungraded) forum discussion questions.

von LITTOLFF

Jan 18, 2017

Very interesting course... but very exigeant! One evaluated subject per week, it's hard and if you don't give the necessary time to complete this work, you'll lose your time and waste money!

von Stine J

Aug 19, 2017

Overall I think it is a very good and informative course. However, the grades do not provide relevant feedback, since it is peer-reviewed assignments by fellow students.

von Deborah J

Jul 20, 2017

Very interesting, but some of the assignments were way too difficult for someone who isn't science minded, or who is just here to learn for fun.

von Olivia K

Mar 12, 2018

Detailed course with excellent staff and challenging assignments.

von arjan

Jul 08, 2019

learned a lot, good reading, shot an clear explanations

von Pauline D

Feb 06, 2019

Good introductory material without being simplistic.

von Stephen D

May 13, 2017

great course. very well presented

von Anna S

Sep 17, 2017

Absolutely fascinating!

von Richard K

May 26, 2017

very interesting

von Mark

Sep 23, 2017

Although a little dry, this course is TREMENDOUSLY informative to people who know little about Osteoarcheology. Loses a star, though, for requiring outside Word Documents for the completion of it's special assignments, which I do not have.

von Sue B E

Oct 26, 2017

I enjoyed the course very much but having my completion tied up by other people did not appeal to me in the least. I would definitely warn people of that element.

von ELENI K

Nov 03, 2016

This is a nice effort, and it obvious how hard everyone has worked. There are too many presumptions presented as 'facts', though, and too much certainty about research issues that lots of debate is still going around. So, good work, but unless the course is supposed to attract only ignorants and people that haven't been in contact with 'science', some of the instructors act a bit 'I know it all' and that is how it is, although no-one does yet. Sorry to discover this spirit in here.