Chevron Left
Zurück zu Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
Sterne
459 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Top-Bewertungen

SS

7. Nov. 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

20. Nov. 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 167 Bewertungen für Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

von Patrizia B

21. Nov. 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

von Georgia V

17. Mai 2020

Absolutely loved the course ! Very well structured and thorough introduction to the topic! Thank you so much for providing us with fantastic lectures, exercises and study material :)

von Lisa N

23. Feb. 2022

I loved this course. A complicated topic broken down to basic segments. Instructors were very good and easy to follow. You get out what you put in -- take the time and learn!

von Aitor M C

28. Aug. 2017

It was very well! It is interesting to understand some things about bones and pathologyes for instance, and in order to know what kind of bone we can find in the shield!

von barbara

14. Jan. 2017

I really recomend this course, It provides good examples, information and practice test. I think it is necessary for any archaeologist or person realated to this field

von Dirk T

21. Dez. 2020

Very interesting course. I have learned a lot about osteoarcheology. The way this course is organized with the different methods of learning worked perfectly for me,

von Sarra G

7. Jan. 2018

Excellent course, very scientific and thorough in its approach. The lecturer was excellent and explained complex concepts very well. I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

von Kate B

6. Apr. 2021

An interesting subject that was brought to life by a great instructor and support staff. The assignments were fun and engaging. I would highly recommend this course.

von L L m

14. Nov. 2016

Very interesting course, a lot of information very well explained and showed. Congratulations to all the team that make this course possible !! Thank you very much

von Elena A

6. Juli 2022

A course to learn about our origins and many other interesting facts. Perfectly organised by Dr .Andrea Waters-Rist and Auxiliary Doctors.

I am happy to do it.

von Isabela A F

4. Juli 2020

This course is marvelous! I really enjoyed doing it and I've already recommended for my friends. Thank you so much for this course and the displayed content!

von Wojciech W

16. Nov. 2018

Amazing course with wonderful teachers and materials. I learned a lot of things about bones and how they help archeologists to understand the past better

von Deborah R C

29. Juni 2020

I found the course to be interesting and very well taught. I enjoyed learning from this course, and getting my certificate after 5 weeks of hard work.

von Vladislav K

16. Okt. 2017

The course is just awesome! This is an excellent course, best of what I have learned on the web. Thank you, professors, creators and technical team!

von kouassi n c

3. Feb. 2018

Je ne connaissais pas tout cela sur mes os et mes dents quelques trucs mais rien de plus, je suis satisfaite de ce cours il est très instructif

von robin v w

19. Juli 2021

Very well constructed lessons. The overall course is not very difficult and offers plenty of exercises to learn more than needed.

von Anand D

14. Juli 2022

Excellent course for understanding basics of Osteoarchaeology. Covers various aspects quite well with videos and case studies.

von Lucy

11. Okt. 2020

It takes a lot of work. Rewatching some of the videos to help understand them. I will be taking another course to learn more.

von Veronica

20. Sep. 2018

I learned a lot and found the assignments relevant and useful for achieving a better understanding the material. Great course!

von Joy L

2. Feb. 2021

Enjoyed the course, so very interesting and learned a whole new way to see history through the past peoples who were there.

von Roger F

27. März 2018

Into the third week and it is very interesting. The 1st MOOC that I have done where there is a weekly assignment to submit!

von emilio v

19. Juli 2017

muy bueno me cuesta pero muy bueno solo que al habla hispano sin bases buenas en ingles se le complica pero excelente curso

von belen M

27. Aug. 2021

I learned a lot in the course, very complete and well explained, very interactive with very useful activities. I loved it!

von juan p d r

27. Okt. 2016

Great. I am confident that soon there will be new and more advanced courses

that can perform registration to perform them.

von Derek N

7. Nov. 2016

This is an excellently well presented course that is informative, interesting and challenging. Well worth engaging with.