Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,792 Bewertungen
547 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 522 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Fred R

Feb 19, 2017

I loved the course and learnt a lot. Spending one month working on the same font is a great way to learn to see it and use it.

von HASSAAN Z R

Sep 28, 2016

owesome

von christy p

Jun 23, 2016

I really loved this course. I learned more than I ever expected and more than any school I paid double for could teach me!

von Heleina E

May 02, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I learned so much things and I feel like my typography skills just went up on a whole new level. Signing up to this course helped me understand all the stuff I've been reading about typography. They teach typography in a way that's so easy to understand and process. Highly recommended. :)

von Arnaud C

Dec 04, 2016

Very good to learn typo, i didn't imagine it was so interesting. Thank you!

von Ashley K

Dec 16, 2016

I learned quite a bit for it just being introductory. Would definitely recommend.

von Haider A

Oct 31, 2017

Amazing course, I definitely recommend it.

von Ємельянова Г М

Mar 08, 2017

I enjoy this course!

von Daniel C

Apr 17, 2016

I learned a lot, despite my initial disinterest in this field of graphic design.

von Xue D Y

Jul 02, 2016

推荐 实用,一定可以对英文字体有一个整体概念的

von Nadia L

Apr 23, 2016

everything what i need to know!

von Luka D

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

von Lili C

Apr 12, 2016

I really enjoyed the historical background this course provided. Since finishing the course, I've started to develop a love for typography and it seems to pop into my mind more often when I read or see something visually stimulating.

von Laura

May 16, 2016

Real hands-on course! Got to know so much and now it's time to practice!

von Chris F

Jun 29, 2016

Very helpful. I feel I learnt a lot

von Amanda J V

Oct 17, 2016

This was a fun introduction to typography. I really enjoyed the assignments and the informative lessons.

von Adele

Sep 18, 2017

关于字体选择和设计,讲解的详细且实用。

von TETIANA R

Jan 09, 2017

Very interesting couurse.

von Anne W

Jun 25, 2016

Great tutor and introduction to Typography!

von Jaspal S R

Aug 07, 2016

Great, how they started the course and finished it, got all the info i was looking for!

von Alexander K

Oct 04, 2016

Very informative, interesting and helpful! Thank you!

von Joel A

Sep 11, 2016

A pragmatic course.

von Eman M S

Oct 14, 2017

very greet

von Muhammad A Y

Dec 27, 2017

i really thankful to coursera . and learn most important skill about typography.

von Chryssel M B

Dec 27, 2017

The course was really fun and knowledgeable. I am excited to apply what I have learned here and increase my chances of getting a full-time job!