Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
2,948 Bewertungen
575 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 548 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Chriz P P

Nov 13, 2017

The lesson gave the inspiration to create more designs using typography.

von Laura

May 16, 2016

Real hands-on course! Got to know so much and now it's time to practice!

von AMAN S

Aug 20, 2018

A must do course, if you want to get hands on experience in Typography.

von Viorel-Daniel S

Sep 12, 2017

Well presented with relevant assignments and very interesting material.

von fernando V S

Apr 05, 2016

What an Excellent option for studing outside home....Thanks Coursera!!!

von Chi C

Feb 02, 2018

Great instructor. The assignment is challenging but useful. Thank you.

von Renee T

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course for beginners in typography and typographical design,

von Katerina R

Mar 11, 2017

Very well presented, lots of information and very helpful! Thank you!

von Abdelrahman H

Feb 11, 2020

Light, yet very informational course. I enjoyed it and learnt a lot!

von Anna V

Apr 29, 2019

Made me think in new ways and I still use what I learned in my work!

von Shiela O

Jul 16, 2016

I was able to learn a lot about Typography and apply it on my works!

von Penny

Oct 29, 2018

I learned a lot!!! Hope I can remember to put it all in to practise

von Kevin W

Aug 21, 2018

Great intro! Lots of great examples that gets the imagination going

von Naomi M H

Oct 13, 2019

Great information reading the history of type, structure and uses.

von Tatsiana T

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you so much!

One of the best online courses I've had before.

von Dominique V

Jul 20, 2019

My favourite of the courses in the Graphic Design specialization.

von Anastasia O

Jun 17, 2018

Loved learning the history of Typography. Very interesting class.

von Matheus A

May 15, 2018

Very Nice, it was very interesting to dive in the typefaces world

von Tianyin L

Feb 22, 2018

An enjoyable experience, good amount of information for a novice.

von Astria B

Jan 31, 2020

Great subject and lecture. I learned a lot thank you very much.

von Sarah N

Jul 10, 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

von Kevin J

May 21, 2017

Great Course, So enjoyed it. Wish there was a follow up or 2.0

von Shubham Y

Nov 20, 2017

Good Course for beginners. Covers fundamentals of Typography.

von Katherine K

Dec 13, 2016

If you are beginners in typography this course is for you! =)

von Darrick C

Jun 30, 2019

challenging, rewarding and i would recommend it to anyone =)