Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
3,775 Bewertungen
757 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SK

Jun 05, 2020

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 731 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Kira S

Jan 10, 2020

I really liked this short course, and it was very informative and helpful.

von Felipe F A

Feb 11, 2019

If you like typography, take the course. If you dont, take the course! =)

von Megan M S

Nov 15, 2016

Interesting to learn the history and rules of typography and very helpful.

von Luke Q

Aug 25, 2016

Very conversational and informative. Glad to spend my time and money here.

von Nakash

Jun 14, 2016

i learn many thing form Introduction to typography.its really good course

von Claudio G

Mar 02, 2019

I never thought this topic would trigger such passion in me. I loved it!

von Dionysia A

Oct 03, 2018

Wonderful lesson. Really useful with interesting videos and assignments.

von Chriz P P

Nov 13, 2017

The lesson gave the inspiration to create more designs using typography.

von Laura

May 16, 2016

Real hands-on course! Got to know so much and now it's time to practice!

von AMAN S

Aug 20, 2018

A must do course, if you want to get hands on experience in Typography.

von Viorel-Daniel S

Sep 12, 2017

Well presented with relevant assignments and very interesting material.

von fernando V S

Apr 05, 2016

What an Excellent option for studing outside home....Thanks Coursera!!!

von Stephanie B

May 11, 2020

Great course, very complete and interesting. Do not hesitate to enrol!

von Chi C

Feb 02, 2018

Great instructor. The assignment is challenging but useful. Thank you.

von Renee T

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course for beginners in typography and typographical design,

von Gunvir M

Feb 25, 2020

I learned some stuff I didn't know yet.

Short but concise—I recommend!

von Katerina R

Mar 11, 2017

Very well presented, lots of information and very helpful! Thank you!

von Abdelrahman H

Feb 11, 2020

Light, yet very informational course. I enjoyed it and learnt a lot!

von Anna V

Apr 29, 2019

Made me think in new ways and I still use what I learned in my work!

von Shiela O

Jul 16, 2016

I was able to learn a lot about Typography and apply it on my works!

von Navjot S

Jun 01, 2020

Really excellent course! Thanks to the Prof. and coursera mentors!

von Penny

Oct 29, 2018

I learned a lot!!! Hope I can remember to put it all in to practise

von Kevin W

Aug 21, 2018

Great intro! Lots of great examples that gets the imagination going

von Naomi M H

Oct 13, 2019

Great information reading the history of type, structure and uses.

von Tatsiana T

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you so much!

One of the best online courses I've had before.