Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
4,383 Bewertungen
912 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

BG
3. Aug. 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

MB
25. Juli 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 884 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Abdelrahman H

11. Feb. 2020

Light, yet very informational course. I enjoyed it and learnt a lot!

von Anna V

28. Apr. 2019

Made me think in new ways and I still use what I learned in my work!

von Shiela O

15. Juli 2016

I was able to learn a lot about Typography and apply it on my works!

von Navjot S

1. Juni 2020

Really excellent course! Thanks to the Prof. and coursera mentors!

von Penny

29. Okt. 2018

I learned a lot!!! Hope I can remember to put it all in to practise

von Kevin W

21. Aug. 2018

Great intro! Lots of great examples that gets the imagination going

von Naomi M H

12. Okt. 2019

Great information reading the history of type, structure and uses.

von Tatsiana T

17. Okt. 2016

Thank you so much!

One of the best online courses I've had before.

von Yogesh K

28. Juni 2020

This is the most detailed course on Typography that I could find.

von Ivan C

19. Mai 2020

Informative but not overweighted course. Excellent for beginners!

von Dominique V

20. Juli 2019

My favourite of the courses in the Graphic Design specialization.

von Anastasia O

17. Juni 2018

Loved learning the history of Typography. Very interesting class.

von Matheus A

15. Mai 2018

Very Nice, it was very interesting to dive in the typefaces world

von Tianyin L

21. Feb. 2018

An enjoyable experience, good amount of information for a novice.

von Amy H

17. Apr. 2020

Amazing course for everything you need to know about typography.

von Komal R

30. März 2020

It was interesting and many things i have learn about typography

von Gael F

31. Aug. 2020

I loved learning about this branch of graphic design expression

von Tanvir A

29. Apr. 2020

great course! learned a lot about the typography & it's history

von Astria B

31. Jan. 2020

Great subject and lecture. I learned a lot thank you very much.

von Sarah N

10. Juli 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

von Kevin J

21. Mai 2017

Great Course, So enjoyed it. Wish there was a follow up or 2.0

von Anais C

29. Nov. 2020

Incredible content, with very neat creative lessons and tips.

von Francesca D L

12. März 2020

this course is super, interesting and very useful! thank you!

von Shubham Y

20. Nov. 2017

Good Course for beginners. Covers fundamentals of Typography.

von Katherine K

13. Dez. 2016

If you are beginners in typography this course is for you! =)