Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
3,540 Bewertungen
704 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

576 - 600 von 678 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Kristín L

Jun 05, 2016

Overall I really enjoyed this course. My only input is that it could be a bit more advanced. I realize it's an "Introduction" course, but if you have just the smallest interests in typography, theres a lot of these things, you already know.

von Raquel Z W

Jul 18, 2017

It was really good to learn about the fundamental of Typography in this course. The only con is that, in my point of view, it is really hard to give a consistent feedback for other colleagues when you are just a beginner.

von Sakshi J

May 12, 2018

It was a wonderful course with brief but concise delivery of various aspects of typography. I wish the grading was done by experts and not peers, as it would have helped me receive some valuable expert feedback.

von Leroy S

May 23, 2016

Very good overall explanations on the basics of Typography. Anther Kiley did a great job of explaining things in a simple yet detailed format. I never realized there was so much to letters and words in type!

von Helen H

Mar 20, 2019

I liked the course overall and found it informative. I think that the topics in week 3 and 4 could be combined. I also wasn't sure where I could post questions to clarify something in the assignments.

von Rose G

Aug 02, 2019

I was excited to learn about typography, these assignments were fun to do. I wished there were more assignments to create more posters for this typography course, overall I enjoyed and learned a lot.

von Roger X M

Apr 10, 2018

Good way to start with typography. The only problem I see is that there is not enough practice. I think that maybe with two or three more exercises it would be better. But in general, good course!!

von Louise D

Jun 14, 2017

Clear content and actual homework that lets you understand what you just studied. A very useful course ! Thank you so much for sharing this, it's incredible to be able to learn from home.

von Allison C

Nov 26, 2016

I would have liked a few more / longer videos, but I really found the assignments helpful. I like how each one built off of each other, so the final project did not feel so overwhelming.

von Md. N M H

May 14, 2020

I recommend enrolling in online courses that allow you to gain insights into how you want to build yours typography differently. All of this can be done if you take this course.

von Sazidur r

Jun 24, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. The instructor was able to communicate the importance aspect of typography. Being an introductory course, the content was really diverse. Thank you,

von Harshal B

Nov 29, 2016

This is a fantastic course to start with Typography. This course will help you get the basics of typography and fonts. Highly recommended if you are starting out in this field.

von Emmelie K G

Jan 26, 2020

In general a great course where you learn a lot about typography. But it was a little to easy I think. Worked through this course in 1 week and didn't feel pressured at all.

von Christos C

Aug 18, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable and didactic! Some further elaboration on each subject would do it merit. Poster design should be optional — not everyone is keen on handling software.

von David V

Mar 15, 2016

Nice, brief intro to typography. Good, clear lecture content and interesting assignments. I feel like the "by the book" assignment should not be entirely peer graded.

von Georgina P

Sep 20, 2017

Recomendated for those who want to learn about how to be creative with typography and for designers of course. Letters and words are key part of the compossition.

von Christine

Jun 13, 2016

I'm hooked on typography now. I've read a number of the books that were recommended. Instructor was interesting and the material was engaging. Would recommend.

von Alvaro M

Apr 03, 2019

This got me started into typography by giving me the confidence that only foundational theory can. Totally recommended if you want to understand the basics!

von Eunice M A

May 17, 2020

Muy buen curso, interesante y aprendí muchísimo sobre la historia de la tipografía, creo que le falta más parte práctica, por eso le pongo 4 estrellas

von Laurensia L S

Aug 21, 2019

It's very useful and clear, and I love Week 4's project. But the assignments and videos are less exciting than Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

von Regina J

Jun 13, 2020

The course was a little dry, but it was quite informative and made me look at typeface differently. I love that I gained new vocabulary.

von yariv d

Mar 30, 2016

Very basic course. I enjoyed the lessons and the assignments. Gave some fundamental view and perspective about the field of typography.

von Daniil T

Aug 15, 2016

Nice, interesting course. I went through it with pleasure.

But there is so little information, you can definitely give more :)

von Daria H

Jun 20, 2016

Lots of interesting insights and good structure of the course. I wish the areas were covered a little more extensively though.

von Syed M A

Apr 16, 2020

There should have been more content and optional exercise for practices. Also some tips and tricks of using Adobe Indesign.