Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
3,617 Bewertungen
724 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

601 - 625 von 698 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Harshal B

Nov 29, 2016

This is a fantastic course to start with Typography. This course will help you get the basics of typography and fonts. Highly recommended if you are starting out in this field.

von Emmelie K G

Jan 26, 2020

In general a great course where you learn a lot about typography. But it was a little to easy I think. Worked through this course in 1 week and didn't feel pressured at all.

von Christos C

Aug 18, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable and didactic! Some further elaboration on each subject would do it merit. Poster design should be optional — not everyone is keen on handling software.

von David V

Mar 15, 2016

Nice, brief intro to typography. Good, clear lecture content and interesting assignments. I feel like the "by the book" assignment should not be entirely peer graded.

von Katie S

Jul 07, 2020

This was a great course--really introductory and yet also really informative. I will definitely take some of the things I learned into future design work! Thanks!

von Georgina P

Sep 20, 2017

Recomendated for those who want to learn about how to be creative with typography and for designers of course. Letters and words are key part of the compossition.

von Christine

Jun 13, 2016

I'm hooked on typography now. I've read a number of the books that were recommended. Instructor was interesting and the material was engaging. Would recommend.

von Carola M

Jul 10, 2020

A well done course, but it doesn't actually explain you anything about programs of graphics. Assignments can be very hard if you have never used any of them

von Alvaro M

Apr 03, 2019

This got me started into typography by giving me the confidence that only foundational theory can. Totally recommended if you want to understand the basics!

von Eunice M A

May 17, 2020

Muy buen curso, interesante y aprendí muchísimo sobre la historia de la tipografía, creo que le falta más parte práctica, por eso le pongo 4 estrellas

von Laurensia L S

Aug 21, 2019

It's very useful and clear, and I love Week 4's project. But the assignments and videos are less exciting than Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

von Regina J

Jun 13, 2020

The course was a little dry, but it was quite informative and made me look at typeface differently. I love that I gained new vocabulary.

von yariv d

Mar 30, 2016

Very basic course. I enjoyed the lessons and the assignments. Gave some fundamental view and perspective about the field of typography.

von Daniil T

Aug 15, 2016

Nice, interesting course. I went through it with pleasure.

But there is so little information, you can definitely give more :)

von Daria H

Jun 20, 2016

Lots of interesting insights and good structure of the course. I wish the areas were covered a little more extensively though.

von Syed M A

Apr 16, 2020

There should have been more content and optional exercise for practices. Also some tips and tricks of using Adobe Indesign.

von Britt B C

Jun 11, 2017

I found this course, a bit boring on presentation, but really interesting on topic. I also really enjoyed the projects

von Alexander H

Feb 01, 2020

I had some trouble with the final project. I felt like it was too subjective and was harder to receive criticism.

von Broderick S

Jun 20, 2016

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

von Ricardo B

Sep 11, 2016

3.5 stars

A quick introduction to Typography that left me feeling there is so much more to learn and know.

von Devi R

Mar 08, 2017

Very Helpful! But maybe when an experienced lecturer grades the assignments it will make a difference.

von Simmy S

May 11, 2020

The course was exactly what I was looking for, I would have loved to have a more advanced course too.

von Gyula W

Jan 23, 2017

Course stuff could have better interaction and response time and grading could be more challenging.

von Chris L

Sep 24, 2019

it felt a lot the same as another course but teaches you how to look from another perspective too

von Robert O A

Aug 25, 2017

Interesting entry lesson to typography and went through all basic rules of thumb on how to think.