Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
3,807 Bewertungen
765 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

651 - 675 von 739 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Daria H

Jun 20, 2016

Lots of interesting insights and good structure of the course. I wish the areas were covered a little more extensively though.

von Syed M A

Apr 16, 2020

There should have been more content and optional exercise for practices. Also some tips and tricks of using Adobe Indesign.

von Britt B C

Jun 11, 2017

I found this course, a bit boring on presentation, but really interesting on topic. I also really enjoyed the projects

von Alexander H

Feb 01, 2020

I had some trouble with the final project. I felt like it was too subjective and was harder to receive criticism.

von Broderick S

Jun 20, 2016

Well-made videos. Assignments could be more rigorous. Not too much overlap with first course in specialization.

von Ricardo B

Sep 11, 2016

3.5 stars

A quick introduction to Typography that left me feeling there is so much more to learn and know.

von Devi R

Mar 08, 2017

Very Helpful! But maybe when an experienced lecturer grades the assignments it will make a difference.

von Simmy S

May 11, 2020

The course was exactly what I was looking for, I would have loved to have a more advanced course too.

von Gyula W

Jan 23, 2017

Course stuff could have better interaction and response time and grading could be more challenging.

von Chris L

Sep 24, 2019

it felt a lot the same as another course but teaches you how to look from another perspective too

von Robert O A

Aug 25, 2017

Interesting entry lesson to typography and went through all basic rules of thumb on how to think.

von Sasha B

Mar 29, 2017

Good short course. I would have like a few more quizzes on top of the assignements for repetition

von Amélie P

Jun 02, 2018

Really cool course! But it was really to short. More lectures and more projects should be great.

von Kirstin H

Jul 30, 2020

Wish we where given more direction and examples of what was wanted.

But enjoyed the instructor.

von Abbie W

Apr 12, 2017

I would like some input from the instructors on all the Graphic Design specialization courses.

von Margaret T

May 16, 2020

I understand more about typography and learnt the theory behind. The assignments are useful

von P Z C

May 27, 2017

Typography got really interesting after the teacher told many different artists in history.

von Christine S

Feb 05, 2017

Very basic introduction to typography. The material a bit more simplistic than I had hoped.

von 邱菁

May 16, 2016

Nice course! Hope the teacher can give us more instruction about how to design typography.

von Shaivy B

Oct 17, 2017

not being able to submit my assignments even though I took a financial aid, please help

von spencer z

Aug 06, 2017

i would prefer more case study or posters comparison! but still, this class is awesome!

von Sandesh S

Feb 22, 2017

The course was really fun and I learned a lot. I wish there was more to this course.

von Andrea S A

Jun 28, 2020

It's very helpful to understand how important is the typography in any composition

von Joly F Z

Jun 14, 2018

A good intro course to Typograph - with basic information and practical skills.

von James H

Apr 01, 2018

A few key snippets here and there have really enhanced my typographic fluency.