Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,798 Bewertungen
548 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 522 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Afifa A

Jul 12, 2018

I enjoyed it... :)

von Francisco C

Aug 07, 2016

Great Course

von Denisse C R T

Nov 13, 2016

i love it

von Junsong L

Apr 10, 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

von Marie-Noëlle W

Apr 20, 2016

This was a quite technical course which allowed me to learn a lot about typography and how it works. I found the video material very interesting and liked how all the assignments were linked to one other by building off each other. Great course!

von Jennifer T

May 05, 2016

Fantastic course!

von Hongjoo Y

Aug 24, 2016

This course was even better than the previous course of the specialization. It explains historical, technical part of the typography and assignments were very well related. Well designed course.

von Veena V

May 09, 2016

The course material is very informative and delves into the history and evolution of typography. The assignments are very interesting and help understand the concepts better.

von Jennifer H

Sep 22, 2016

Great course on typography. It gives great historical background on various typefaces and explains a lot of the technical pieces to them as well.

von Michael D

Mar 21, 2016

Lectures are great - very informative and interesting. I appreciate the work that went in to creating the course!

von Olena T

Apr 04, 2016

It's very interesting fun and useful course. Every lecture is interesting, every minute! Thanks for your work and perfect lectures!

von Daniele C

Apr 19, 2016

Great course!!!!

von Renee T

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course for beginners in typography and typographical design,

von Liliya G

Mar 26, 2016

Deep information, given in easy way, interesting assignments

von Hayden P

Nov 13, 2016

Really Enjoyed it. very Useful

von Aakanksha T

Apr 14, 2016

As a self-taught designer, this course helped me learn a lot more about typography than good ol' hands-on experience has, to date. Great course. Thanks so much! :)

von Anne-Sophie M

Aug 20, 2016

Really good course! The assignments are very well designed and just make you to learn more about typography.

von Carla P L

Apr 19, 2016

Loved it!!! Super helpful and fun! Amazing!

von Blanca J S

Aug 08, 2016

Great course! A little basic for those who already know a little about design but I enjoyed it a lot.

von Francisco C C

Dec 30, 2016

Basic and functional, informative and good techers.

von Tevah P

Apr 14, 2018

The scaffolding of the assignments was really elegant and this class presented a lot of information in engaging videos.

von AC

Jul 03, 2016

liked the course, quite in-depth, but also interesting!

von 黄楚风

Sep 02, 2016

A very inspiring course!

von Ineke v E

Jun 12, 2016

Good course! Learned a lot.

von Dijana M

Sep 29, 2016

Excellent course. Highly recommended.