Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,667 Bewertungen
532 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 508 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Alexandra K

May 31, 2016

For me as a complete beginner in typography that was a really informative course. It is a beginner's level, lets you understand if you want to study typography further or that would be enough for your purposes. Thanks!

von Shiela O

Jul 16, 2016

I was able to learn a lot about Typography and apply it on my works!

von Alice C

Apr 07, 2016

I learned a lot about typography and I find it very instructional for someone in the beginning. Thank you CalArts and Coursera team!

von Gaetano S

Apr 02, 2016

It was truly inspirational. Loved the theory associated with more practical assignments and, above all, the teacher was extremely clear and concise

von Monique P P

May 24, 2016

Interesting course! I learned a lot from this course and from my peers. Thank you so much for offering it.

von Pedro M P R

Jul 14, 2016

Great course! Recommended!

von Carissa F

Apr 01, 2016

great introduction to key concepts of typography and typographic design. lectures were easy to follow, assignments had clear instructions.

von Miroshnikova I

Oct 30, 2017

Thank you for this awesome course! I am starting to understand now how typefaces work and what each of them is designed for!

von Xiomara C

Apr 28, 2016

I love this course. I learn a lot about typefaces, I used to picked the type just because they look pretty... so wrong with that!!!

von Isaac B

Jun 06, 2017

Fantastic course and well worth the time.

von Melissa S

Mar 27, 2016

Great informative course!

von Joel D B

Nov 19, 2017

Very good and well-structured introductory course. Information is clearly laid out in engaging videos, and each new exercise builds satisfyingly on the previous week.

von Katherine K

Dec 13, 2016

If you are beginners in typography this course is for you! =)

von Gail W

Apr 03, 2016

Great lectures & examples! Very appreciative of the California Institute of the Arts for creating this course and others.

One additional thing that would have been nice would have been an organised forum for each typeface to see what others had done. I always wanted to find others who were working on my typeface, but the review process was just random and I only came across a couple. I had some communication in a discussion forum, but only with one person. Would have been efficient to have organised forums by typeface & highly educational too!

von Sanskruti

Apr 18, 2016

Great intro to typography. I enjoyed it and feel more confident in understanding basic typography and now know where I can find information on type! Thank You

von Angelica B

Oct 31, 2016

I absolutely loved this course and I could see the impact it had on my design work. It has been the perfect basis to learn about Typography.

von Ricardo G

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent course!!!

von Alekseeva K

Apr 09, 2016

The course gives fundamentals of typography in a clear and very interesting way. I adore the structure of the course and the lector's speech. The content is extremely useful. Every designer and editor should know those things. Mostly they don't even if they think they do.

von Utku K

Jun 22, 2016

Nice course.

von 魏清君

Jun 18, 2016

Love typography and love this course.

von Justina S

Jan 04, 2018

Great and interesting course, i enjoyed being a part of it !

von parvez a

Oct 27, 2016

I wish I would have found this course a little earlier in my career. I can now justify my usage of typeface in any projects.

The course is short and well thought.

I would really appreciate if there can be more assignments to design a brand identify, user interface, magazine layout etc.

von MOHANA D

May 13, 2018

Very very informative !

von Ramasundari B

Aug 08, 2016

Loved it. Great content. Userful assignments. Most importantly, kept it interesting. Thank you.

von Zackary A K

Jul 06, 2017

This was a very enjoyable introduction to Typography. The more I study typography, the more I am able to appreciate the high quality of this brief introduction.