Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,678 Bewertungen
535 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 511 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Marta D C A

Jan 18, 2018

beautifuly taught, perfect introduction and instruction. Do highly recommend it.

von Kristian J L D R

Mar 19, 2017

I Really Enjoyed the course

von Prahlad G

Apr 05, 2016

Beautifully Organised.

von Khadijah A

Oct 06, 2016

Great and organized material in a very step by step building of skills. Great class!

von Nene W

Feb 06, 2017

loved this course and learning about typography. I would highly recommend it.

von Gerald T

Jul 20, 2017

Very interactive

von OlgaYermolina

Dec 01, 2017

very informative

von Olena

Jun 05, 2017

Great course that covers basics you need to know in order to move in GD direction!

von Eva H

Nov 26, 2017

Great course. I love the videos; they are short, specific and right to the main points. I enjoyed all the assignments and creating my designs from scratch.

Thanks to the tutor!

von Zolcsák T D

Dec 16, 2017

Interesting course

von Brianna P

Apr 07, 2016

This class gave a great introduction to Typography! The instructor did a great job at bringing Typography to life. The content of the course was very approachable.

von Andre M O

Aug 28, 2016

perfect the approaches to typography

von Torsten R

May 23, 2016

Initially, I took the course just for general interest in typography. The nice experience I made here convinced me to go deeper into the material in the future. I definitely learned something that took me some steps forward.

I especially liked the well-made videos. They are very good to listen to and they are very clearly designed, it is making things easy to understand.

In the exams and in the peer reviews, it seemed to make a difference that some students had already taken the Graphics Design Specialization.

I can definitely recommend this course.

von lhys

Sep 29, 2016

The videos are beautifully edited and interesting to watch. There's a good amount of information, without making the course overwhelming. The assignments are clear and focused on the content.

von Amanda W

Apr 17, 2016

Great introductory course, that really helped me to understand typography a LOT better. I now get what my friends are on about when they get all excited about typefaces! I really like the way that the course develops your knowledge, and gets you to practice and upgrade your skills as you go. Although it was only 4 weeks, I feel SO much more confident in my knowledge and understanding.

von Eugen M

Aug 20, 2016

Perfect presentation.

Full of information, but, being excellent exposed, it's relatively easy to understand.

Excellent course!

von Stefanie v d B

Jan 09, 2017

learned a lot more again

von Fahim A M

Aug 09, 2017

Learnt a lot

von Assel N

Jul 12, 2016

This course is very informative and interesting! I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

von Ruping M

Nov 14, 2016

Great theory and practices.

von Eleni T

Nov 22, 2016

Starting the course I wasn't that into typography. The seminar gave me an other more interesting and creative point of view on that field.

von Camila V T

Nov 06, 2016

Muy buen curso, cumple con todo lo necesario para ser una excelente manera de introducirse a la tipografía. Cada unidad es muy sencilla de seguir y cualquier puede aprender y realizar los ejercicios. Además, las presentaciones y material visual son de alta calidad.

von Ujjwal

Apr 19, 2016

very good

von Lidia B

Apr 08, 2016

Plenty of information on various aspects of typography presented in detail and in a comrehensive manner, as well as engaging exercises really boost your knowledge and broaden your design horizons!

von Igor S F d A

May 14, 2016

It is a great oportunity to learn.