Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
2,798 Bewertungen
548 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 522 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von Nicole F

Jun 08, 2016

For a short course it worked out very well.

von Andre M O

Aug 28, 2016

perfect the approaches to typography

von Torsten R

May 23, 2016

Initially, I took the course just for general interest in typography. The nice experience I made here convinced me to go deeper into the material in the future. I definitely learned something that took me some steps forward.

I especially liked the well-made videos. They are very good to listen to and they are very clearly designed, it is making things easy to understand.

In the exams and in the peer reviews, it seemed to make a difference that some students had already taken the Graphics Design Specialization.

I can definitely recommend this course.

von Katarina B

Nov 10, 2016

very good quality, very good teachers.

von Blanca

Apr 26, 2016

very useful

von Luka D

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

von Lili C

Apr 12, 2016

I really enjoyed the historical background this course provided. Since finishing the course, I've started to develop a love for typography and it seems to pop into my mind more often when I read or see something visually stimulating.

von Erhan D

Mar 23, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.

von Tigran G

Oct 23, 2017

I enter the world of typography, typeface, fonts, greeds, expressive posters and etc. It was realy cool

von Sarah N

Jul 10, 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

von Tarang S

Mar 28, 2017

This course is brilliant... that's all I can say.

von Diana-Mihaela S

Aug 12, 2016

I highly recommend this course! Before taking it, typography was some sort of mystical art, now everything is crystal clear. Concise and to the point, the course allows you to gain essential knowledge.

von Anusha

Oct 15, 2017

I literally love this subject. It has given me a lot a of information from basic to advanced.

von Patricia M C

May 15, 2017

Maravilloso a pesar no manejarme en el mismo idioma puede aprender bastante con algo más de tiempo y esfuerzo

von Kristian J L D R

Mar 19, 2017

I Really Enjoyed the course

von Khadijah A

Oct 06, 2016

Great and organized material in a very step by step building of skills. Great class!

von OlgaYermolina

Dec 01, 2017

very informative

von Olena

Jun 05, 2017

Great course that covers basics you need to know in order to move in GD direction!

von celina o

Mar 30, 2016

Very accessible, clear and well documented course

von Katty A

Apr 17, 2016

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

von Oleg R

Feb 01, 2018

Very nice cource

von Lynn K

Jan 25, 2017

This course is good to understand basic typography. Teacher had detail and good explanations.

von Viorel-Daniel S

Sep 12, 2017

Well presented with relevant assignments and very interesting material.

von Fatin I

Aug 23, 2016

I've always wanted to learn typography but learning on it's own without any practice is really boring. The assignments are really good in applying what I have learnt, making the learning really enjoyable. The course teacher is super zen and loving his style of teaching. I would want to take this full design course some day.

von Shubham Y

Nov 20, 2017

Good Course for beginners. Covers fundamentals of Typography.