Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
4,245 Bewertungen
865 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

BG
3. Aug. 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SZ
27. Aug. 2020

i really enjoyed this course and i liked the part where we interact with other artists around the world. i learned a lot about typography and i think it'm ready to continue in my journey with art.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 839 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von AnSo M

20. Aug. 2016

Really good course! The assignments are very well designed and just make you to learn more about typography.

von Anna K

2. Mai 2016

Very interesting and helpful, especially for me as a beginner. Great lecturer.

Thanks a lot for this course!

von Ana K

13. Juni 2020

I liked this course very much. I like typography and during this course, I learned more about the typeface.

von Aigoz A

21. Apr. 2020

The substantial course on Typography. A lot of interesting detailed information and practical assignments.

von Monique P P

23. Mai 2016

Interesting course! I learned a lot from this course and from my peers. Thank you so much for offering it.

von Saurabh G

14. Mai 2016

I loved this course. Everything is explained really well and the assignments are pretty good too. 5 stars!

von Shibu P

16. Apr. 2019

An informative course which makes you aware of a bundle of essential knowledge about typefaces and fonts.

von Prachiti D

16. Juli 2020

This course is well formed and easy to understand. Very helpful in expanding knowledge about typography.

von Ola A A

17. Mai 2020

I really love the way the course being represented, it was fun and informative, I enjoyed it so much💕💕

von Amanda J V

17. Okt. 2016

This was a fun introduction to typography. I really enjoyed the assignments and the informative lessons.

von Jorge R O T

17. Aug. 2020

very complete i really enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to incorporate typography into my future work

von Keisuke F

19. Dez. 2019

Very good course. I've learned about typography a lot.

I tried making some logs and customers like them.

von Tigran G

23. Okt. 2017

I enter the world of typography, typeface, fonts, greeds, expressive posters and etc. It was realy cool

von Rumana

8. Okt. 2017

Typography and grammar came together, win-win! Guess what my favourite subject is now? Its Typography.

von Tanjim T J

29. Nov. 2016

It was a great experience.I have learnt many important and useful things.Thanks to coursera and CalArt

von Courtney A

4. Apr. 2016

Very informative and a lot of fun to learn about! I also thought the assignments were very beneficial.

von Blanca J S

8. Aug. 2016

Great course! A little basic for those who already know a little about design but I enjoyed it a lot.

von Amber M

23. Juni 2020

I really enjoyed this course, I gained a deeper understanding of typography and its place in design.

von Emilio R

18. Aug. 2018

Very well explained lessons on Typography with assigments that improve your understanding. Thank you

von Sanjana B

8. Nov. 2020

This course was really informative and interesting. I genuinely enjoyed completing the assignments.

von Nathalie A

21. Juli 2020

It was really helpful. Everything was clear and it really made it easier than how it is. Thank you!

von Jefferson O S

11. Mai 2020

The concepts are well explained and the methodology encourages you to explore more than the basics.

von Dana R S

16. Okt. 2017

Recommended for beginners and self-taught typographers. Good explanation on basics and foundations.

von Wei-Ru L

5. Sep. 2016

Detailed knowledges of typography. It's also very practical for applying to any kind of design job.

von Rodrigo B

17. Aug. 2020

Is a great course! I learned important things here, and is a good way to start to work with types.