Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Typography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Typography von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
4,167 Bewertungen
849 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SK

Jun 05, 2020

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtern nach:

676 - 700 von 823 Bewertungen für Introduction to Typography

von chise

Feb 09, 2020

good

von Mehrdad k

Jul 22, 2019

good

von Enas A M T

May 22, 2019

Good

von Medhat H M M

Jan 28, 2019

Nice

von Winnie W

Jun 30, 2017

good

von Владимир К

Jul 26, 2016

G

von Daria D

Sep 18, 2020

The course materials were excellent. It was a challenging and an interesting course.

Why do I remove a star?

The assessment is based almost entirely on peer review. For me it was an opportunity to see other peoples' work. I tried to give the helpful and detailed reviews. I didn't receive the same in return: the reviews I got where one sentence long (one of them was "good job").

I think that the course should include a feedback from the reviewed on the review, and this should be part of the final score. Something along the lines of: "was this review helpful?"

von Millicent E

Jul 31, 2020

Great course! I learned so much about typography in a short amount of time. The history of typography wasn't something I thought I would be interested in, but in this course you'll see how much typography is influenced by its history. The examples -- and there are dozens -- are also amazing, I ended up screenshotting a lot of them so I can look back later.

The only thing I would change is that I wish the example images were downloadable, so I didn't have to pause-screenshot-unpause the videos every few seconds.

Overall, time and money well spent.

von Rama A

Aug 13, 2018

This course is very good. Gave me a whole new experience with Letters. Powerful lesson in Typography. After this course, I have started noticing the words and their styles in almost everywhere I see them and in every brand.

Cons: Since the assignments are graded by peers, you won't always get a grade you expect. Peers are also learning and sometimes they grade and review according to their own perceptions and knowledge. Some can be at least fair if not generous ;)

von Melissa O

Aug 17, 2017

It was nice to work with type and our own words. It felt like a more "concrete" change from the first course in this specialization where we only worked with shapes and lines. It would have been nice to have slightly more involved projects. It instead felt like we were packaging and repackaging the same copy for a month. I know that the intent was for us to focus on layout and placement, but after a while it felt state to be moving around the same content.

von Chic C

Nov 22, 2018

Very good course. I find some parts very convoluted with information and very fast paced. I had to keep rewinding the videos to catch all the information because it was too much for one 4 minute video in most cases.

Besides from the inconvenience of having to stop and go back several several times, the information is amazing and the visual exercises are incredible.

I hate not being able to send my homework but oh well... no money.

von Niamh F

Mar 28, 2016

This class taught me a lot about the basics of typography, however I didn't feel too encouraged creatively compared to the last class in this series. I understand that type is a bit more structured and requires more attention to detail and rules than other forms of visual art, but I wish there was a bit more content similar to the content in week 4 where we are encouraged to get creative.

von Annamaria J

Aug 28, 2017

I would rate this course 3.5 stars. I had to pause and rewind the videos a lot because they were fast and packed a lot of information, which is great but it was also sort of misleading that they appeared to be short videos but in reality they were rather "rushed". This course was less on hands in comparison with the first in this specialization, but altogether interesting and engaging.

von Dan R

Sep 19, 2016

The videos were very succinct and unobtrusively informative. The professor's approach was very good for a fundamentals course. My only real complaint would be the peer review system being the only provider of grades on the final project. The final grading feedback would be benefitted by the professor himself or a set of trained moderators that have more insight on design conventions.

von Ar. S D

Jun 25, 2020

This course is apt for learners wishing to dig deeper into Typography know-hows.

I liked the course,though I wish it were a bit more intense with more hands-on practice and exercises. I feel it will create a better impression and long term memory when the learners get more to practice. Thank you to the team for making this course and special thanks to the Instructor. God bless.

:)

von Tyrand M

Dec 22, 2016

I enjoyed the information, although the typography section was a bit brief. The course does help myself and others to get an idea of what an actual on-site course might consist of. I have been wanting to take a type/lettering class at my current school but have had the chance. Course was mostly informative and taught me ways to research and design.

von Alastair T

Sep 18, 2020

Does what it's supposed to! If you're earnest about watching the videos & doing the assignments, you'll learn a lot. I've been interested in typography my whole life & I certainly learned a lot just responding to different sorts of challenges. I also learned a lot from writing peer reviews: the why & how of a piece.

von keondra b f

Feb 28, 2020

the course covers the very basic elements of typography. i didn’t like that all coursework was graded by peers and that the core elements of the course hadn’t been updated in years. i found the reading and resource lists very helpful and look forward to learning more throughout the graphic design certificate course

von Alice H

Oct 20, 2016

The last assignment wasn't as specific, and I wound up giving people lower grades than I should've. Be more specific when you use the phrase "secondary piece". I thought it was referring to the notes we took, not the text that's supposed to go below the title and subtitle.

Really good class. It was very interesting.

von Lisa J

Apr 02, 2018

The information was valuable. The final two assignments were good. The last assignment made learning the material more interesting. It would be nice if the other lectures allowed for more creative interactive so as to help create a more memorable experience allowing the information to “stick” more.

von Minaketan O

Jul 07, 2020

Great course! The Videos were great and the instructor was awesome, but it felt quite short for my liking and would have preferred if it went more in-depth in other typographic topics but nonetheless it was a great course. Can easily recommend it anyone trying to up their typography game.

von Dries N

Jul 21, 2017

Good but should have more peer rating on creativity/originality. Now even the most boring design of 5 min work will succeed as long as it has the requested parameters ( to many like 'does it have 3 different styles' and not many like 'how creative/original/appealing is the design).

von Aurisha

Sep 04, 2020

If you took the Fundamentals of Graphic Design, a lot of this info is repeat. I still enjoyed the assignments and learning some of the psychology behind type. Good if you want to solidify what you learned prior, or if you never took the other course, I would definitely recommend.

von Jason Y

May 14, 2018

Perfect fundamental typography course for those like me who learned on the job, but now need to learn the "why" things needs to be the way they are regarding type. Loved the section on modern day typography characteristics and enjoyed completing my typographic poster!

von Meron N

Jul 07, 2020

Some good introductions to typography and its history and also a good component of the 5 course graphic design specialty. Some frustration with individuals not giving feedback on assignments although you can resubmit assignments if looking for more peer reviews.