Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat von University of Maryland, College Park

4.7
219 Bewertungen
64 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence housed at the University of Maryland, offers a course looking at the who, what and how of Terrorism Studies, by introducing students to cutting-edge research from the social and behavioral sciences and the experts investigating these topics. The course will begin with a unit looking at widely held myths about terrorism and utilizing empirical data to discuss the realities of broad trends and patterns in terrorist attacks over time. The course will then review the psychological factors at play in individual radicalization and recruitment into terrorism, followed by an analysis of terrorist group dynamics. The course will next look at terrorist group operations, including their attacks and some of the supporting behaviors that allow them to carry out attacks, including use of media, financing, recruitment, and training. The course will conclude by looking at the factors that drive terrorist group persistence or endurance versus terrorist group desistance, and will bring the varied course concepts together through a detailed look at the case of Al-Qa’ida. Throughout the course, students will have the opportunity to study and work with the University of Maryland’s Global Terrorism Database (GTD), the largest database of terrorist incidents in the world, learning its capabilities and developing basic skills in searching and displaying terrorism data....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

DB

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 60 Bewertungen für Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat

von Kofi B

Jun 21, 2018

This course is amazing and very insigntfull

von Jesse H

Mar 27, 2017

I enjoyed going through this course. The material was fascinating and the instructors provided great detail regarding the data and research.

von Jiří K

Jul 09, 2017

Very nice course, only the waiting for assessment was little annyoing.

von Nanda F A

Nov 23, 2016

recommended course...thanks for START team...

von Paul

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent introduction to terrorism studies. The lectures were interesting and engaging, and the course materials were well-presented. The final assignment gave us the chance to apply many of the things we'd learned in the course. I'd highly recommend this!

(This was also my first MOOC - and I enjoyed the experience greatly. Looking forward to taking my next course...!)

von José W B d S M

Apr 24, 2018

Very interesting content presented by very good professors .

von Alejandro A B

Nov 28, 2017

Es un curso que abre la mente a quienes nos interesa el tema, y particularmente a los que vivimos en paises que no controlan ni tienen en cuenta estos tópicos.

von Alfred W P I

Jun 20, 2017

This was an excellent course that gave me a broad view of the terrorism threat. At the same time, we examined many specifics particular to certain groups and and challenges faced when dealing with terrorism. I highly enjoyed the course and will continue my studies on this subject.

von BILU K

Feb 24, 2017

I love this course..thanks to coursera and professors for the course..wonderful

von Udo H

May 04, 2018

Definitely raises the understanding of Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat and puts a lot of bias and preconditions into the "right light". Worth attending!

von abdirizak m h

Apr 06, 2018

helpfull

von Joseph A J

Mar 28, 2017

I loved this course! I have taken a variety of other terrorism courses over the years and this is definitely one of the best courses I have ever been involved in. I will recommend this course to anyone seeking to expand their knowledge base!

von Livingstone N M

Dec 21, 2016

A very good course in the modern times where there is increased terrorism threat across the globe,,

von Melissa J H

Dec 16, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. Much of the knowledge I thought I had coming into the course was erroneous or skewed by the media. Highly recommend this course to anyone in the law enforcement field/homeland sec field, or who just wants to learn more on the subject!

von Sohail N K

Aug 11, 2017

An excellent course well designed to elucidate the chores of terrorism through an empirical perspective so as to base the countering endeavours on a logical edifice of practical and appropriate solution to eradicate this menace from the civilized world. Well done.

von Halwest A S

May 15, 2019

AMAZING

von Eric F

Aug 15, 2019

excellent course. highly recommend it to others.

von Seth D M F

Sep 26, 2019

Nice

von Tofail A

Sep 28, 2019

Nowadays, "Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat" is a big challenge to the humankind. We have to know in concise way of extremism to prevent and protect it through the channel and respond in proper mechanisms. It's a correct time to learn and put in practice...

von Shawn J K

Feb 20, 2019

Pretty good course! Some of the content is outdated but I am still likely to recommend it to others.

von Donovan M

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent and a wealth of information. It would have been 5 stars if the content was current to at least 2017/18.

von Edson A M

Oct 27, 2016

That's a great course with a lot of updated information about the terrorism in the world.

von André S

Nov 10, 2016

Great Course!!

von Jaime P P

Aug 14, 2017

Great Course, the study notes and additional resources are really helpful.

von Brunaud

Jun 15, 2018

Very useful and interesting cours .