Chevron Left
Zurück zu Unraveling the Cycling City

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Unraveling the Cycling City von Universität von Amsterdam

4.9
Sterne
219 Bewertungen
98 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Obscured by its apparent simplicity, cycling is a complex phenomenon. Being an almost perfect human-machine hybrid, cycling is deeply rooted in a plethora of socio-technological systems. Around the world cycling is embraced as an important ingredient to tackle a wide variety of individual and societal challenges. The Netherlands is often seen as an ideal living lab, because cycling has retained its significant share of mobility throughout the country. At the same time, there are large differences in developments across time and space, that allows for a better understanding of potential causal relations. This is also increasingly recognized by (inter)national top tier researchers from many different academic fields. They are uncovering reciprocal relations of cycling with spatial, ecological, historical, social, cultural, economic, biological and political structures. Unraveling the Cycling City bundles the state-of-the-art knowledge that emerges from research and practice on the Dutch cycling system. As such, it provides an easily accessible platform to learn about important causes and effects, to open minds for the complexity of the entire system and to support group deliberations around the world....

Top-Bewertungen

RS

3. Okt. 2020

Wide range of content including relevant literature journals, media and videos. Well structured and considered. A course that is both simple to progress through and offers great depth to the subject.

C

20. März 2022

The course has selected really interesting articles and videos. The course gave me a much more open view, it taught me to see opportunities instead of seeing only problems with cycling and cities.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 99 Bewertungen für Unraveling the Cycling City

von Jessica A

14. Mai 2020

This layout of this course was completely unique and extremely engaging. It really stimulates critical thinking about the interplay of various factors and how they can shape a cycling city. I personally really enjoyed this course and it inspired me to hopefully continue researching and learning about this.

von Roberta C

1. Apr. 2020

Un corso sulla città ciclabile osservata da diversi punti di vista - pianificazione, società, economia - e realizzato con la massima cura dall'Istituto di Ciclabilità Urbana dell'Università di Amsterdam, che raccoglie i migliori esperti al mondo su questo tema. Eccellente opportunità e grande ispirazione.

von Niren J

6. Mai 2020

A well structured course, providing great insights for cycling activists, planners or for anyone else desiring to learn about cycling experiences in urban areas. The course takes one through various perspectives, often through off beaten track when compared to the standard transport planning practices.

von Laurence P

5. Mai 2020

Cours très riche, très intéressant avec de bonnes surprises. Il m'a permis de renforcer ma culture vélo et de l'ouvrir vers de nouvelles perspectives. Il m'a donné envie de retourner faire du vélo aux Pays-Bas pour observer les flux de cyclistes, pour expérimenter les aménagements.

von Katya C

11. Aug. 2020

Very informative course, full of great resources including research articles, videos, interviews, webinars, etc Really enjoyed zoom discussions with fellow students and learn from their experiences. The course gave me vocabulary to advocate for bike infrastructure in my community.

von Robert C

12. Feb. 2020

Very insightful MOOC, i have learnt a lot and will take away new gained knowledge and thoughts to deliver into my professional and also personal life! All the personnel and staff that contributed to the content, have invaluable skills and knowledge ready to be soaked up.

von Ben T

9. Nov. 2021

I highly recommend this course to anyone thinking seriously about improving the balance of our transport networks around the world. The unboxing of how cycling fits into the urban environment was revealing and thought provoking for my own professional practice.

von Maxime L

12. Mai 2020

Cours d'une grande richesse. On peut alors imaginer la ville durable de demain, pensée pour l'homme (et le vélo) et non plus pour la voiture.

Great course. I can now think the tomorrow's sustainable city, build for person (and thus bikes) and no more fo cars.

von Anna W

8. Mai 2020

A fascinating course which packs a lot into its four weeks, illuminating the complexity of cycling within historical, social and urban contexts and providing plenty of inspiration for further learning, both academically and in real life. Highly recommended.

von Rahul R

16. Feb. 2020

This course is a wonderful guided tour of the cycling world. Cycling is a cultural phenomenon which is entirely nonlinear and sometimes unpredictable due to its vast culture, dynamics and infrastructure that exists in cycling-friendly Dutch society. Thanks.

von Tom A

5. Okt. 2020

Informative and thought provoking. Good insight into why Dutch cycling works so well and what is "missing" in the UK. Will use the content in my day to day work as a sustainable transport engineer developing cycle and walking infrastructure.

von Leonie T

23. Jan. 2020

Interesting topics and you'll get an insight of different points of views (inhabitants, urban planners, ...). The tasks are also do-able and the demanded time for all the exercises is exactly (if not even less) than described in the module.

von Jordan S

15. Aug. 2021

This course has opened my eyes to so many different aspects of cycling culture that I had never considered. It has really inspired me to take action and try to fight for a cycling culture in my city. I cannot recommend this course enough!

von Doru O

12. Aug. 2020

Loved the course! Mind opening regarding the ways space in a city can be looked at in a much more efficient and friendly way. Now if this understanding could spread to cities around the world, we would live in a much better place.

von Richard S

7. Mai 2020

A pretty good starter. Would be great if the University of Amsterdam could do something as a follow up, with more of the detail on what works and doesn’t work (maybe with credit) as their summer course is not running this year.

von Matt P

15. Juni 2020

A great intro into Dutch cycling with lots of useful information for community advocates and professionals. The instructors challenge you to think differently and explore a wide variety of topics. Highly recommend!

von Evalotta S

12. Aug. 2020

The course gives great insights and perspectives on the issues of cycling in the Netherlands but also in comparison to other cities. I learned a lot and took it with me! Great course and great lecturers!

von Robbie S

3. Okt. 2020

Wide range of content including relevant literature journals, media and videos. Well structured and considered. A course that is both simple to progress through and offers great depth to the subject.

von Juliana B

12. Mai 2020

Me encantó este curso, muy completo, muy dinámico y con una perspectiva muy acertada y muy novedosa para un tema que seguramente estará mandando la parada en los tiempos en los que estamos viviendo.

von Jiří G K

3. Feb. 2020

This course takes you deep into the cycling world, not only in Netherlands. I have enjoyed the materials provided, even some of the papers were hard to read or study, due to the academical language.

von Ana C

13. Mai 2020

I have to say all the hours of this course are worth it and it was not a waste of time. This is what you want to know when you are surfing on reviews, right fellow student? I hope you enjoy it!

von eric a f

11. Mai 2021

It's a construction to be made between you and the course especially if you want to learn about cycling mobility, cities & people and places. Enjoy every moment of this course and let's ride.

von VAN D F

14. Juli 2021

Great course that completely changed my vision of cycling. the contributions are very rich and delivered on various media (papers, university essays, videos, blogs). Very stimulating !

von Brenda V F S

8. Aug. 2020

I really loved it. I learned so much about cycling and its multiple aspects. I really want to keep learning about this subject and someday visit the Netherlands to experience it.

von Erick F C C

23. Jan. 2020

Me encanta el curso, muy buena información y creo que todo el mundo debería saber sobre estos temas, el curso es muy dinámico y con muy buena información y gente muy preparada