Chevron Left
Zurück zu World Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für World Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.4
539 Bewertungen
137 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Top-Bewertungen

TT

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

WB

May 08, 2019

This had been a great course, instructor Théotime did a great job in breaking down the process of building a game world and taking it out from a mere concept to written words.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 129 Bewertungen für World Design for Video Games

von Fernando S M

Dec 17, 2015

Realy good one!

von Ana A

Dec 17, 2015

Excellent course! I studied animation but I didn't know much of the world aspect for game design. This course it's also helpful for animation field.

von Luis E

Mar 31, 2018

loved it, great resource material, and great teacher.

von Jeremy K

Jun 29, 2016

Fantastic! The coursework and lessons were designed to get you started building the framework for your game world. The course got me started on my new game!

von Michael J

Mar 25, 2016

explanation of fundamenals

von 万锦阳

May 04, 2017

I really like it! It helped me to established the abilities to create a game-world.

von Denisse M L M

Oct 25, 2017

Great course with good material. The word load is small, and can be completed quicker than I thought. I wish it was a bit more dense, but I enjoyed the content nonetheless. Unlike the other courses in the specialization, the speaker in this one is not a native English speaker and he mispronounces words a lot. Without the subtitles, some parts are very hard to understand.

von Iryna M

Feb 09, 2016

Very interesting! Thank you!

von Liliya G

Mar 28, 2016

Great course, excited :)

von Omar J C R

Mar 01, 2016

I am so glad I found this five course specialization! The teachers are on point. The curriculum compliments the other courses. Thanks to this course, with a little help from the other courses in the specialization, I pushed myself to flesh out a lot of the narrative and design components of my game. Within a month, I have a full fledged story arch, set in a well thought out world that compliments and interacts with the game's narrative, well designed characters, and a balanced and, hopefully, engaging gameplay. Best of all, I've been able to get feedback from other students who have helped point out things I'd missed and suggested ideas. I highly recommend this course, its complimentary courses, and the specialization as a whole!

von Mikiodelg

Dec 15, 2015

Very nice course ^^

von Daniel A A G

Jun 28, 2018

Having to identify what makes other worlds interesting is really helping me focus on what makes my game interesting. I Really do think this course helped me out a lot as I was struggling to land ideas into a concrete explanation. Thanks a lot for the course.

von Alex Z

Jan 19, 2016

Amazing course. I learned so much about the game world.

von Christopher M

Dec 13, 2016

This course was amazing and great. I loved it. It helped me so much with my own project :D

von Glaucio J M d C

Sep 07, 2016

Very good. Excellent teacher - I strongly recommend.

von Wallace N O

Jan 20, 2016

an awesome course.... each one is being better than the last... fantastic!

von Emil E

Sep 25, 2017

Very good.

von Jennifer C

Dec 27, 2015

Fantastic course - doing the assignments forces you to really think about your game world.

von Sofia L

Oct 11, 2016

I loved this I think video game design and creation is the new way to learn code and complexity of design. Great experience thank you so much!

von Andres M

Dec 01, 2015

Great teacher, great videos, great staff, this course, and CalArts course in general, know how to create great learning content that engages and promotes learning, there is never a second when I'm thinking "man, when is this going to end?".

von Elisabeth F

Feb 09, 2016

Great content and great assignments !

von Crystal F

Feb 01, 2016

best course...ever!

von Amanda W

Mar 22, 2016

Enjoyable course with engaging presentation. I really enjoyed the assignments which encouraged me to actually try out the concepts, without getting too hung up on it being perfect. I also appreciated the assignment examples that were provided - it helped give me a guide as to how detailed or not I should be each week, and gave me

von Andy R

Jan 27, 2017

awsome!!

von Dustin C

Dec 05, 2015

Great class! Eye opening.