Chevron Left
Zurück zu World Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für World Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.4
539 Bewertungen
137 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Top-Bewertungen

TT

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

WB

May 08, 2019

This had been a great course, instructor Théotime did a great job in breaking down the process of building a game world and taking it out from a mere concept to written words.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 129 Bewertungen für World Design for Video Games

von Luis E

Mar 31, 2018

loved it, great resource material, and great teacher.

von Denisse M L M

Oct 25, 2017

Great course with good material. The word load is small, and can be completed quicker than I thought. I wish it was a bit more dense, but I enjoyed the content nonetheless. Unlike the other courses in the specialization, the speaker in this one is not a native English speaker and he mispronounces words a lot. Without the subtitles, some parts are very hard to understand.

von Iryna M

Feb 09, 2016

Very interesting! Thank you!

von Christopher M

Dec 13, 2016

This course was amazing and great. I loved it. It helped me so much with my own project :D

von Glaucio J M d C

Sep 07, 2016

Very good. Excellent teacher - I strongly recommend.

von Mikiodelg

Dec 15, 2015

Very nice course ^^

von Daniel A A G

Jun 28, 2018

Having to identify what makes other worlds interesting is really helping me focus on what makes my game interesting. I Really do think this course helped me out a lot as I was struggling to land ideas into a concrete explanation. Thanks a lot for the course.

von Alex Z

Jan 19, 2016

Amazing course. I learned so much about the game world.

von Elisabeth F

Feb 09, 2016

Great content and great assignments !

von Liliya G

Mar 28, 2016

Great course, excited :)

von Omar J C R

Mar 01, 2016

I am so glad I found this five course specialization! The teachers are on point. The curriculum compliments the other courses. Thanks to this course, with a little help from the other courses in the specialization, I pushed myself to flesh out a lot of the narrative and design components of my game. Within a month, I have a full fledged story arch, set in a well thought out world that compliments and interacts with the game's narrative, well designed characters, and a balanced and, hopefully, engaging gameplay. Best of all, I've been able to get feedback from other students who have helped point out things I'd missed and suggested ideas. I highly recommend this course, its complimentary courses, and the specialization as a whole!

von Jennifer C

Dec 27, 2015

Fantastic course - doing the assignments forces you to really think about your game world.

von Sofia L

Oct 11, 2016

I loved this I think video game design and creation is the new way to learn code and complexity of design. Great experience thank you so much!

von Andres M

Dec 01, 2015

Great teacher, great videos, great staff, this course, and CalArts course in general, know how to create great learning content that engages and promotes learning, there is never a second when I'm thinking "man, when is this going to end?".

von Wafa' B

May 08, 2019

This had been a great course, instructor Théotime did a great job in breaking down the process of building a game world and taking it out from a mere concept to written words.

von Ionut M C

May 07, 2019

A must-have. Love it so much. Great instructor, really passionate about the topic.

von Felipe R

Sep 04, 2019

Great course, I really got a lot of information about how to create a feel in a world!

von Manav S

Sep 02, 2019

The course teaches everything regarding game design

von V.B.Srevarshan

Oct 09, 2018

My personal area of interest in games has always been game design, level design, character design, story writing and world design. When I found this course, I thought it would involve a lot of art work and 3D modelling. I am not so artistic, but when I started to watch videos and complete assignments, it gave me a lot of confidence. It also motivated me to improve my artwork after I completed the course. I learnt three things - 1) first and foremost describe your world in theory with all the intricate details 2) don't create your game world from void, seek inspiration for art from other games or media 3) proceed with the art work and 3D modelling

von Julian A

Oct 30, 2018

You could improve it a little more making the videos more dynamic.

von E. C C

Aug 14, 2017

Really enjoyed this class. I am a very visual person and this class was much more fun and a bit easier as I could express my ideas visually much more easily than If I had to write everything down.

von 王恺越

Dec 19, 2017

The assignments are great but the videos don't seem well organized for me. They are just a bunch of tips for world designing and are not systematic.

von Deiverson J L d S

Mar 23, 2017

Excelent! But I miss the interaction with the teacher.

von Petros K

Dec 03, 2015

great and informative course :) really enjoyed it

von Bojan P

Mar 11, 2016

Even though it is a great course by itself, I have to look at it as a part of the whole specialization, and in that context it's just a little bit more abstract and undefined than the previous ones.

All in all, great course and fantastic specialization for now.