Chevron Left
Zurück zu World Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für World Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.4
Sterne
634 Bewertungen
166 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Top-Bewertungen

SA
20. Sep. 2019

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

JK
10. Sep. 2020

This is a fantastic course to run your imagination to it's top! You can built your own game world and show it to other students. The learning curve is definitely improving with this course!

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 158 Bewertungen für World Design for Video Games

von Juan J Á S

28. Jan. 2016

The teacher is a litlle abstract. Maybe he would improve himself if he would give more tangible things, as methods.

von Regina P

1. Juli 2020

The only problem are the peer reviews; most of the time I only receive one word reviews, or no criticism at all.

von Fabricio N B

2. Jan. 2016

I really enjoyed the course.

Opened my eyes for many things that I didn't gave much though while design my games.

von Lu M

20. Feb. 2017

The teacher guided us to the basic of game world design. Give us the material of how to design the game world.

von Diego

1. Feb. 2017

Very useful to develop worlds and enviroments, not only for videogames, but for all kind of media.

von Juan C L R

17. Juni 2019

I very basic, I would like to learn how to create a deeper world but still I loved the course

von SFUA

1. Sep. 2016

Contents were short and great but some tools and practicle s/w should be introduced in it.

von sebastian c

28. Nov. 2015

i really like the material, i feel that i learning the basic of video game development

von Alex M

17. Nov. 2016

Good course content. However, the classes feel a little short for such a long topic.

von Zheng L

28. Juni 2018

cool class, I`ve learned some principles to create game world from this class

von Julian A

29. Okt. 2018

You could improve it a little more making the videos more dynamic.

von Aaron S

18. Dez. 2015

I had good assignments, but less content than I expected.

von Deiverson J L d S

23. März 2017

Excelent! But I miss the interaction with the teacher.

von Jatin G

26. Juni 2020

Great course, really helped me shape my game world.

von Petros K

3. Dez. 2015

great and informative course :) really enjoyed it

von Zineb B

3. Juni 2017

Really valuable and informative course.

von Ahmed A E M

20. Juli 2017

it is useful but very very basics

von Muhammad U

10. Apr. 2017

Simply Awesome.

von Mehar S

22. Apr. 2020

good

von Francois B

23. Nov. 2015

I am all for short videos but here it is a little bit too short... Tehchnically there is about 1h of videos for the 4 weeks of this course and no real documentations to review.

Hence you get few pointers on how to design game wold for video games and really case studies in my opinion... A full review of one or two games would have been a great addition.

von Deborah M M

10. Dez. 2015

Short, simplistic. Could be done in a week. Very much a beginner's course for those who have not mindfully observed the game worlds in which they play. The student may come away with a few new ideas and the greatest value is in having peers review the homework assignments. Worth the time, if you quickly breeze through it.

von David M

11. Okt. 2019

There are are very useful tips and ideas in this class and I appreciated completing the assignments. I have a much better vision of my game world now than I did beforehand. However, the pace and vocabulary of the teacher was at times confusing or redundant, making the process of taking notes much more complicated.

von Travis A

19. Okt. 2016

The content from the instructor is very, very brief. Maybe this is just a simple introduction course but it also seems like the topics are covered in a very vague, abstract way with little exploration on a deeper level. The assignments are really good though, great projects for sparking the creative process.

von Marcus J

1. Aug. 2020

It's adequate for learning world-building concepts, though it doesn't really go into what makes the process different in video games until the last assignment. Be advised: the instructor has a thick accent that makes it hard to understand him at times.

von Kucherov A

14. Dez. 2020

It's not that bad, actually, just don't expect the lectures to be specific, like the ones from the previous courses. I really recommend doing the assignments, finish them first and then write everything you've found important.