Chevron Left
Zurück zu World Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für World Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.4
533 Bewertungen
134 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Top-Bewertungen

RC

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

TT

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 126 Bewertungen für World Design for Video Games

von Jaime A

Aug 26, 2016

Gives you a lot to think about and ideas to Build! Build! Build!

von Álvaro B F

Aug 30, 2016

A totally great course that makes clear the concepts we should be careful with when developing video games.

von Licinio S

Mar 19, 2018

great!

von Mufizul I

Jan 29, 2017

Great courses

von David T

Nov 01, 2016

Muy buen curso :)

von Nadya S

Dec 18, 2016

Before enrolling this course, I expected to obtain some technical skills for creating game environments by different software products, etc. I was surprised: this course teaches the future professionals to THINK ! One can't produce anything without know what he would make. This course will give you clear direction of your ideas about YOUR GAME environement. Like in the drawing: you should know what you would draw. Having the "color palette" is nothing without structuring in your mind your ideas, planning what you would do. Similarly is in my profession - architecture - there are some already graduated students who can only to draft what somebody else tells them to draft. This course will teach you how to create.

von Alisson P G d S

Jun 16, 2017

Too Much!!

Very, very good.

von Antonio B M

Dec 24, 2015

Great course

von Barnabás N

Feb 25, 2016

Pretty great course for a total beginner!

von Jeremy K

Jun 29, 2016

Fantastic! The coursework and lessons were designed to get you started building the framework for your game world. The course got me started on my new game!

von Michael J

Mar 25, 2016

explanation of fundamenals

von Jennifer C

Dec 27, 2015

Fantastic course - doing the assignments forces you to really think about your game world.

von Sofia L

Oct 11, 2016

I loved this I think video game design and creation is the new way to learn code and complexity of design. Great experience thank you so much!

von Elisabeth F

Feb 09, 2016

Great content and great assignments !

von Ionut M C

May 07, 2019

A must-have. Love it so much. Great instructor, really passionate about the topic.

von Wafa' B

May 08, 2019

This had been a great course, instructor Théotime did a great job in breaking down the process of building a game world and taking it out from a mere concept to written words.

von 王恺越

Dec 19, 2017

The assignments are great but the videos don't seem well organized for me. They are just a bunch of tips for world designing and are not systematic.

von Deiverson J L d S

Mar 23, 2017

Excelent! But I miss the interaction with the teacher.

von Zheng L

Jun 28, 2018

cool class, I`ve learned some principles to create game world from this class

von Diego

Feb 01, 2017

Very useful to develop worlds and enviroments, not only for videogames, but for all kind of media.

von Alex M

Nov 17, 2016

Good course content. However, the classes feel a little short for such a long topic.

von Mustafa A K

May 21, 2018

The lessons were pretty well designed and the material was sufficient, but (not meant to be rude) it was a bit distracting when the tutor pronounced and accented the words a bit weirdly. Nevertheless, great course.

von Muhammad U

Apr 10, 2017

Simply Awesome.

von Rodolfo E S

Feb 20, 2016

The course focuses on a number of critical aspects in video game world design, such as artistic direction, spatial and "physical" rules, and movement considerations; and it teaches a few methods of planning them. That said, the presentation of these ideas and methods feels less organized than the others in the course. That said, all of them are useful, and if the exercises/submissions don't quite lead up to as organic a whole as the others, it makes up for it by covering bases with varied approaches.

von Aaron S

Dec 18, 2015

I had good assignments, but less content than I expected.