Chevron Left
Zurück zu World Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für World Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.4
533 Bewertungen
134 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Top-Bewertungen

RC

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

TT

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 126 Bewertungen für World Design for Video Games

von Juan D M

May 16, 2016

Very intresting and fun, learned a lot. I just wish there´d be more examples of finished designers worlds and how they look like.

von Muhammad U

Apr 10, 2017

Simply Awesome.

von Zheng L

Jun 28, 2018

cool class, I`ve learned some principles to create game world from this class

von Diego

Feb 01, 2017

Very useful to develop worlds and enviroments, not only for videogames, but for all kind of media.

von Alex M

Nov 17, 2016

Good course content. However, the classes feel a little short for such a long topic.

von Mustafa A K

May 21, 2018

The lessons were pretty well designed and the material was sufficient, but (not meant to be rude) it was a bit distracting when the tutor pronounced and accented the words a bit weirdly. Nevertheless, great course.

von Fabricio N B

Jan 02, 2016

I really enjoyed the course.

Opened my eyes for many things that I didn't gave much though while design my games.

von SFUA

Sep 01, 2016

Contents were short and great but some tools and practicle s/w should be introduced in it.

von Benjamin B H

Mar 03, 2016

Very good and informative course. I liked it mostly because of how it explains the ways one can create the video game world we desire and what must be taken into account. I already had prior knowledge on how to create a video game world that was consistent, but this reinforced what I already knew and took it a bit further. Very recommended for those who are beginners and want to learn how to create a world that feels real and is consistent throughout a game.

von Rodolfo E S

Feb 20, 2016

The course focuses on a number of critical aspects in video game world design, such as artistic direction, spatial and "physical" rules, and movement considerations; and it teaches a few methods of planning them. That said, the presentation of these ideas and methods feels less organized than the others in the course. That said, all of them are useful, and if the exercises/submissions don't quite lead up to as organic a whole as the others, it makes up for it by covering bases with varied approaches.

von Ahmed A E M

Jul 20, 2017

it is useful but very very basics

von Lu M

Feb 20, 2017

The teacher guided us to the basic of game world design. Give us the material of how to design the game world.

von Karin V

Mar 08, 2016

In general the course was really good, I just had the problem that some points weren't as clearly explained as I wished them to be. It's a bit hard to follow up, since sometimes the examples are not what is asked for in the homework and there's nothing to compare your work to, so the student as well as the grading peers are not always sure what is important in the assignment. Add some more examples and explain them directly, I think that would help a lot. :)

von Farnoud F

Jan 30, 2016

Compare to Last Course in this Specialization this course lacked the good pace through the assignments, they were out of pace or out of tune, and also there were mostly general talks more than tips to make the student get in to the flow and create a better work, All in All it was Great but compared to the course before it, it had issues :D

von Aaron S

Dec 18, 2015

I had good assignments, but less content than I expected.

von Juan J Á S

Jan 28, 2016

The teacher is a litlle abstract. Maybe he would improve himself if he would give more tangible things, as methods.

von Juan C L R

Jun 17, 2019

I very basic, I would like to learn how to create a deeper world but still I loved the course

von Peter S

Jul 02, 2019

I like this course and thank Théotime for it. I have eventually got understanding what is the level design and found out root requirements about the location design. Also I understand now the process of creation of the world. It is new for me.

At the same time it was more difficult to go through it (in comparison with two other which I completed before) because of many many questions which Théotime made in video and less answers. Actually full answers are presented only on pages with material for self-education but not in video material. It was difficult trying to gather information from video having so many questions.

von Daniel H G

Feb 06, 2016

it's okay,

von Travis A

Oct 19, 2016

The content from the instructor is very, very brief. Maybe this is just a simple introduction course but it also seems like the topics are covered in a very vague, abstract way with little exploration on a deeper level. The assignments are really good though, great projects for sparking the creative process.

von Chandan B

Jun 12, 2017

The course is good for learning how to organize and visualize, however I was expecting some sketching assignments also. Such kind of assignment which actually helps the learner draw together a world bit by bit.

von André W L O

Aug 22, 2017

to me, this course was a little obvious... one thing here, other there... it is not a bad course... but I expected a little more...

about the teacher, he is good, I like it (4 stars)... but the content is very "lightweight".

von Francois B

Nov 23, 2015

I am all for short videos but here it is a little bit too short... Tehchnically there is about 1h of videos for the 4 weeks of this course and no real documentations to review.

Hence you get few pointers on how to design game wold for video games and really case studies in my opinion... A full review of one or two games would have been a great addition.

von Karl C R

Jan 12, 2016

Easy to follow and well-packed with good information and tips, but I would like to see some kind of quiz-function along the course to test the knowledge I've been learning.

von Jaime R

Dec 22, 2015

Useful but as with the first course of the specialization very light on content