Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Violence

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Violence von Emory University

4.6
Sterne
161 Bewertungen
46 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We are so pleased to have you join us as we investigate this crucial topic. Violence is a leading cause of death, disability and health care use worldwide. Violence is a complex problem and can only be understood and reduced though a multidisciplinary approach. This course introduces you to experts who study different forms of violence and we will discuss the various causes of violence. You will also learn about efforts to reduce violence and engage in a day of compassion. We are very fortunate that PRESIDENT JIMMY CARTER is participating in our course. He delivers a lecture on the efforts of the Carter Center to end violence around the world, and he engages in a discussion with us about his life and work in human rights. Do join us for short videos, readings and discussions. And also see our coffee chats, where we (Pamela and Deb) summarize and reflect on each module. And we want to hear from you! Feel free to reach out via Twitter or through the course, or through our Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/understandingviolence01/....

Top-Bewertungen

CB

Feb 28, 2020

This course is really helping me to understand what is violence and the different types of violence. It is inline with the research I am presently undertaking.

SP

Apr 09, 2018

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 46 Bewertungen für Understanding Violence

von Simona M

Feb 05, 2019

The title of the course is misleading, focusing almost exclusively on GBV, gang violence and shooting incidents in the US and leaving out other important forms of violence, like war, terrorism and some general historical, statistical and global dynamics. Gang violence or shooting incidents are relevant in the US, but not in most other countries. While gender based violence is incredibly important, it is not the only type of violence and in this case the focus should be added in the title of the course. The title promises a global perspective on dynamics of violence, but the course adopts almost exclusively a public health approach, which is by far not sufficient for discussing such a broad phenomenon as is violence.

von Ashlee M (

Sep 20, 2017

Very informative and interesting. Learned some great new concepts and how different types of violence impact others.

von Christopher Z

Jun 24, 2016

This course provides a very broad understanding of violence prevalent in the United States and globally. Statistics and critical self-reflection points are provided throughout the course. If you're looking for a course to challenge your views of violence or, simply, to enhance your knowledge of the subject matter, this course is for you.

von Ahmer J K

May 02, 2017

Excellent course! Great opportunity to express yourself with a video in the final peer reviewed assignment!

von Issa H

Mar 30, 2020

I think the course offers very interesting approaches to understanding violence. However, sometimes I felt that it was too carried towards the health approach which surely many people will find interesting and necessary for their fields of study. However, working on social sciences myself, I hoped for a more balanced approach. Nevertheless, the course gave me important insight on such a complicated topic, and I really enjoyed it.

von Ignacio R R

Jun 16, 2019

Good, but the people who manage the course don't pay attention to the review of the works. This involves that some reviews from other student can take several months to be done. This is unacceptable.

von RBUlrich

Sep 04, 2016

Interesting for US-Americans or people who are interested in US-American Epidemiologics. Very US-centered

von Kimble P

Jun 05, 2017

I have trained and work in the branch of violence and its survivors. This is the first Coursera course I have taken and have been totally satisfied with both the presentation and the material. I did not do the paid version so I cannot comment on the peer review process. I hope the material will be updated with the new situation of a USA president disenfranchising many projects and fomenting much fear from the White House. I have already shared a few of the videos with colleagues and friends, which hopefully will make them curious enough to start. I appreciated the layout of the course and was happy that it ended on a positive note of inroads being made. I am particularly happy to know about "Men Stopping Violence" group. Emory University really looks like a forward thinking institution.

von Chris E D

May 28, 2017

I REALLY enjoyed this course. It contained a vast amount of information on a variety of topics. It was wonderful to have so many different speakers presenting information. The objectives and requirements were clear and reasonable. It would have been nice to have an alternate to completing a peer review for someone who was significantly ahead of schedule, but I understand the value of peer reviews and why they would be particularly beneficial to the learning goals of this course.

von Alican B

Sep 08, 2017

A brilliant beneficial course covering different aspects of violence and methods of both prevention and also possible ways to deal with after effects of violence. If you are interested in unsolved parts of human violence and why it emerges pervasively then you should take this course to gain enlightening perspectives about that topic. No matter what you do and what you study, this course is available for anyone who wants to know more about violence to the core. Good luck!

von ChP P

Oct 11, 2020

This was one of the best courses taken to address real world issues. I have numerous degrees, but this certification zeroes in on what matters relating to violence on a global scale. I especially enjoyed the mission of President Jimmy Carter and his passion for violence against women. Thank you, Emory for believing in the importance of this delicate subject.

von SEJALSRI M

Aug 29, 2020

I loved this course, perfectly encapsulates the nuances of violence, specially the less known about nuances of violence! The professors who took up modules were specialists so there was information-specific credence to everything that was being said here! I recommend this course for all those who want broad perspectives on society and its socializations!

von Paco M

Apr 03, 2017

The course is very thorough. It covers so many different fields and gives you a good idea at how broad violence is. It's approach is different and effective. The course is something I'd highly recommend especially if you are someone who's profession deals with violence in some shape or form.

von MELIKE Y

Jun 25, 2020

It is a great course. Focusing on different topics every week gives an overall understanding of "violence". I really enjoyed especially the videos where professors explain the topics very well. I definitely recommended it.

von Osama I E

Sep 11, 2020

One of the most beautiful courses to date, good and very useful training. Through these courses, a lot about violence, and I became an understanding of violence, and I became a loser in facing violence.

thank you

von Eleazar B J

Aug 20, 2017

This is a very interesting course that allow us not only to understand the roots of violence, but also some situations and conditions violence occurs in other regions and within other cultures around the world.

von Shampa I

Feb 12, 2019

This course is truly meant for me. I did enjoy every lesson I got here. All videos,lessons and assignments are so thoughtful . I am grateful for offering such dynamic that is helpful for future pursuit, too.

von Candido B

Feb 28, 2020

This course is really helping me to understand what is violence and the different types of violence. It is inline with the research I am presently undertaking.

von Полецкая С

Aug 14, 2020

This is the best course I've ever had on Coursera! Engaging, important, meaningful, useful. I would definitely repeat it again some time.

von TOGBOSSI M K

May 30, 2017

Parfait cours bien creusé, bien détaillé et bien dispensé par des Prof chevronnés! Tous les aspects y sont abordés. Chapeau tiré!

von Shobhraj S P

Apr 09, 2018

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

von Ana K E B

Jun 17, 2020

Excellent course to understand roots of violence and to implement prevention programs according to the type of violence.

von Karin C

Feb 17, 2018

This course gave me the tools for a better understanding of violence. Thank you for this opportunity!

von Swany P R

Aug 08, 2020

Disfruté la perspectiva del curso, disfrute el impacto y los ejes de trabajo.

von Rohit M

Sep 12, 2020

One of the best course to understand the fundamentals of violence