Chevron Left
Zurück zu Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Visual Elements of User Interface Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.7
Sterne
2,301 Bewertungen
566 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top-Bewertungen

BB

Apr 01, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

JN

Nov 21, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 568 Bewertungen für Visual Elements of User Interface Design

von AR

Jun 08, 2020

The Course is pretty good. Very basic info is covered. There is currently a major issue with "peer grading" system. People are grade bombing submission which requires multiple re submissions ...this issue needs resolved.

von Kelly M

May 16, 2019

Great introduction to UI design without complicating elements with UX.

von Dusol J

Apr 24, 2020

The course itself is really good, for beginners or for people with experience but who never really "labellised" this experience. But indeed, peer review is probably not the best option here. For example, it is very frustrating to spend a lot of time reviewing my peers, giving feedback, taking the extra 3 minutes for them (that is really all that it takes!), when all you get is only zeros without any explanation from a random guy. Maybe a clear explanation (with a video) of what it means to review others would help?

von Michael M

Jan 10, 2020

The teachers were not very charismatic, and spoke in a monotone the entire time as they read their lectures off a teleprompter. The peer-reviewed assignments also took days, and in some cases, weeks, before being reviewed. Otherwise, this course was decent, but if you already know basic UI design, then this course is probably too easy for you. You would be better off reading the Google Material Design guidelines or the Apple design guidelines.

von Saad K

Dec 05, 2018

The only thing I wish this course had more of was the practical side of UI/UX design. Where they show you how and what goes behind making designs, instead of only taking over theory. The theory seemed like something you would already know but I feel like they should have given more incentive to learning about key graphic design and UI/UX concepts that could be used practically.

von Dominic H

Apr 17, 2020

The course itself is good, however, the grading system and moderation is absolutely mad. Peer reviews, if they are honest, are a good thing. But in most cases, peers rate you bad and CalArts staff cannot ban false or really stupid reviews. This results in doing your assigments multiple times until you get into a cohort of fair peer reviewers...

von John V

May 05, 2020

I was extremely excited. Then, into the course, first week, there’s no instructors, all peers, who don’t answer you for days on the forum. No email to anybody. And the worst is it, it says it’s a beginner course, but they don’t teach one thing on how to use any of the programs in Adobe creative suite. So you were unable to do any assignments because some of us have no idea how to use the programs. Most of the people in the program are complaining about something. Too bad, certainly not well done at all.

von Julianne C

May 30, 2020

Terrible program for learning. You really need to already know how to use ALL the programs and ALL the skills because other students will rate your work well below average. I worked o projects for days and other students expect A+ work to even give a pass. For example one said the TYPE on my button was not legible yet is was regular font at 18pt. I am not sure they are even real people.

von ronit a

Apr 27, 2020

IT doesn't fit me because i don't have graphic software

I've cancelled my participation and somehow it appears like I'm still registered

please let me cancel it

von Milton M

Oct 26, 2019

Visual elements of the user interface design course helped me to become more comfortable with the idea of doing Ui/Ux design. I have always been doing design for printing media but now I am even considering learning more about digital design with Coursera and why not doing a master's degree in Ux design abroad. The course is complete and well structured, everything was explained in detail and the experience of learning online was friendly and easy to understand. I think that the peer grading part can be improved somehow but overall the content in terms of amount and quality of information is excellent, I am looking forward to doing the next three courses to enhance my skills as a designer.

von Marion L

Jan 06, 2020

The instructor is very precise on the words and the process articulation and manages to make them very clear through well chosen illustrative examples. I appreciate that all examples comes from very few projects, it is as if we see the different aspects and steps of the method being applied.

The teacher's enunciation makes it easy to understand even for non-English speakers. The assignments are well explained and the review is well guided so that you mostly get useful peer reviews.

It is nice to apply the concepts on a fun project, it makes them sink in and motivate you to work on the course. I'd like to develop my app project for real!

von Estela H K

May 25, 2020

Embora meu inglês não seja bom o suficiente, incentivo que tentem, a linguagem usada é simples, a explicação tem um bom embasamento teórico, temos muita prática mesmo que seja uma plataforma online. O conteúdo é excelente!

______________________________________________________________________

Although my English is not good enough, I encourage you to try, the language used is simple, the explanation has a good theoretical basis, we have a lot of practice even if it is an online platform. The content is excellent!

von Gabriel T

Jun 07, 2020

The course covers everything that you need to know about developing an interface. It had a 50/50 proportion of theory and plactice. You wiil be able to decide the mood of an interface, set the main colors and fonts to make buttons, menus, states... all assets to create the UI for the proper audicence.

I finished the course understanding that we need to set our purposes in order to make the audience get the message!

Calarts is a dream university, tasting a little about it is an irreplaceable opportunity!

von Noman G

Mar 19, 2020

In this first course of the specialization, the students are taught the essentials of visual design. The student can geta a deep understanding of the visual design. Finally, the students have to create a project and apply their knowledge to the actual situation. Professor Michael Worthington has explained all the concepts in detail. I have learnt a lot about user Interface from this course. I would recommend this course to all who want to make their career in UX/UI designing.

von Ainura Y

Nov 14, 2018

I come from engineering background, and I was curious about the whole UI thing I've been hearing about once in a while. The course gave me essential insights into the UI area and pointed me to the sources and links where one can find useful materials. Although I've reached only 87.7/100 points I think I've mastered the assignments (well, mastered them enough while having a full-time job, for one), and I think the assignments given here are both challenging and inspiring.

von Courtney W

Apr 20, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course and I learned a great deal about UI Design, as well as the differences and similarities of UI and UX Design. I would highly recommend this course or other courses at Coursera. The online course experience is at your own pace with hands on projects that help you learn further about your subject area. Coursera is a great way to learn new skills at an affordable price.

von erica

Nov 10, 2019

This course was a great overview for explaining what UI/UX design is. I love the way the course was broken into components such as video, lecture, reading and assignments. I also appreciate that the instructor provided links to supplimental material to further our research and prepare for building a stronger skillset to be UI/UX designers. Looking forward to the next course!

von Aafreen N S

Apr 22, 2020

Before taking the course, UI / UX was something I was really apprehensive and honestly a little intimidated by. Starting this journey with this course made me feel much more confident. Michael Worthington takes you through the process step by step and it's so easy to pick up as well as feel like you're covering all the topics without any holes of information missing.

von Kerry F

Mar 01, 2019

I really liked the instructor in this course. He explained everything clearly and his slides were very effective. There was plenty of opportunity to be hands-on with the projects and if you take the time to really apply the concepts you are taught you will learn a lot and develop valuable skills to use in real-world projects. Great experience overall!

von Santiago C

Jun 19, 2020

Every day we interact with applications, web pages and different platforms and we never really get to recognize everything behind it and the importance of good interface design when it comes to branding. Without a doubt, I recommend this course because It changes the perspective of how the digital world is structured from the eyes of the final user.

von Andriana M

Nov 05, 2018

I thought the information was delivered in an interesting and easy to follow manner. It was both interesting, informative, and interactive. The professor was entertaining and delivered his presentations in a timely but effective way. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to understand the basics of UI and to test out their skills a bit.

von Julio A R F

May 04, 2020

A really amazing course. Very complete and well explained. My only suggestion would be switching the third week with the fourth week. I think it could be easier for some folks to first think about the structure of the app and then thinking about the button. Besides that, I loved the course, and I can't wait to continue with the specialization.

von A

Feb 14, 2019

This is a wonderful class. Excellent instruction and very constructive and supportive feedback from those rating the assignments. I have really been able to challenge myself further, and learn new aspects of the programs I'm using by working to improve assignments based on the feedback. Great community of fellow students taking this course.

von Irfan M

Sep 03, 2019

Terrific Course for any Beginner to start with Ui/Ux. I think the peer system is little bit weird because some designer are new and they don't know the basics and logic behind design right now. I think that thing should do right. Just a suggestion: It would be more great if some respectable and experienced designer rate students assignments.

von Jodie L

May 27, 2020

Michael teaches so well, and combined with the animations of each video of good duration - not too short, not too long, it was very easy to finish it under two weeks. I recommend everybody to try!

The only thing that sucked were 'students' who would grade us 0 for no reason, I can only hope Coursera has new policies for that soon.