Chevron Left
Zurück zu Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan von University von Tokio

4.8
Sterne
327 Bewertungen
97 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top-Bewertungen

SC

Sep 06, 2019

It has expanded my views not only on Japan Visual and Literary Culture but also has open for me a new way of looking at portraits in different cultures and times. Thank you so much

VC

Jan 10, 2018

Very knowledgeable lecturer with a gentle humble voice. Much was learned about literary portraits from 18th/19th centuries to literary photographs in the early 20th century.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 98 Bewertungen für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

von Aurea L R

Feb 10, 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

von Ricardo M

Oct 31, 2017

A great course with plenty of interesting data and delivered by a master in the subject.

von yui k

Jun 12, 2020

Watanabe Kazan's insights gave me something for current Black Lives Matter movements.

von Sandra R d C

Jun 25, 2020

The content is very interesting and well explained and many beautiful images, too.

von Janna T K

Feb 26, 2018

An excellent course worth of seeing for anyone who is interested in oriental art.

von Tala B

Feb 07, 2018

An amazing and interesting demonstrations from Japanese visual art and culture

von Hayley H

Nov 18, 2017

Love the professor! He explains literature and arts so clearly and elegantly.

von Мальчикова С П

Oct 31, 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

von Brian C S

Dec 07, 2017

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

von spyridon c

Apr 20, 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

von Carmen

Feb 22, 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

von Melina C K

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

von Juyoung R

Jan 07, 2018

Very usful and informative course. Highly recommanded for

von JOHN Q

Sep 23, 2017

Enjoyable and interesting course. Thanks so much!

von Aleksandr Z

Aug 29, 2019

Engaging lecturer. Unique and interesting content.

von Syn-Ti L

Jan 06, 2018

Great introduction to Japanese art and literature!

von Luiza R V d C

Feb 15, 2019

Incrível, me ajudou muito com a minha pesquisa!

von Alena R

Nov 02, 2018

Thank you! Brilliant course, very inspiring.

von ANDREA V C G

Jul 01, 2020

Excelente Curso, muy completo e inspirador.

von Desmond Y

Jan 04, 2018

Comprehensive and precise in the teaching.

von Barbara K

Sep 21, 2018

charming course, beautifully presented

von Clarisa L

Apr 22, 2020

very good explanation and sources!

von Monika

Apr 18, 2020

Incredibly beautiful

Interesting

von Juan M C M

Apr 24, 2020

Ha sido de gran ayuda!!

von Lisheng H

Dec 10, 2017

Unique scope of history