Chevron Left
Zurück zu Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan von University von Tokio

4.8
Sterne
633 Bewertungen
199 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top-Bewertungen

DP

8. Okt. 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

30. Nov. 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 200 Bewertungen für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

von Samantha E

22. Apr. 2022

V​ery interesting course and the professor knowledge made me kept my attention through the course.

von Prathit B

26. Juni 2021

Very Good Course, I would recommend it to everyone who are looking for a good taste in literature

von Kam L

26. Nov. 2020

Excellent review of how words and pictures are integral to 19th century literary culture in Japan.

von Katrin W

22. Nov. 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

von Steven T W

16. März 2021

Great course with very interesting insight into art and literature in nineteenth century Japan.

von Giuliano B

16. Jan. 2021

This is a fascinating cultural course that I have learned a lot. I am very grateful. Thank you

von Shohei W

18. Mai 2020

Very good overview of relationship between Japanese photography and illustrations and texts

von Aurea L R

10. Feb. 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

von Ricardo M

30. Okt. 2017

A great course with plenty of interesting data and delivered by a master in the subject.

von yui k

12. Juni 2020

Watanabe Kazan's insights gave me something for current Black Lives Matter movements.

von Sandra R d C

25. Juni 2020

The content is very interesting and well explained and many beautiful images, too.

von Janna T K

26. Feb. 2018

An excellent course worth of seeing for anyone who is interested in oriental art.

von Daniel Y

19. Nov. 2020

Fascinating, well edited, served in easy to digest bits, and very communicative.

von Mauricio U C

16. Jan. 2021

Very enjoyable and full of interesting information. Allowed me to learn a lot.

von Tala B

7. Feb. 2018

An amazing and interesting demonstrations from Japanese visual art and culture

von Hayley H

18. Nov. 2017

Love the professor! He explains literature and arts so clearly and elegantly.

von Мальчикова С П

31. Okt. 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

von Brian C S

6. Dez. 2017

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

von Spiros X

20. Apr. 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

von Karolina U

25. Okt. 2020

Very useful and interesting for me as a East Asian culture specialist :)

von Tran T H

19. Mai 2021

甚だ有意義なコースだと思います。それを通して、19世紀に日本での芸術と文化に関する多くの見識がはっきり分かります。ありがとうございました~~

von Carmen

21. Feb. 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

von Seif A K

13. Sep. 2021

It was Fabulous, Looking forward to more courses on Japanese Culture

von Melina C K

6. März 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

von Sagan-Indiana C

10. Aug. 2020

Loved it! Inspired a whole new literary area of research for me.